2005 Nissan Maxima

Change Vehicle
2005 Nissan Maxima

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2005 Nissan Maxima 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$4,506–$12,166
Estimated MPG

20 city / 28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 22 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 22 reviews

First Maxima

by AlexQ from Kingston, NY | March 21, 2014

I bought this Maxima with 63000 miles on it & so far no problems other than the small wear tear problems that come along with owning a car. The Exterior & Interior of this car are very stylish! The speed in this car is amazing!! The only complaint I have about this car is that the space is limited for a tall person height & leg room are somewhat limited. But Its a really nice dependable car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best car for the money!

by Really good car! from Boston, MA | February 28, 2014

I bought my 2005 Nissan Maxima almost 2 years ago and it is the best car, never have had any problems with it, super reliable. Its sporty yet has the luxury feel. Best 10G I've ever spent. Only complaint is the turning radius is very small but it's because its a large car. Other than that, everything else is great. Very happy with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good Run

by Mikey Mike from San Antonio, TX | October 1, 2013

So I bought my maxima at 60k and put another 60k on it and the transmission went out on it. It was fun while it lasted, it has a strong engine no doubt, nice sound system and interior but this transmission failure and motor mounts going bad happens to be a common problem. The cost is about 2500 in repairs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


05 nissan altima gray

by raul from | February 8, 2013

fully loaded very nice guys. they got the car i wanted i saw it in there website. That someday i got it. ill go back n get other car from them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Solid Car

by value based buyer from Chantily, Virginia | February 7, 2013

I purchased a car that met the changing needs of our family and the dealing worked hard to help me reach the cost. After the test drive, we were confident that we had the right car and the friendly help of the dealer made our purchase a pleasant experience.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Maxima does live up to it's hype....

by Maxxxxx from Boston MA | August 20, 2012

name is dani, bought my '05 Max brand new, Silver/Black leather w/every option except NAV, paid 29K which was a good deal!!! V6 power but wait, mine is a very very rare 6-speed manual shift!!!! Yes i ordered mine like that bcuz the 2nd gear has no mercy on the road, platinum silver is by far the best color with black interior, my car has 174K and still runs great, one downfall which all max owners wud agree on is the turning radius, a 3 point turn is actually a 5-6 point turn lol, i havnt spent too too much on maintenance although last year i had the timing chains slip and that cost me around $1,800 to fix, change the oil every 5,000 miles which is okay, the shocks and brakes are very good, once in a great while my clutch will slip and its hard to go into gear but thats if ive been using the car all day and shifting for hours, im in the process of trading it in for an automatic same year and color bcuz my GF doesnt know how to drive a manual shift and barely reaches the clutch!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Surprised by this car

by browni1983 from Hampton, ga | June 4, 2012

purchased the car used, But I was surprised with the ride and feel of the car.. It's great.. Performance is great, I had to get used to the powerit will move out. I have the SL model and its more than I expected. Overall Im very satisfied with the vehicle. but what is more surprising is the gas mileage.. It really does get 27mpg. My only complaint is the turning radius.. My smaller car does better on the turning radius..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Four Deep

by Amyr2U from Washington, D.C. | April 19, 2012

Im on Maxima number 4. I started with a 2000, 2002, 2004 and I still have my 2005! What can I say? I LOVE this these cars. It really is a 4DSC (4 door sports car) Im looking at car.com for my next one. Buy one and you'll love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


My maxima is sweet

by mr 4 cars from Boulder, Co | April 15, 2012

I bought my 05 maxima new. I've only taken it in for oil change and that's it. Never had a problem. I tend to race people on the road who think they have fast cars and i've always been the winner. If you are looking for a fast reliable car go for the maxima. I've had 6 cars and maxima is the only one i will keep.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A honest review of my 2005 Maxima

by vkXIMA from Orange County, CA | January 17, 2012

I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima SL. First off, this car has AMAZING power. It's performance is truly what amazed me. It had about 46K on it when I got it in Nov. 2008. It now has 81K , and it runs well. The ride quality is nice, yet sporty. It might be stiff for some, but I personally think it does a great job comfort wise. The interior is okay, but I prefer the 2007-2008 Maximas interior. I love my memory seats and pwr tilt/telescoping steering wheel. The SL model also comes standard with HID/XENON lights that really help at night. Now, here's the info that I feel is important if you want to purchase this car. Her transmission is sensitive, and is not as durable as a Toyota's. The fluid needs to be changed every 30K. Does not matter WHAT the manual states. I had to fix the transmission because the fluid was contaminated at 55K. My fault....no one else to blame. I had it repaired, and I've had no problems since then. The mounts were shot do to the transmissions jerking. ALSO...only use Nissan's K-Matic fluid, NOTHING ELSE! My car is running beautifully, and I still get plenty of compliments. I only use Synthetic motor oil, and Premium Fuel. Maintain this car and it will respect you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 22 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2005 Nissan Maxima.


Featured Services for this Nissan Maxima

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.