See Also: 1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

Change Vehicle
1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  Eclipse Spyder 2dr Convertible GS shown
Asking Price Range
$529–$7,013
Estimated MPG

22–23 city / 30–31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

Eclipse Spyder: Stylish and Fun to Drive

by Car lover from Sioux Falls, SD | August 17, 2013

This car is reliable, stylish, and fun to drive. The 2nd generation eclipse had the best exterior styling with the turbo bump on the hood. Reliable and a great investment if well cared for.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Fun runner

by Tim from Battle Creek MI | November 1, 2012

Bought this car in July, and its more fun than a barrel of monkies. Quick, maneuverable, great gas milage. Am selling mine due to a back injury from Viet Nam. Keeps flaring up due the seat design. That has been my only problem Car gets a lot of envious looks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK

by Edward from Chicago | September 4, 2012

This car is so amazing! There is so much you can do with it! Make sure you dont get the turbo though! GREAT ON GAS AND GREAT FOR SUMMER AND WINTER DRIVING! IF YOU FIND ONE OF THESE GET IT!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Autocheck says runaway as fast as you can

by Reality Check from | August 18, 2012

Ran "Autocheck" record search on this particular vehicle. Leased vehicle 11 different owners in FL, IN, IL, MI Title history is not clean 2 collisions resulting in significant damage

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Disapointment

by Jamiem from Yonkers | January 23, 2012

The car is designed to go fast but the power given by the engine and chrysler transmission does not do justice to its design and worse of all even with best aftermarket replacement and work done by A-techs the cars performance will only goes down. Ride is not very comfy as it comes with stock suspension system, and with force intakes drivetrain seems to absorb more power then supplying to wheels and electronic system is complete rubish.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car


awesome all around

by tim from | October 5, 2009

what can i say this car is awesome mitsubishi designed a wicked sick car I dont know too many people that would bad mouth the jdm versions of this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


We loved ours!!!

by Sun lover! from Annapolis, MD | April 15, 2009

My husband had this car from the time I met him until we started having children last fall. It does better than you would expect in snow and you can't beat it when the weather is nice. Trunk is big enough that we took ours to the beach and for weekend trips. My husband always has the scheduled maint. done, and it was a very reliabe car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great Fun Car To Drive

by Pap from Plymouth Meeting, Pa | December 8, 2008

I have a 98 GST Convert. 5 speed manual in which I am going to sell in the spring.I broke my ankle and it bothers me to shift so reluctantly I am selling it. It has only 79,000 miles on it and a new top. It's quick and fun to drive especially in the summer months. I actually get two small golf bags in the trunk.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best value for the money

by Joe from | October 29, 2008

it is the best handling and power for the money. ive owned this car for close to 2 years and it is one of the most exciting cars to drive. i have the gsx model which is great in winters and also turbocharged you cant beat that.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


GSX - The Best Choice

by Jozef from Garfield, NJ | October 23, 2006

When it comes to looking for a cheap used AWD Turbo car with power, look no further than for Mitusbishi Eclipse GSX. This car really is worth the value. When it's treated good and cared for, this car will last, all the maintaince should be done as recommended. If you would like this car to be even faster, simple upgrades can make it fly. And since it's a Japanese car, the parts are not that expensive. Overall, this is a awesome car to have. If you happen to come across one, test drive it....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.