2012 Nissan LEAF

Change Vehicle
2012 Nissan LEAF

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2012 Nissan LEAF 4dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$13,726–$21,878
Estimated MPG

106 city / 92 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 19 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 19 reviews

Great commuter car if it fits your lifestyle

by KarlB from Kansas City, MO | April 20, 2014

Let's cut to the chase: The number one issue is range. With an 11-mile one-way commute and a charging station at work, I purchased an off-lease 2012 Nissan LEAF SL to use as my daily driver. Nissan recommends an 80% charge to maximize battery life, so the rated distance to empty is around 70 miles. Depending on driving style (e.g. highway miles increase air resistance and thus reduce range) and use of accessories, a 50-60 mile range is more realistic. Please do not expect a 100-mile range that some reviewers have assumed (partially due to false input from car dealers). Once you have determined that the range will work for you, it's a fantastic car. The materials used are high quality and the seats are very comfortable. The cabin has an open, airy feel. The acceleration is instant due to the electric motor torque. Despite the small hatchback look, it has plenty of legroom and space for passengers. Speaking of look, it's...well...different. I like the non-conformist look. Some might say the front looks like a carp. To each their own. The rear luggage space is good enough for groceries and small baggage, but clearly this is not a road trip car. The rear seats can be flipped down for more cargo space. The accessories including entertainment, Bluetooth (for audio and phone), charging ports, GPS (if so equipped), and connection to CarWings telematics are top-notch. You can see your car's charging state at any time and turn on climate control while the car is still plugged in. A 240V home EVSE (car charger) is recommended, but not absolutely necessary. Any 110V outlet becomes your "fueling station", although at a reduced rate from the 240V stations. You can find public charging stations (many are free) using commonly available web sites and apps. If you fit the above driving profile and are ready to benefit from reduced fuel costs (about 1/3 of gas!), having a fully charged car every morning, and the reduced maintenance (no oil changes, no tune-ups, no exhaust repairs, reduced brake jobs due to regenerative braking), the LEAF might be for you. Consider that by 2016-2017, a second generation with increased range may be available, so it makes sense to buy used and reduce your depreciation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


BE CAREFULL

by jayjay from OHIO | March 6, 2014

beware if you only need to go 40 miles per charge buy this car you will not get 80 i bought new have never got above 50

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Don't buy or lease!!!!!!!!

by Leaf Educator from Corona, CA | February 19, 2014

I hope this review saves someone else the disappointment I have been experiencing with this vehicle. I have owned my 2012 leaf for about a year and a half. The first year was fine, took a bit to get use to the limited range that averaged approx. 75 miles. All in all it was good though because of the perks that come with owning this vehicle (carpool, discounted toll lanes, and free parking in some places. The past few months with this vehicle have been a challenge to say the least. The range has dropped from an average of 75 miles new to 50 miles with 22,000 miles on the vehicle. One of the lights on the charge gauge went out which indicates a cell in the battery has died. I brought it to the dealer to have it repaired under the warranty. The dealer advised the loss of capacity and range is normal and they could not to anything to fix the range. I called Nissan's consumer number to express my frustration. I advised them I drive 44 miles one way to work and I only make it home with approx 2-6 miles left (driving 60-65 mph). I expressed my concern with additional capacity loss in the future and asked what I do then, push the vehicle home. They also advised it is normal capacity loss and refused to help. So if you see some one pushing a Black Leaf in California it's probably me. I can not wait to turn this car in when my lease is up!!!! Best regards

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


My All Electric Sports Car

by MyronRater from New Orleans, LA | November 19, 2013

I love this car much more than any other car I've ever owned... And that's saying a lot since I've owned cars continuously since 1968. I'm a professional energy conservation consultant and the energy savings even pleases me, the hardest of critics. What really surprised and delighted me after I bought it is the extremely fast acceleration. I bet I can beat a Corvette for the first 2 seconds from a dead start. I am not disappointed with the range.. its greatest weakness since it pretty much delivers as predicted. However, to be completely honest the 100 mile range is not a good estimate at highway speeds.. since at 60 mph the energy is consumed about 1/3 faster so the total range is only about 60 miles. However, 95% of the time, I'm driving within the city for much less than 60 miles a day so I don't care about the range. Moreover, the car I bought is the top of the line with wonderful navigation which can be set via a telephone number! and a back-up camera better than anything you could buy on a fully-loaded Toyota Prius. This is definitely a great 2nd car, but I would be hesitant to recommend the car to an individual who has to drive more than 100 miles a day more often than 10 times a year. I don't really care about styling either inside or outside.. that's why the best it can be is GOOD. The only negative I have to say about this car is that you have to be pretty vigilant about range.. and I have been really stranded once and almost stranded a second time. However, that said, Nissan provides free towing to the nearest charging station.. so that problem is not a game-changer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love it, MORE fun than I thought it would be.

by Bob from Chicago | November 13, 2013

Just so fun to drive. I just do short trips so who cares if it only goes 90 miles. We have a second car. It is like a race care when you step on the peddle. It handles surprisingly well. This car is much better than expected.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best Price! Bad hwy range!

by Dealer from Nashville | May 20, 2013

"Sold 10 used Leafs 45 mile range max on the HWY.! You can buy used Leaf for around $22k with 2-3k mi. Great Price!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Most Fun and Versatle Car I've Ever Owned

by MyronRater from New Orleans | April 26, 2013

ELECTRIC! That's how I feel.. That's what this car is. Laughing at Gas Prices!. Many, Many people tried to dissuade me from this purchase decision because of the limited range -- roughly 100 miles. But it was always a commuter's car decision. When the Hurricane comes, I'll park it on the 2nd floor of a nearby parking structure and evacuate (if I do) with my wife's Prius. However, evacuation is even less likely now, because the 24 kWh found in the car will eventually be used to more than double the batter back-up of my home which allows me to have 2 weeks of emergency power! I find the car a pure delight to drive... Incredible responsive! More like a sports car than any car I've ever owned. Charging as a concern has disappeared: I charge every night and 99% of the time never have to think about it: the automatic system of charging to 80% makes this a no-brainer and automatically prolongs the battery life. Why don't you have a pure electric car? You will.. So why wait? Myron

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love this car

by Great car from | March 25, 2013

This such a sweet car. Nissan has done an outstanding job with this electric car. I love not buying gas anymore.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Incredible: First real consumer electric car

by Cartech pioneer from Northern VA | January 18, 2013

I was nervous in making the jump to an electric car. I was an early Toyota Prius buyer in 2001 and loved that car, but that didn't require as much deliberation about lifestyle as taking the jump into this car did. I found that a lot of my anxiety was completely unfounded. This car is amazing! Nissan did a fabulous job of making an electric car that takes about the least adjustment that anyone can imagine. It fits my family, has all the creature comforts, and in driving around the suburbs for the first month that I have owned this car, in the middle of a cold, rainy winter, I have never even come close to running out of charge -- with wipers, heater, defrosteres, everything running. Sure, it's not for everyone. It won't make your cross country road trip or even medium sized roadtrips. But for doing the suburban dad thing, commuting to work, hauling my kids around, and running errands, it is a great car. And so cheap to run. I charge at night for less than 6 cents per KWH. Meaning driving 900 miles a month costs me about $13 in electricity. And in 2013, Nissan is really doing a first by making this electric car as affordable as a moderately priced gas family car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Wonderful car

by luckydog1955 from Lake Forest, IL | December 21, 2012

Took delivery of an all-electric, Nissan Leaf a few weeks ago. What a great car. Very comfortable. Performance has exceeded my expectations. Does going from a gasoline powered vehicle to electric take some adjustment? Yes. But it's really no big deal. We've put about 750 miles on it so far in some cold winter weather. No problems. My teenagers love to drive it. So smooth and quiet. Began by using the level I charger. Installed a level II (240V) charger. Wow. Very fast recharge. We're set. I highly recommend this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 19 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Nissan LEAF.


Featured Services for this Nissan LEAF

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.