2003 Nissan Altima

Change Vehicle

2003 Nissan Altima

Available in 4 styles:  2003 Nissan Altima 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$5,875–$8,075

Est. MPG

21–23 city / 26–29 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

26 out of 35 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 35 reviews

Dont buy it

by Altima2003 from Quebec, CA | September 27, 2013

I need to remplace suspension table every year its a 1200$ job, I aint do it this year so maybe i will lose a wheel a any moment

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Love My Altima!

by Chase'sMom from South Central Kentucky | May 18, 2013

I have always upgraded to a newer vehicle that is only 1 year old or brand new on an averge of every 3 years. I bought my 2003 Altima in 2005 and am still loving it! It has 275,000 miles on it and I have not had any major repairs. It still had the original battery in 2012! The Bose system thumps and my 18 year old son still wants to prove it to his friends. I still love the way it rides & handles and enjoy driving it more than with the top down on my firebird convertable that I am now wanting to sell. I also still get compliments on how nice it looks. When I mention the miles on my altima and I may need to start looking to buy again, my mechanic who basically just changes the oil in my nissan says .. "No... this nissan will last a lot longer.. hang on to it... they are great cars". I think I'll keep the 2003 Altima and buy a new Altima next year after my 2003 reaches 300,000 miles :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nissan Altima

by AuidiA4Scott from Phoenixville, PA | January 13, 2013

I bought this car 4 years used and it had just over 30,000 miles. 5 years later it had close to 150,000 miles and never needed any major reparis. It still had the originai clutch when I traded it in a couple of weeks ago. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone. It was a good car that I averaged close to 30,000 miles a year on. Very reliable, great engine, awesome value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Most Excited Daughter on Earth

by Redbone from Chicago, IL | May 30, 2012

This was the best car-buying experience I have ever had. We not only enjoy the vehicle but we also enjoyed the individuals who sold it to us as well. Great day!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Too performance oriented

by car shopping dad from Greenville, SC | January 30, 2012

We needed a car for my daughter to take to college. She drives interstates to school and I wanted decent performance for merging, excellent side and rear visibility, reliability and decent fuel economy. The 03 Altima has superior visibility for merging and lane changes due to the extended rear windows and narrow pillar supports. With the 2.5L 4 cyl engine 175 HP is produced at a reasonable RPM. Overall, we have 2 main complaints. The transmission really needs a 5th speed as excessive RPMs are clocked at highway speeds. Also, we have had some troublesome strut problems. Fuel economy suffers, especially in town. Better gearing, and a somewhat smaller engine would do the trick. Quality is OK, but Honda and Toyota are better built, and are more refined in terms of driveability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Worst Car Ever

by Disgruntled Dad from Southeastern, Pa. | December 13, 2011

Engine and transmission problems galore. Too many to enumerate. Google "2003 Altima problems" and read about the problems that exist with this motor. Typical for other years also. Bad, bad, bad!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Can you spell A-M-A-Z-I-N-G?!?

by BigTwon from Tupelo, MS | November 7, 2011

I'm 17 years old and this is my first car. I have the 2.5S and it's everything i need in a car. I'm a huge speed demon and this car gives me what I want :-) It's really peppy!!! I would put this car up against any 4 cylinder out there!! Gas mileage is really good in my opinion. [Memphis and back (about 250 miles) and only used 1/2 tank!). This car makes me want to take long trips because the stereo is awesome, the air conditioner and the heater are very responsive, passing people is a joy, the car handles curves wonderfully, and the engine sounds awesome when roaring!!! It's always turning heads and people can't believe it's just a 4cyl, they always think it's a V6 under the hood. Also, my car had 140,000 miles on it and it runs like a champ and it feels really well built and solid. I LOVE IT!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Value for money

by Nissan2003 from Cockeysville, MD | September 19, 2011

I bought this car with 68,000 miles, now I have over 90,000 miles and no major repairs. the car is a little noisy when you step on gas. Very good handling. Awesome, I would definately reccomend it to a friend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


'03 Altima

by Best deal yet from Phoenix, AZ | July 22, 2011

Bought this car used with 31000 miles. This car performs like our Toyotas and is larger than the Honda Accord that I previously owned. Gas mileage is about 26 miles per gallon overall but is decent for a mid sized sedan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


good cheap ride

by frankjunnet from port st lucie | July 8, 2011

Is not a 5 stars car but for the price i paid is good. Have some wierd noise because the engine shakes to much and has a loosed heat shield who mahe weird sound but is not a big deal.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 35 reviews

Featured Services for this Nissan Altima

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.