See Also: 1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse

1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

Change Vehicle

1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  Eclipse Spyder 2dr Convertible GS-T shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,226–$5,326

Estimated MPG

20–23 city / 28–31 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Awesome Car for someone under 6 foot

by Car I wanted in Highschool from Delaware | May 7, 2012

If you are looking for a cheap head turning performance car then look no further, unless you are over 6 foot. This car really only sits two even though it has back seats there is no leg room, but thats what you usually expect from a performance car. Very easy to work on and mod.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


is this eclipse really $2200?!!

by BIG VICK from South River NJ | July 24, 2011

this car looks amazing for the price and milage! my uncle owns a 1996 eclipse, and he let me drive it alittle, and i have to tell you, it was fast! it didnt look as good as this one though. ever since i drove that car, i became a big fan of 90's eclipses.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


eclipse

by gsxflyby from south milwaukee,wi | July 24, 2010

this car are great fast look good and get good mpg my old motor when to 240k on it the only thing i dont like is that the incooler pipeing is the hardest thing to keep on but other than that my gsx runs good and runs smooth better than all my other cars and cars that i know

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Awesome Car

by Guy from IL | May 19, 2010

These sporty looking cars are very awesome! They are fast, they are fuel efficient, are good looking. You turn heads if you have one of these =D

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I'll never buy another Mitsubishi!

by Kelvinator from Vacavile, CA | August 15, 2009

I bought the turbo-charged version of this car new. It had all the bells and whistles...a 10-CD disc changer, leather seats, electric sunroof, you name it. The body style was incredibly sexy and heads would turn when I drove it. It was fast and fun and I loved it...for a while. Then, at 40,000 miles (just after the warranty expired), the air conditioner compressor went out and I had to pay $1500 to get it fixed. Then, at 70,000 miles, I would press on the gas pedal and it felt like the engine had no power. When I took it into the dealership, they told me that the turbo engine had gone out. To repair it was going to cost $8000!!!! That was more than the car was worth at the time. So I traded it in and got a measly $2000 for it, due to the non-functional turbo engine. I still think the Eclipse is the cutest car, but I'll never buy another one again, or another Mitsibushi anything, for that matter.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Best car ive ever owned!!

by Nick from san clememente, Ca | July 2, 2008

I love this car, it cleans up real nice and roars down the freeway. Even at 150,000 miles the car has never broken down!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best Turbocharged Four Cylinder For The Money!

by Eclipse Enthusiast from Indiana | August 3, 2007

This Turbocharged Eclipse gets you from A to B and back to A in style, comfort, and with speed! The GSX Eclipse is the best of all the Eclipses because it has All Wheel Drive, leather interior, and enough speed to kill you, but you might not die with the airbags this vehicle is equipped with.You can have your new Eclipse equipped with many available options. This vehicle is very reliable and I know because I have owned two and am looking forward to buying a new Eclipse!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Classic eclipse style, with a turbo!

by eclipse lover from Detroit Mi | July 13, 2007

I love the way this car looks, In my opinion, it lookes better than the new ones! With the turbo engine, and convertible, it is an UNBEATABLE value. So much fun, for a little pricetag, and reliability to go along with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


A fun, beautiful pain in the neck!

by WRXaholic from North Hollywood | June 26, 2007

I have put in several thousands to upgrade this vehicle's suspension and brakes, as well as the overall look of the car, and i must say i love it. She handles like a dream and holds fairly well at high speeds. I was generally satisfied with the engine's performance in terms of power, yet the I-4 does not contribute much torque. The problem with this vehicle is the reliability after 80K miles. When it is running, i love it to death, an incredibly fun car to drive. However, seeing as the it breaks down on me every three weeks, on average, it does have its setbacks. Since it is payed for and i will never get the money back from it that i put in, i gladly parked it and bought a new wrx

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great Starter Car!

by college girl from St. Cloud | January 28, 2007

The 1996 eclipse was the first vehicle that I bought when I was 16 years old. I would have to say that is has been a very reliable car and would definitely recommend it to a friend, especially a beginner driver. It is small car and many had concerns about getting into accidents and such but I found that it was not a problem and have never been in an accident with one. It is a cheap way to get a very sporty looking car!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.