2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport

Change Vehicle
2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport
Available in 4 styles:  2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport 4dr FWD shown
Starting MSRP
$19,470–$23,995
Estimated MPG

24 city / 29–31 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Great Reliability and Nice Ride

by Lily Xu from Calgary, AB | November 7, 2014

Purchased an RVR GT last year. Best winter driving vehicle ever. Never had any issue with it, and based on my research, best warranty in the industry. It doesn't have a lot of power, but great on gas. Perfect crossover for city driving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Value & Sporty too! 2014 Outlander Sport

by SoCal Gillman Guy from Santa Monica, California | November 6, 2014

I just bought a 2014 Outlander Sport from Gillman Mitsubishi in San Antonio Texas and I am blow away by the 'value' and great 'style' & 'economy' of this crossover! The team at the dealership gave me an outstanding deal on a 5 speed...UAW union made in the USA, it's great to drive a vehicle with enough power & handling this good! And the fuel economy is terrific at 24/32 MPG...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Buyer Beware

by Disappointed from Canada | October 31, 2014

Did lots of research before buying the Outlander Sport GT. Read about the noisy engine and poor CVT. However, took a test drive and was glad I did not judge it based on what I read.......Very Bad Mistake!! Less than 6000 miles later the noisy engine and transmission has left me with a very bad case of buy remorse. Really like the look and comfort of the vehicle, but cannot live with the noise -- especially in colder temperatures. Took it to the dealer and was told that this is normal for this vehicle and there are lots of documented complaints. Would have like to know this before I bought!! Don't make the same mistake. Believe what you read.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Don Not Buy It

by Stupid Mitsubishi Buyer from Maryland | October 4, 2014

With less than 100 miles on it and the first payment not even made yet it leaks oil like crazy. Took the old junky bucket of bolts back to the dealer for service. Should have never traded in my Yaris for this worthless thing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Good little SUV so far

by jdh from Graham, NC | September 24, 2014

I bought this suv for my daughter who is in college. The gas mileage is great. She had a Jeep Liberty and the mileage was very poor. Nice sporty little suv. Good vehicle for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Amazing Car, In Love with the road!

by Experienced Buyer from Irvine, CA | August 18, 2014

This is a great car! for the price this is a steal, I have almost driven this 4k miles in the first 2 weeks taking long road trips. Comes with an amazing warranty. The handling and ride are super smooth with minimal body roll and the car is very spacious. I own the base model and have no complaints. The car is stunning looking. Super happy!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Horrible Experience Horrible People

by Suz from Glenview Illinois | July 24, 2014

I have had my Outlander for 3 months 2014 brand new, when the windshield wiper began coming apart from the metal. It scratched my window when this occurred. First they claimed wear and tear and refused to fix it, now they are saying something flew up and hit the windshield wiper blade in that spot. It is absolutely ridiculous. There is not even a spec of dust on my wiper blade. John Renier is the Regional Manager at the Glenview IL office responsible for this poor management. I would NEVER recommend a car or company that does not stand by their vehicles and their warranties! Do NOT buy from this company, you WILL get ripped off.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Great Little Compact SUV!!!

by SteveM from Hugo, OK | June 30, 2014

I recently bought a 2014 Outlander Sport SE. I can't believe this vehicle is below everyone's radar for anyone wanting a smaller crossover. I did all of the research and found that by far this Mitsu was ranked higher in customer satisfaction that all of the others. I decided to test drive this car and was really impressed with the performance and smooth ride it has. It didn't take long to make a decision when looking at the options for this vehicle. We got every option except for the navigation and the panoramic roof... from the 6 speed paddle shifters and INVECS -III - CVT Sportronic® transmission to the 710-watt Rockford-Fosgate® premium sound system with 9 speakers including 10-inch dual-voice coil subwoofer with Punch Control®, this crossover is an absolute joy to drive. Sporty handling and awesome power (when you learn the dynamics of the CVT transmission), not to mention heated seats for the winter and room for 4 adults. A rearview camera helps you when backing up and some models feature back up sensors for when you get too close to an object. Self-dimming rear view mirror is a nice touch along with the automatic rain detection system on the windshield wipers. To go along with the leather wrapped tilt / telescopic steering wheel and shift knob, we ordered aftermarket Katzkins leather seats... a real plus... very soft leather! A full-color LCD multi-information display along with high contrast meter gauge cluster makes it easy to see at all times, night or day. Directional headlights light up the whole world at night... nice and bright. Factor in a 5 year / 60,000 mile basic and a 10 year / 100,000 powertrain warranty and you have a vehicle that no other can compare with at this price range... great bang for the buck!!! There is so much more this vehicle offers as standard equipment I could go on for days. Gas mileage is 33-34 mpg on the highway and we are averaging higher than the 31 mpg listed... all of our mileage is highway so this is the only mileage I can comment on. Overall this is one great vehicle for the price. You won't be disappointed in the ride or features of this crossover. Mitsubishi has built an awesome crossover in the Outlander Sport SE!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Toyota

by Bad selection from Houston | June 19, 2014

I bought two months ago a outlander sport, but has a defect that the air conditioning compressor turns on and off frequently and makes a very loud noise. I went to the service and all outlander do this very unpleasant noise for a new car, That looks like an older car. Finally the Regional Manager said that that is normal, must be normal for him because he does not have to support that noise.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Update

by JM from MD | May 11, 2014

2014 Outlander Sport ES CVT AWD I just did a 240 mile trip that's was 80% Highway-20 % city and got 31 mpg combined trip average with 675 pounds of passengers and the AC running in 2wd mode only. I drive it with no care to register good mileage. Its fun and toss-able and the flat seats are great on my bad back. At idle I can not even here the 2.0 L run and I have good hearing. The ride is breaking in nicely and it handles the rough stuff better and smoother them my 13 Accord Sport. Very happy with it. Very fun to drive. If they put in the 2.4L from the larger Outlander there would be no penalty on MPG and with a few tweaks it would be a segment leader. here most dealers only have 1 or 2 on the lot. Word is getting out quickly. That means higher prices in the future.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport.


Featured Services for this Mitsubishi Outlander Sport

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.