2004 Nissan Frontier

Change Vehicle
2004 Nissan Frontier

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 18 styles:  2004 Nissan Frontier 4x4 King Cab 116.1" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$5,527–$14,027
Estimated MPG

15–22 city / 18–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

Great truck

by Ruben from Lancaster,California | September 24, 2013

Excellent truck, bought it used ans still drives like a new truck. The manual transmission is very effective on long hauls, and v-6 engine is very torquie. Could use a little more power going uphill, but has overall very smooth acceleration. No problems at all. Perfect work truck, being brew cab and all.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


It's a Tank

by Frontier Owner from Pittsburgh, PA | February 15, 2013

I drive a 2004 Crew Cab XE 6' bed with a cap. Bought it used with 73,000 miles. I now have 121,000 miles on it. Gas mileage is usually 18 mpg. No major repairs. Worst repair was recently the calipers froze and were grinding the rotors, replaced calipers, rotors, and pads. Labor to replace brakes is higher due to the way the brakes were designed. Good sound system. Handles the Pittsburgh snow very well. Heating and cooling systems work quickly. Seat is a little weak. Back seat is small; I rarely put people back there. I expect it to run for another 100K.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


great truck

by trucker from tampa | February 27, 2012

Useful truck, which was needed for going to work and transporting and storing large items. Will come in handy for all uses!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good starter out vehicle.

by Ike from Alamo, Nv | November 10, 2011

So I have had my 2004 nissan fronter xe for a couple weeks now. I had bought it used with it having 65,000 miles on it and it still runs like a charm! Nissan has always been a reliable vehicle within my family, my dad use to drive them alot ( vehicles always got between 240,000-300,000 miles on them before dying)and then he started buying dodge and vehicles like that for work but unfortunately on the dodges the dashes and all that fall apart on them. so for my first vehicle he suggested I get a nissan. with Nissan they seem to do everything in good quality. My real only con about the vehicle is 1st gear is too high, if your driving around the city that is fine but when you live in small towns and are hauling stuff it is wasier to driver a vehicle with lower gears. The interior and all that is also good and have comfortable seats, another reason we prefer the nissan to toyotas.... more comfortable haha!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


2004 Frontier best car I ever owned.

by RichardH from Houston, Austin, Texas area | July 8, 2011

I bought this truck new in 2004. since then I have put over 123,000 miles on it and NEVER had a major problem with it. My only complaint is the gas mileage which averages about 16 - 21 for me. other then that it has been a work horse for me and very reliable. It was a great deal for the money. I would buy another one today and may do so soon just to update.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My 7th Nissan

by 2004SuperchargedCrewCab from Wyoming and Utah | October 5, 2010

Supercharged V-6 crew cab with long bed. No repairs, just regular maintenance. Use Mobil1 and follow owner's manual on 30-second warm-up before driving. Very smooth ride on good roads, and never gets jiggly like the Ford Ranger does. Steady and secure, whether navigating through a blizzard or blasting down a deserted highway at 100 mph. Nimble and quick in traffic, but has a wide turning circle (you can expect to do 3-point turns often). Mileage at 75mph is a dismal 16, but keeping the speed down to 60 gets me 20 mpg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


a bumpy ride.

by tye22 from NC | May 24, 2010

It's painfully uncomfortable. You bounce around in your seat the entire ride, even on the highway. It's reliable though, I haven't had any problems. Get a ford.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


get frontier now

by frederic from cathedral | January 20, 2010

its like a bull, good on gas, i had this truck used but its like new, I just like toyota or nissan are the best

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


BUYFRONTIER

by BUYFRONTIER! from Maryland | January 12, 2010

Great Truck. Bought it brand new. Driven it for 5 years and havent had a problem. The SE version is no good, but the XE Crew Cab ROCKS! They changed the body style in 2005, I love my 2004!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Bought this Truck

by Sonriza from phoenix, az | November 13, 2008

Its my third Nissan and i am very pleased with it. Some times we get a bad apple, glad i picked a good one. A happy Arizona native.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2004 Nissan Frontier.


Featured Services for this Nissan Frontier

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.