2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

Change Vehicle
2003 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution
Available in 1 styles:  Lancer Evolution shown
Asking Price Range
$9,312–$27,276
Estimated MPG

18 city / 26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Eleven years later... still smokes the competition

by Jay from Philadelphia from Philadelphia PA | October 12, 2014

I'm the original owner of a 2003 Mitsubishi Evolution VIII. For the performance, pound for pound, there is no other sports car that can be found for the money. I have 159,000 miles on the the odometer. This is the original engine, original internals, original transmission, original transfer case, and original differential. I replaced the clutch at 35,000 miles because I increased power to 415hp at the crank. It has remained at this power level for eight years with trips to Atco and Englishtown. I recently tracked the car in July 2013 at New Jersey Motorsports park at 145,000 miles and it performed without issue. The Evo's drive train components are part of the magic and it's good to service them regularly. Be sure to change transmission, transfer case and differential fluids at or before recommended intervals. Proper maintenance and the car should operate indefinitely. On long road trips I've found the Recaro seats to be very supportive and surprisingly comfortable. The Momo steering wheel is also just right in feel. The interior styling is perhaps a bit dated now, however, I continue to receive compliments on how fresh the car looks from the exterior. Evo's love proper alignment and fresh tires. I keep two sets for winter and summer respectively. At normal speeds the car is less engaging. Beyond normal speeds the car comes to life. When you've reached the limits of grip, you discover there's more. Brakes, suspension and chassis all work together on the back roads. Power delivery is brutal. My friends own 911 Turbos, 911 GT3s, and Nissan GTRs, and the Evo is right there with them in performance. As the years have gone by durability and reliability for the performance are what I value most about this car. I'll have it for a long time. And yes eleven years later, it still smokes the competition.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The most miles on an Evo

by 4retech from Middletown,NY | December 6, 2011

I ever thought about writing a review until some of my friends were interested in buying an Evo. Being a technician helps with the maintenance, but really as long as you don't abuse the car it should last. I found my first one with 67,000 miles on it and now my second one with 99,000. Both 03's. My first one is still going strong at 262,000 as of today. I love the cars handling,power, and don't forget about the AWD which is such a great thing to have in the snow. I drive it a lot and am a smaller guy so sitting in the recaros all day is okay. Might it be comfortable for a bigger guy. Either way, I love mine. Just don't use cheap parts and you should have a car that last a while.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Sexiest car in the world

by Joseph from Midwest USA | December 30, 2010

I just recently bought my 2003 GSR with 27,500k miles...had to drive it all the way from Michigan to Wisconsin too. No problems whatsoever, just make sure to get best fluids and gas always. I have always loved the way these cars look, and the only bad things that i would say about this car are: 1. Using the turbo absolutely EATS gas...and when you aren't using it, expect around 17-19mpg city, 20-23 highway. 2. Interior looks great...Recaro seats, Momo steering wheel, etc. But the stock stereo blows, and some of the interior components look kinda plasticky. Really though...most fun car i have ever driven. Almost all used Evos you will find have modifications done to them, and depending what the previous owners did and how the owners took care of them, you could either have a ticking time bomb or a great vehicle that will last for years to come. Do your research and get the car(s) inspected before you decide to dish out any $$$

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The best overall car

by The evoMan from New york,ny | December 18, 2008

i think it is the best car becasue the handling ontop of manual transmisson and so much more great car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


To much fun

by off road from | December 16, 2008

This has been one of the best cars I've ever driven! It's fast and handles like a dream around the corners. Also it gives you the best of both worlds the luxury of a sedan and the speed and control of a sports car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best Stock race car for value

by Hard Core Stree Racer from Bartlesville, Ok | July 30, 2008

I bought this car for my son to race at the track, and its a GREAT!! car; handles well. Great Reliable engine. Plunty of power and torque; Id recomend this car to anyone!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Go kart for big kids...

by CoachG from Sunderland, MA | November 10, 2006

Lots of fun to drive. Corners well. Believe it or not it is very good in the snow (if you swap out the OE tires) due to the AWD. The first model year (2003) has its problems but once sorted is reliable. Mileage is good if you stay out of the turbo boost...but what fun is that?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2005 mitsubishi lancer evolution VIII

by I'm so in Love with this car from reno, nv | June 28, 2006

wow wow wow, this car is just amazing! it outperforms alot of cars double or triple its price and with a little modification it is one of the fastest cars on the road, it can still go to the store and can be almost tame enough to go on a long,comfortable drive in the country I plan on buying as many of these cars as I can in one word it still boils down to WOW

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.