See Also: 2009 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

2009 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Change Vehicle
2009 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2009 Mitsubishi Eclipse 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$7,641–$16,153
Estimated MPG

16–20 city / 25–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

very nice car

by samo from bahrain, Middle East | December 9, 2012

In My owner's manual sais that my eclipseGT is 281HP and in everywhere they are writting that its 265HP .. i dont know why..i love my car so much but i hope i will lower it litte bet :) it will look more yummy :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


great looking sports car with good milage

by beauty from farmington, MI | November 7, 2011

Car looks really great, and so comfort. pick is not that much great because it is an i4 engine, but you will get a good millage.. Loving it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Head Turning Sports Car

by radiodial from Bay Area, CA | March 27, 2011

Absolutely a no excuse, fun to drive, head turning, fast, 27MPG, well built 4-seater sports car. A true non conformists car, as there just not that many on the road compared to all the other sports cars, and at the prices they command on the used market makes them a great deal. The handling is phenomenal, and i have had a lot of sports cars over the years. It go around corners like a rocket sled on wheels, and sounding and looking good the entire time. You need to get one with a the sunroof or the convertible, and if you have one with the 850w Rockford Fosgate stereo like I do, it is a fun cruising machine. Sounds great, and the seats hold you very well and are comfortable - except the back seats are for emergency use only, or have the front seats slid all the way forward. The huge hatchback is a little hard to close as that big barn door catches a lot of air and tries to pressurize the tightly sealed cabin when you close it. Best to have a window open. Getting in and out is typical for a low seating sports car, no bad backs need apply. Gauges are nice blue lit color, but the speedometer that goes to 160mph(!) is hard to read. If you adjust and use the side mirrors, visibility is good for such a low slung "TRON" looking machine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


She's a Looker!

by Carla from Countryside, IL | March 25, 2011

I have a yellow 2009 GS that I bought new in Oct. 2009. Pros: It's a real head-turning vehicle! Nice pickup Great stereo system (I have the sun/sound package) Cons: Huge blind spots Needs more storage space, maybe pockets on the backs of the front seats Did not come with an mp3/ipod hookup The battery is already dying Overall, I love this vehicle. I agree with another reviewer about being overpriced and lacking in extras, so my advice would be to buy a newer used vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


MIXED FEELINGS

by LISSY from West Virginia | December 9, 2010

I have an '09 GS. While the car is very fun to drive and is comfortable as long as you are not in the back seat, the ride is bouncy and rough. There are huge blind spots making parking very difficult. And the turning ratio is awful, which also inhibits parking abilities. The sound system is very good, but lacks an ipod auxillary. For the price of the car, there should be more extras, such as power seats, heated side mirrors, and a digital sound system.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


HOT POCKET ROCKET

by MARCELLO from Wilmette, IL | November 29, 2010

Pros: The Mitsubishi Eclipse V6 Convertible is a hot little car. We love it for shooting around town - my wife says the passenger area is larger than our Chrysler 300. It is very fast and fun to drive - sounds great also. Steady on the highway, the cruise control is the best. Backwind deflector works well at speed. Cons: Somewhat cheap "leather" interior. Some rattle noise on cobblestones. Back seat is not. Trunk is small. At $32K it was pricey for the value. You can buy a Jaguar XK8 convertible w/20K miles for much less. And the quality would be way way above the Mitsu. The seat belt reminder bell drives me nuts. How do politicians get to force manufacturers to remind me to drive safely???

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car


a Shark

by Sam from Dubai | July 9, 2010

it's absolutely without a doupt the most head turning car in the region it looks like a concept car wherever i go people's heads turning and staring at me! not me at my car i beleive :) though i live in (Dubai) where ferrary and porshe and meseratti everywhere is a daily scene and common, yet people are looking at the eclipse like if it's one of the fanciest cars... the shark design gives it an agressive look like a preditor, when someone spots me in the rareview mirror he steps asside to make room for my powerfull car to pass, defenetly it's a very powerfull and accelerates so fast as the engine roars gives you rush of blood to step on the accelerating pedal more and the dinamite stero 10inches woofer in the trunk makes u want to raise the volume more, it feels like an eathquake with intensive base solos... the interior is outstanding covered with leather! i mean where can u get a car at this price with a leather dashboard!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best car ever

by Sam from | May 16, 2010

i've bought this car a year ago and never got any compalins at all, the car looks stunning it's so atractive u can see people looking admiering . Many times people stopped me on the road asking me qwestions about the car and telling me how great it looks... the interior is so nice i have it with black and sunset red leather. Very comfortable that it drives you to relax and sleep if you are in the passenger's seat i had a mercedese E cLass before though it is a luxury car but the eclipse is way much more comfortable ... the visibility issue was solved easily when the company instaled a 180degrees rare view vission camera and sensors. both thumbs up... i love this car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


so satisfied

by road runner from columbus, ga | April 12, 2010

I just got a 2009 eclipse gs and i love it. I agree with alot of reviews about the blind spots but if you use your mirrors you will be fine. I was torn between the gs and gt because of power but the gs has PLENTY power. When you pull up all eyes will be on you. There is not much you wont like about this car!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most fun to drive

by Dr. Bizzaro from minneapolis mn | January 27, 2010

One of the great things about the Eclipse is feeling special when you drive it. It's not a car for everyone as far as comfort. You sit down low like a race car. Visibility backing up takes some getting used to but it's so sporty looking it's hard to resist. I love the blue dash lights! If I could change something about the car, I'd raise the door molded arm rests. They're too low. I'd include an outdoor temp gage (GS Model) which I miss in my previous car. Still a very nice sports car and a great warranty!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Mitsubishi Eclipse

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.