2008 Mitsubishi Outlander

Change Vehicle
2008 Mitsubishi Outlander
Available in 8 styles:  2008 Mitsubishi Outlander 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$6,748–$14,164
Estimated MPG

17–20 city / 24–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

Dependable reliable easy to own

by Lynn from Brooklyn MD | June 22, 2014

Bought it in 2008 slightly used from dealer. Very dependable and well built. Did city driving on terrible roads for 5 years and had minor front end damage from that. Otherwise the engine is strong, quality built parts. My use on the interior is minimal because its only me using it. A couple rust spots where car was scratched but not eating away at car. I have 104k on it currently and know that i will get in my car and it will start and not breakdown. The CVT transmission performs well and smooth. Gas mileage is poor (only from the high cost of gas). Overall one of the best cars I've owned!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Trustworthy all purpose vehicle

by grapepony from NJ | February 13, 2014

I have owned the vehicle for 4 years got it used at ll beans PA. Excellent vehicle ,good on gas ,have not had not one problem with the vehicle. Lots of room in the rear i added a third row seat for kids . The cars transmision can be automatic or for a quick boost you can put it on manuel and change gears.excellent in the snow .lots of warning devices. I had a nissan murano which i sold not roomy had problems with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Lots To Like

by First Time Mitsu Owner from NE Pennsylvania | August 8, 2013

Reviewing in 2013 on a recently purchased 2008 Outie LS. Have always had good luck buying 4 or so year old low mileage cars and hoping this will be no exception. Love the way this car looks, inside and out, sleek and different from many of the other crossovers in this model year range. As many reviewers point out, interior materials are kinda cheap and plasticky, but have a great look and the interior is comfortable with an over-abundance of storage space. I test drove an 09 4cyl/CVT and this 08 6cyl/6Sp and there was no comparison in horsepower and torque. The 3.0 flat out flies and shifts like a dream ... can't say the same for the 2.4 with the CVT. The ride is smooth and responsive. Gas mileage is good, topping out at 29 highway at 60-65 with no A/C, more like 25-26 at 70-75 with the A/C on. City mileage is fair ... in the upper teens. One early complaint ... THE PAINT! The clearcoat chips extremely easily, and if you don't have mudguards installed, I highly recommend you invest in a pair. This issue with Mitsu paint is well documented in the blogs. All-in all, have to say I'm quite happy with my new/old Outie so far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car!

by Orange Palmetto from Aiken, SC | September 16, 2012

I'm perplexed why the Outlander isn't more popular. According to Consumer Reports, it's extremely reliable, and I have found it to be fun to drive and quite sporty. You feel like you're driving a BMW sports sedan with its pep and cornering ability. We plan to keep ours a long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best Vehicle I've ever Owned

by DEK from Dover, PA | August 30, 2012

I've owned my 2008 Outlander LS since new, and just passed 60,000 miles. It has been by far the most reliable, trouble-free vehicle I've ever owned. Since new, I have only changed the oil regularly, and replaced the OEM tires at 36K miles. I estimate that I'll get around 80K on the brakes, I'm still running on the original pads & rotors. I have the 3.0 V-6, which gets around 26mpg on the highway, around 20 in town. It handles well, and the engine has plenty of power. The interior has good flexibility, and I really like the flip-down bumper/tailgate - really handy at the golf course or the store. My only negative is the plasticky, cheap dashboard and door panels, and the cloth upholstery, which is difficult to keep clean. But those are tolerable based on my overall experience. This vehicle doesn't get the press that a RAV4 or CRV gets, but it's a great, and probably lower-priced, alternative. It's a shame Mitsubishi can't get this kind of quality in their car lineup, they would be a serious contender if they did.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


There is no car I would rather own!

by skiinglizard from Washington DC | February 6, 2011

I am a car enthusiast and am usually planning my next dream vehicle purchase before the new car smell has worn off my current car. The Outlander has changed all that! I leased this vehicle on a four year lease and have owned the car for a little more than 3 years. This car has been an absolute dream. I own the AWD XLS with every option except the in-dash navigation. I love that this car has unique features not offered by any of it's peers. The fold-down rear hatch is fantastic for loading groceries or bikes and outdoor equipment into the back, the 650 watt Rockford Fosgate sound system rivals many after-market options I've put in previous cars. There are a multitude of storage and drink holders and the car overall is very comfortable. I currently have 40,000 miles and have had no maintenance issues. When a non-Mitsubishi dealership cross-threaded my oil filter leading to low-oil, I called Mitsubishi who promptly towed my vehicle 200+ miles to the nearest dealership in Montana. They changed the oil (again) and I never saw a bill. Mitsubishi's warranty really is amazing! I now live in Washington DC after towing a 3500lb Uhaul across the country with no complaints from my over-loaded Outlander and love driving this car on the beltway or bumpy DC roads. It's transmission shifts are smooth and accelerates off the line is as good or better than even the more powerful RAV4, for thousands less, with more features. I really cannot recommend this vehicle highly enough. My only complaint, and this is minor, is that the faux stainless steel interior accents chip easily and some of the door and dash trims are hard plastic where high quality materials might have been used. Buy this vehicle if you want value for your money and a fast, fun car for everything from mountain driving to cross-country roadtrips, to city commuting. I LOVE this car and I won't be trading it in for a new lease, it's a keeper!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Car Crazy from vermont | April 15, 2010

I have owned my 2008 Mitsubishi Outlander XLS for about 2 years now. I drive about 20,000 miles a year in all types of conditions. The 4WD systems works great, its comfortable, and has a TON of Gadgets for what MSRP is booked for. I have never had a problem with anything. If there was a problem it wouldn't be a problem with the super warranty that you get. The shiftronic transmission is a favorite especially the paddle shifters. It tows anything up to 3500 pounds, you can fit up to 7 people if you option it that way. It just has so many good surprises, so if you are in the market for a great midside crossover be sure to check this out you will love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


a purchase you won't regret

by Zendriver from Columbus OH | December 3, 2008

excellent vehicle. Mine is 4wd xls with luxury and sun/sound packages. Excellent ammenities, love it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


sweet vehicle

by happy customer from long Island, NY | October 30, 2008

I checked out all the other vehicles including the honda, toyota, hundai etc. None of them can beat the overall package that the outlander has . It has looks, power,handling,comfort, fuel economy, function, and the price is low for what youre getting. The 650 watt sound system rocks ! Buy this vehicle ,you won't reget it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


best vehicle for money, features, and reliability

by fawzi from virginia | September 1, 2008

I’ve owned the vehicle for 8 months now and it’s been amazing. I put around 14K on it with no problems what so ever. The vehicle is comfortable, handles well and turns back with good gas mileage. The only thing that I don’t really like is the quality of materials they use, but other than that the vehicle is amazing. Before buying it, I looked at the Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV-4; but when it came down to money, options, and warranty Mitsubishi was the best in its class.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

Featured Services for this Mitsubishi Outlander

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.