1999 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

Change Vehicle

1999 Mitsubishi Montero Sport

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  Montero Sport shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,379–$6,075

Estimated MPG

17–22 city / 20–24 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

great vehicle

by montero owner from NC | January 15, 2014

I bought my 1999 Montero Sport in 2001 with 18K miles. Now in 2014 it has 360K miles and is still running. It leaks some oil but has never left me stranded. Mostly highway miles, but still! I would buy another one if they still made them!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


best, most reliable vehicle

by sam from | December 22, 2010

NEVER let you down This is a great buy for the money and the gas mileage is not too bad either."I'm planning on getting a newer one some day, but for now....this one ROCKS!!! It's GREAT ON GAS!!!"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The Car that Never Gets Old

by Driving Dave from | September 25, 2009

Despite being made ten years ago, the 1999 Mitsubishi Montero Sport still looks very stylish from the outside. When I approach other models from the same year I am shocked at how old and outdated they look compared to the Montero. But that’s not even the half of it; the real shocker comes when someone actually climbs inside and drives the car. The gear shift is smooth and the car rolls into drive. As the driver slowly pushes down the accelerator, the engine responds at an even rate. Unlike some cars, the Montero doesn’t lurch with every touch of the accelerator, but rather speeds up slowly and comfortably. The same goes for the brakes; every tap of the brake pedal does not send the passenger through the windshield. The brakes do respond quickly, however, when the pedal is stomped to avoid a fender bender. While clipping along at an easy pace, the driver and passenger enjoy surprisingly comfortable seats along with more than enough leg room. Where the complications come in is when the driver wishes to enjoy a beverage while listening to the radio. The cup holder flips down right in front of the radio, making it hard to change stations, tracks, or any of the radio settings. This, however, is my only real complaint with the vehicle, so I’ll live with it. Overall this car combines style, comfort, reliability, and most of all performance, making it an excellent car for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


LOVE THIS TRUCK!!

by SUV GUY from Oak Creek, WI | November 2, 2008

I have bought this truck and it handles and runs great. I have driven all types from Toyota to the Discovery..This one is it for me. I'm planning on getting a newer one some day, but for now....this one ROCKS!!! It's GREAT ON GAS!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Outstanding suv

by Missouri guy from North Kansas City | September 8, 2008

This is the best, most reliable vehicle I have ever owned, and I am 55 yrs old. It will go anywhere, and it has never been in the shop after 80K miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Just doesnt wanna stop

by SUV's Rule from WA, Lynden | June 12, 2008

My vehicle was crashed twice with a rebuilt title before I ever saw it at 94000 miles. Very dependable vehicle will NEVER let you down in the snow or off road. I would never sell this vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


True utility vehicle

by Melody from California | August 19, 2006

Our Montero has been such a great vehicle. We plan to buy a new in the future. This is a great buy for the money and the gas mileage is not too bad either.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Wow! This car can go anywhere do anything!

by Single mom from Portland, OR | June 4, 2006

I have had mine since it was brand new! it has never had a problem, It has great everythings! I am now handing it down to my 18 year old daughter. I am sure it will be great for her too!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Mitsubishi Montero Sport

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.