1997 Nissan Maxima

Change Vehicle
1997 Nissan Maxima

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  Maxima 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$304–$5,176
Estimated MPG

22.1 city / 26.9 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

My first car

by Zach From Wisconsin from Milwaukee, WI | December 1, 2013

My father owned this car before me and handed it down to me in early 2009. I can honestly say having this machine was possibly one of the better first cars I could have had. I had the GLE with the full black leather moonroof bose speakers and the whole shibang, and for the first 7 or so years, it was running flawlessly. I can without a doubt say I kept up on all the maintenance and had it washed on a weekly basis, I live in wisconsin so there is a lot of snow and salt in the winters. About 9 years after my family owned it at 155,xxx miles the thing started to have numerous issues/things that needed to be repaired. It all came down at once it seemed like, the transmission started running really rough, you felt every shift throughout your entire body, when it was really cold you had to basically floor the gas when turning the key in the ignition or it would die, it needed new struts, most of the exhaust had to be replaced also. It also had an idling issue where the rpms would dip a little too low, and then it would shoot up to 2000 rpm out of the blue. This was even after replacing the throttle position sensor. All in all it was a great car that got me through highschool as well as my first year and a half of college. Seeing as now in 2013 you can basically find this car for a really nice price, it is great for teens who just began driving. One last note I feel I need to warn anyone reading this about, the 500 miles per tank these people are talking about is rediculous. If you drive it as nicely as possible, never flooring it, and in warm conditions, I was only getting about 330 miles a tank. In winter here only 225-250 at max. If I had to go back in time and relive my life over the last 5 years, I would stick with this car despite its numerous needed repairs all at once.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


very good car, but....

by luv my max from texas | December 1, 2013

i've owned max for almost 5 years now, when i got it back in 09, it had close to 89,000 miles. now, close to the end of 2013, it has 138,000 miles. while i love this car, i am having some issues. all seem to be related to the car's age. i've replaced the stater and cv goints, and i have a strut thats worn out. plus i have an eletrical issue, that no one can figure out what wrong with it. but overall, i've been very happy with it. good power, given it's only a 190hp 3.0 DOHC V-6. fuel milage is pretty decent. i get between 18-20 city, and between 26-28 hwy. even though it recommends premium, i'm getting these fuel milages, with regular. honestly, i can't tell any diffrence, between the two grades. oh and i've been seeing reviews from other people on other cars, complaining that the milage, isint what's posted on the sticker. reason why, is it's an ESTIMATE ONLY!!! if you look closely at the window sticker, there is 2 milage figures. 1 is the EPA estimate (the big number) and 2, th expected (which is the tiny number) if you base your milage solely on the big number's you may be very disappointed. but all in all, if you need a dependable car and dont mind a little maitnence every now and then, i highly recommend this one, im actually planing on tradeing in for a newer model, and i've never had 2 conceitive cars, that were the same model before.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


300,000 miles and still going!

by RC from Portland, OR | August 18, 2013

I bought my 97 Maxima in 2002 and it had 80k miles on it at the time. It's 2013 now and I have over 309,000 miles on it and still going. Besides basic maintenece I've replaced the muffler recently, a new starter a few years back. It still looks sharp and clean and the mileage has been consistently good for years. I love this car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Old Faithful~

by FLFishinGal from Tampa, FL | February 20, 2013

I purchased my Maxima LE back in '04 and now have 198K miles on it. It's been my commuter for the past 9yrs traveling 25+ miles one way each day. I've replaced the starter twice and the alternator a couple times and replaced the CV joints. Those are my only larger than "oil change" maintenaces I've done. I've just noticed that the AC is not blowing as hard as it should, but considering it's daily trek in the Florida heat and sitting out in the sun, not garaged- it's been very forgiving and reliable. I have a little rust that was there previously when I purchased it and it's still in good shape considering. I get 30mpg easy w/ 75% of my miles being highway miles. It has great power for its class w/o being a gas guzzler. I would have complete peace of mind passing this vehicle down to a teenage driver for their first car. Great value for the money!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


bulletproof

by road warrior from | February 3, 2011

bought the car new , used it yeararound , the se with speed adjusted steering is awesome , i have had snow coming over the hood in numerous wisconsin winters and still made it to work . Great car !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Used Car

by maxdude11 from Peoria, IL | December 26, 2010

Got my 97 Max used in Chitown last fall. It has nearly 200k and still runs great and has no leaks and burns no oil.... The only issue I have is I need to replace an A/C pulley because is started making a roaring/whining noise, but in the part's defense it does sit at the bottom of the engine and is exposed to a ton of road salt every winter. Other repairs have just been routine maitenance... The body does have some rust, but that may be due to the previous owner not washing, waxing, etc.... as he should have.....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best car on the road

by Max from texas | May 29, 2010

I got this 97 nissan maxima last year from my uncle who is the original oner of it for the past 12 years. When I got the car in March of 2007, it had 88k miles. Now a year later it's comming up on 103k miles. In that time the only thing i've replaced is the battery. overall the car is very well desinged inside and out. Beleve it or not for a car that's 13 years old there are very few squeaks and rattles. The only issue im having is with the transmission, case in point when it's running cold the shift from 1st to 2nd is hard, but the other gears shift smoothly. And it only does this untill the transmission gets warm, after that you barly notice it's shifting. performance-wise, this is the fastest car i've ever had. i dont know what it tops out at, but i can assure you it will do at least 122mph. it'll keep up with most cars costing 40-50k. fuel-wise i can get aroud 18-20 intown and 25-28 on the hwy. and with an 18.5 gal. tank, i can go around 500 miles on a fill-up (havent tryed it yet). I plan on keeping this car untill my daughter is old enough to drive, whitch won't be untill 2024. so thats at least 14 more years. overall if your looking for a very good desinged and reliable car this is the car to have

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


BEST CAR EVER

by Manbone from Bradenton, FL | March 6, 2010

I bought this car new in 97 for $23,000 best car buy I ever made. I have had vary few problems. The car has 180K and still has same power and comfort. I now have three kids so I need a bigger ride. I hate to sell it, but it looks like it has held it's value. I should get about 3500 for it. I would recommend this car for someone who needs a reliable fun car with great gas milage. Also the paint job looks factory new. Just change the oil, wash, and wax. Happy driving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love my Max!!

by BevMaxima from McDonough, Ga. | December 6, 2009

Bought her used in 98; now has 154,500 miles, have replaced 2 starters, and in 2009 the MacPherson struts, otherwise it's just oil changes, brakes and tires. 23 mpg around town, 32 on cruise control/Interstate. Fun car, fast, still looks good even though it sits outside all the time. Just keep her waxed, the tires black, and I hope she lasts me another 10+ years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best Car I've Ever Had

by In Love With My Maxima! from Stroudsburg, PA | May 18, 2009

I am proud to say that my 97 Maxima now has 302,003 miles on it and is still running strong. Only on it's second clutch and in 3 years I've never had to put any money into this car. I will never get rid of this vehicle! Best car ever made!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 1997 Nissan Maxima.


Featured Services for this Nissan Maxima

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.