2008 Nissan Altima

Change Vehicle
2008 Nissan Altima

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2008 Nissan Altima 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$7,221–$16,381
Estimated MPG

19–23 city / 26–32 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

54 out of 64 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 64 reviews

Oh dear, such a waste

by norabora from Lancaster, OH | January 29, 2014

I bought a 2008 Altima new. This was my first new car. Alas, 2008 was not a good year for Nissan in general and the Altima in particular. The ratings went down in Consumer Reports after holding steady for years as a "good buy." The side mirrors are a menace in parking lots and narrow streets. They extend out so much I had to convert my 2-car garage into a 1 car garage, the fit was that tight. Twice I came out of a store to discover one of the mirrors hanging by it's wires. Not a pretty sight. The handling is poor, the ride roughish and the highway noise is loud, considering the car's price.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Paint is flaking off the doors, hood, and fenders.

by Bruce1967 from Vancouver, WA | November 25, 2013

This was my wife's first new car, and she used to love it. It's had mostly dealer service and we followed the service intervals to a T. The car runs great and gets good mileage, but the paint is flaking off the hood, the rear doors, and 3 out of 4 fenders. I've never had a car with paint problems before, and certainly didn't expect it from a Nissan. They also recalled the car and replaced the exhaust manifold/catalytic converter which we had just replaced 4 months earlier. Fortunately, Nissan Consumer Affairs reimbursed us for the full cost of that work (over a $1k) and put a new one on after updating the ECM with corrected software.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


More fun than I expected

by ASIS Rider from Atlanta,GA | August 19, 2013

Drove the car 87,000 miles other than regular maintenance only had to replace the battery and tires. Handling and acceleration were better than expected for a midsize 4 cylinder car. Averaged around 27 MPG in combination expressway and city traffic. Great looking car always appreciated the styling both inside and out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great Purchase

by chopperflyer from North Tonawanda,NY | May 13, 2013

I will be holding on to this vehicle for a while. The seats are very comfortable. The overall driving position and ergonomics are unfatiquing. The display/nav system and the cooling, radio controls work great with the above display. The premium sound sounds great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nissan Fanatic

by Lovely from Tallahassee, Fl | April 17, 2013

I love my Nissan Altima. Although I was looking for a Rogue, it is a great reliable car. My next vehicle will definitely be a Rogue, though!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good car overall, but some snags

by Snadburgh GT-4 LX from Pittsburgh, PA | September 22, 2012

Overall, I love this car. The cabin is very comfortable and everything is where I think it should be. The keyless entry and start took some getting used to, but I like it (I know some think it gimmicky, but I love that I don't have to fumble in my pocket for the fob). Great for long trips as well, surprisingly quiet at highway speed for a 4 cylinder, and it accelerates and corners great. On the minus side, the ride is very taut. And, if you live in a city that struggles to pave its roads (as I do) it can be a bit much at times. Also, under hard acceleration, the CVT transmission remains at about 5,000 RPM - where the car's most annoying harmonic is - for most of the time. Nissan could've done a better job with the interior cavities as well. The cupholders and console boxes should be lined with a softer material, as should be the walls of the box underneath the climate controls. You can hear things rattle and roll around in them, and that's annoying.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car

by Love this car!!! from | August 7, 2012

Ive had mine for a year and its amazing!!! MUST BUY! So much room on the inside, the sound is wonderful. Huge trunk space. So glad I bought this car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best Car for the Price!

by Nissan Lover from Central, NY | July 31, 2012

I test drove an Acura TL, Infiniti G35, Lexus IS250, and many others before coming across a completely loaded Altima (3.5L V6, leather, navigation, Bose, backup camera, sunroof, HID headlights, etc etc). The Altima was newer with less miles and more options then those other cars and cheaper. I've had it almost 3 years now and LOVE it. I'm definitely buying a brand new 2013 Altima when I'm able to!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Pleasure to Ddrive

by The Beast from San Dimas, CA | July 18, 2012

Love this car. Fun to drive, looks great, sleek, stylish, relatively inexpensive, gas efficient, and easy maintenance. Only con I can think of was the original battery which is not covered 100% after the first year. The battery ia a cheap 2 year max battery. Ours went after 1 year and 3 months with less than 6000 miles on the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Never Again!

by Mark W from Kansas City, MO | June 24, 2012

I have friends who've driven Altimas and they had said good things. This is the biggest piece of junk I have ever owned. The paint has completely chipped off the front bumper (after already being repainted once). The interior is made with the cheapest plastic known to man. This creates rattles when it's hot, rattles when it's cold, rattles when you put a drink in the drink holder. the one good thing I would say is it gets good mileage (up to 39 mpg highway with 6 speed manual). The radio lights are constantly dimming/fading in and out. The back armrest on the rear seat is coming off (no one ever sits back there). The door handles are coming off. Low quality. Would not recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 64 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2008 Nissan Altima.


Featured Services for this Nissan Altima

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.