2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Change Vehicle
2000 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  Eclipse 2dr Coupe GS shown
Asking Price Range
$1,021–$7,637
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

Wow

by Best car ever from oakland CA | June 29, 2014

Bought this brand new in 2000. I have the RS model. After almost 15 years of running it daily, it has almost 170,000 miles on it. I am 54 and have owned many cars over the years, but this is the best one hands down. Past the normal maintenance, I have only sunk about 2,000 into her...trans went out at 160,000, which is to be expected. If she were to blow up tomorrow, I would go out and buy another one just like her. I know she will be with me for many more years. Enjoy your eclipse, because they dont make em anymore...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great fun, when it works... and it rarely does.

by apse from Idaho | December 20, 2013

I bought this car not two years ago. I did a lot of research and bought a car that I've loved for a while. It is great performance for the money. I bought it with 140k miles. I've got about 155 now. In the last 18 months since i've owned it, the engine needed a new head gasket, a new rear main seal, THEN it threw a rod. I replaced the engine, which seized up and had to be REBUILT, and now, I'm having some major issues that may force me just junk the car. With how much I've thrown away because of this car, I'd have been better off buying a new/newer car and making payments. I'm highly regretting buying this hunk right now. In total, it's spent at least 4 months being undrivable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


My First Car!

by Mitsu123 from Farmington Hills,MI | August 5, 2013

I bought my eclipse in 2008 when I got my first job. I bought the V6 manual transmission and the color was silver. After five years of driving this car, I am very very happy with this car. I was considering the Toyota Celica, Acura RSX, but chose this car as when compared to the other cars, this is excellent value for money. I bought it with 133K miles on it and now I am at 204K.The engine and transmission is strong, I would even dare to say it feels almost like it is fresh out of the showroom. I get a combined 25-26MPG consistently but on highway driving alone have even got 30 once. The stock exhaust sounds really good, so good that some people thought it was an aftermarket muffler. I replaced the muffler anyway and it sounds even better. I think the car looks really good and with some light modifications(wheels, headlights, window tint) looks really cool.The exterior silver metallic paint job is amazing and even after this long still looks like its new(especially on gloomy days during or after rain). There is a little bit of rusting at the strut towers and the lower edge of the tailgate, but I guess with Michigan winters and salt and after 13 years, it is difficult to avoid. As others have said, it is noisy on the highway, but if you like listening to the sound of a nice exhaust, change it and enjoy the sound. I forgot to mention that I even use it to towe my motorcycle trailer around! I plan to drive the car as long as it still will. There have only been the occassional maintenace things I have had to do and not bad considering the high mileage( tie rod ends, wheel bearings, valve cover gasket , head gasket). All in all-very pleased with my choice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


1st car I have ever had, and the only one I want.

by Katiee. from | April 7, 2013

Well this is my first car, 2000 Mitsubishi RS and it has 148,000 miles on it and it runs like a charm, for the most part. It shakes a bit while driving. But this car is very reliable. I rain over a tree stump, a very large one at that, to where my whole car was tilted and lifted off the ground lol. I really wasnt paying attention I guess. Anyways, the stump was right on my transmission and I thought that was the last of my car. But It took 4 hours to get off the tree stump, and not a scratch, dent, or anything wrong with it. I still have it to this day, and I have avoided all tree stumps lol.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


First Mitsubishi, First Coupe, Forever Love

by Car Aficionado from Georgetown, OH | October 19, 2012

I purchased this car used in February of '12 when my all original '90 New Yorker's transmission blew at some 500,000 miles. It is the RS model which has the 4G64 SOHC 16-Valve Inline 4 mated to the 5-speed. Overall, the car is my Daily Driver and so far I have no major complaints about the car. I purchased the car with 228,xxx miles on it and all it needed was an alternator and belt. It's a fun little sport hatch, that when you get on the winding roads will show it's true nature although it does have a bit of under-steer to it if you push it to hard. Space is ample in the front seats but, rear space is kinda... well small. Rear seats fold down for more space in the already roomy hatch area. Seat comfort is good, even after 13yrs. Transmission shifts smoothly, and has a good feel to it. Steering response is precise, and the engine is still as peppy as ever. PROS: Great Car, Everyday Drive-able, Comfortable(except the back), and very fun on a budget. CONS: Slightly noisy at highway speeds, C-pillar is a blind-spot, and the Hatch and Hood have some heft to them. Otherwise a great vehicle, fun toy, and blast to own.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great car

by elrey from Reeders. PA | September 3, 2012

Bought it used and has been great so far. Fun little car to drive. Love our little rice burner/ Great value for the money

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Save your time and money.

by Gixxa from Brandon, FL | August 15, 2011

I bought this car back in 2004 and it only had 26,600 miles on it. The first year was great. Then everything went downhill. Literally everything broke on this car. Transmission mounts, power steering, the sun roof leaked terribly (I live in FL), the driver's side door leaked, the entire audio system went out, everything electrical would go out for no reason then come back on, it had an oil leak, it had a gas leak, it had an exhaust leak, the front suspension was replaced, belts/pullys broke twice, A/C broke, the clutch safety switch went out (twice) which lead to the entire security system going in the car - that's when I sold it. It only had 85,000 miles when I got rid of it. Every time I got in the car there was a 50/50 chance it would start. I had the oil changed religiously, only put premium in the tank, and had all scheduled maintenance done. This car was babied, waxed monthly, and driven respectfully. Worst car ever. On a lighter note: I had the 5 speed GT; it was a quick car when it would start. That's about it. I will never buy a Mitsubishi again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


PLEASE DONT BUY!!!!!!!!

by Nic from Sacramento | January 15, 2011

I have always taken care of all my vehicles but had my work cut out for me on this one!!!! Where to begin with this lovely gem (major sarcasm). I have had the car for about 2 years...and thats 2 years TOO LONG!!! Every morning there was a 50% chance it would start and I just cant live that way! A car should be RELIABLE!!!!!!! Was literally in the shop ever 3 week. I used up ALL my AAA tows within 6 month. Between the oil leaks, emission leaks, radiator blow, alternator AND starter in the same week, exterior pant fade (apparently there was a class action lawsuit for this also), had to use a pole to hold trunk up, and the other 87542975403 problems that come with it i finally said good bye yesterday after it failed smog and would be to much to repair...sold it to carmax and ran!! I would rather have NO CAR than THIS CAR!!!!! If you want to through your $$ away this is the car for you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Best coupe owned so far!

by 2000EclipseRS from Elk Grove | July 16, 2010

I love this car. It is extremely fast and very very good at handling. I love the interior of the car is very nice. reving to max RPM pushes car to the limit and you can feel the engine way more than other car, this is what I think is better than any coupe I've own so far. Car is very strong, get good gas mileage. Just hope I would be smaller, car is not comfortable for tall ppl but I made adjustments to make it work, so it's all good. Otherwise I really love this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very reliable, fun to drive, affordable

by sporty driver from Denver | March 19, 2009

Bought a 2000 Eclipse GT used with 65,000 miles, now have 125,000 with no mechanical problems other than routine maintenance. This car has been extremely reliable, plus I love the sporty performance and styling. After 10 years, the car is starting to show some interior wear and tear but nothing too bad for it's age. If you're in the market for a sporty, reliable, fun, yet affordable car with good gas mileage, then this may be your ticket. I have the 4 cylinder 2.4L and like several things about it better than the V-6: - more room in the engine bay makes it very easy to work on at home - better gas mileage. I get about 28 in town, 34 on hwy, or about 30-32 in my typical mixed driving. - the lighter weight of the 4 cyl actually allows for more optimal (closer to 50/50) weight distribution and better handling. PROS: great value, very reliable, great gas mileage, very good performance and handling, excellent feel from the manual transmission, fun to drive, good looking car. Good interior room (except the back seat). And most surprising was that it does incredibly well in snow - I live in Colorado, just using standard all-season tires, and get through any snow as long as I'm not pushing deep snow with the front bumper! CONS: noisy on the highway, back seat is cramped for all but children, back hatch hard to open and gas struts have lost some of their charge so they won't hold open in winter, AC is starting to get a little weak. Again though, this is typical stuff to expect on a 10 yr old car. Buy this car, you won't regret it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Mitsubishi Eclipse

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.