1998 Nissan Frontier

Change Vehicle

1998 Nissan Frontier

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  Frontier Regular Cab shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,824–$8,112

Estimated MPG

18–22 city / 21–26 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Perfect little truck

by Truck Buyer from Sedro-woolley, Wa. | May 8, 2014

I had a great time driving this truck. Also my buying experience at Dwayne Lanes North Cascade Ford from Shane Steward and the whole sales team made it very comfortable and exciting.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Good Dependable truck.

by Working Man from NY | September 18, 2011

I bought this truck with 130,000 milles on it. Mines a regular cab with a standard tranny. Had no problems at all. Only changed oil, radiator fluid and power stearing fluid since. All recomended servics.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Awesome little truck

by Fischman from Georgia | March 21, 2010

Bought this truck new in 1998, 4 cyl, 5 speed, ext. cab, just turned 331K miles, original clutch went to 280K, new timming chain at 300K, still running strong and getting 23mpg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned (I'm not kidding)

by Nissan Rocks from Austin, TX | July 10, 2008

I bought the vehicle five years ago when it had 68000 miles. Now it has 167000 and I haven't had any problems. So far I change the factory battery, oil changes, and spark plugs. That's it! Great truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


My Fabulous Frontier - 4 X 4 XE 4 cyl. model

by Car Critic from York, PA | July 3, 2008

My wife and I have owned this vehicle for about two years now, and we've been very impressed with it overall. It has run beautifully, has hauled some very heavy loads for us, has been VERY low maintenance, and has gotten much better gas mileage (up to 27 MPG highway) than the published numbers suggest. The only drawbacks we have found are the following: 1. The seats need to be readjusted every time someone gets into the jumpseats in the back. 2. The AC needed to be recharged, which is normal for any ten year old car. 3. With the larger tires, this truck does not corner well (which is to be expected considering it's a truck). 4. The thick front pillars of the cab area where the door frame meets the cab create significant blind spots. (Be sure nothing is behind them before pulling out)! Other than those few things, our truck has been a wonderful addition to our automotive family!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Good Family Truck

by Steve and Kelley from San Diego, Ca | October 14, 2006

Worked well with two young kids. Great safety features and is reliable. Low maintenance cost is a plus. Thanks Nissan

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Strong and Reliable

by Brett from Denver, Colorado | October 14, 2006

Used as a work truck and still runs good. I am usually pretty tough on my pickups, after all thats why I buy them. It has held up great!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Truck looks new and its 8 years old!!

by Shifter from Phoenix, Arizona | October 14, 2006

Nissan holds a great resale value. I have not had any major repairs done to my truck. Oil change, tune up , belts, tires etc... But I have 98,000 miles. My last nissan pickup had 225,000 miles on it when I traded it in, and I was still using it everyday. Looking forward to trying the full size truck, this was a little crowded/close between driver and passenger. Overall 2nd best truck I've ever owned 4 1/2 stars for me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Nissan Frontier

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.