2003 Nissan Murano

Change Vehicle
2003 Nissan Murano
Available in 4 styles:  2003 Nissan Murano 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$4,688–$11,148
Estimated MPG

20 city / 24–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 26 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 26 reviews

not a lagit buy

by sowhat22 from ga | January 29, 2014

This post is fake and your required to send money to a person you cant even see cuz there so called going over seas in the army and you send money first.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


CVT transmission/Transfercase/ Gas pump

by bg from New Jersey | September 8, 2013

I have a 2003 Murano 140,000 miles I have replaced my transfer case three years ago called Nissan for help and got no where with them I had to pay out of pocket $3ooo. Two months after that I have to replace the catalitc converter another big job. Now a month ago I had to replace the gas pump again another big expensive job. But my real problem is my transmission the problem started last summer where after driving the car for about 20 to 30 min and then get into traffic the car starts to hesitate when pressing on the gas I took the car to the dealer w/ no help they told me I had to bring the car when it was happening and this problem doesn't happen all the time. So finally I take it again and they tell me I need a new transmission. I have been doing research and found out that there was a extension on the warranty that I did not know about and was never told by Nissan. I call Nissan North America for help again and they refuse to help in any way even if you didn't know about the extension they just do not care!! This is a very dangerous and scary problem esp when merging from highway to highway. I am extremely disappointed with Nissan they do not care about the safety of there customers they know of this problem and don't do anything about it I guess several thousand people have to die before they really care. I vow to never buy another Nissan and will never recommend anyone to buy a Nissan!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Rust bucket

by Fluffy from Milwaukee, WI | August 18, 2013

This vehicle has been pretty reliable mechanically. I bought this off of my daughter's lease, so I know the entire history and it has been very well taken care of. What I cannot believe, is that a vehicle at this price point would have such an issue with rust. It started rusting at four years old in the strangest places, by fuel cap, on top of roof, trim around windows. I fixed rust as it appeared, but it got so bad that I had to have the entire vehicle painted and rusted metal cut out, replaced and repainted at the cost of over $2,500 after the original $2,000 I had already done in rust repairs. Don't know if it is just the 2003 model, but if you are thinking about purchasing this vehicle, make sure you question the prior rust and body repairs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Most reliable car I've ever owned

by LoveMuranos from Tampa, Florida | April 9, 2013

My 2003 Murano, Special Edition, is very comfortable and fast. I've been driving the car for a month. Love it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


WOOF WOOF

by Levacovy from Portland, OR | December 29, 2012

Last/WORST Datsun/Nissan EVER!!! Researched cars for 6 months before biting on this. Bought at Lithia Nissan in Medford OR. Issues within the first 2 months. I like to drive on highways and not. Road handling good, pinged at low speeds no matter what including Nissan service and gas change (hi octane +/- gas additives, ...). Poor approach angle when off roading for fishing. I got tired of repeated service appts. 2 special transmission replacements later, last at my cost at 43,000 miles. I eventually traded it in, gladly, at 55,000 miles. First time ever as I normally drive them well over 100,000 before retirement. The final straws were: 1 Nissan didn't see new transmission replacement (second) falling under state lemon law; 2 service manager at local dealership in Bend OR knew me by name and cell phone number. Life much better, more reliable now status post no Nissan.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


This car is a sacrifice. I can't drive it.

by car seller from Zellwood Station | March 7, 2012

This was my wife's car. She died last month. I turned in my driver's license last year due to failing eyesught, or I would never sell this car. It had some tranny issues about six years, but it was replaced and now has a 100,00 mile warranty on it. It has been perfect. The four tires are new, having been replaced with an alignment last month. As far as I'm concerned this car is a great bargain at $9500. Mauri

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Car I have ever had

by BabyGirl from Birmingham Alabama | July 19, 2011

I purchased my 2003 Nissian Murano right off the truck.It is Sunlit Copper just my color, I would tell all my friends to get this car I still have my BabyGirl at 165000 miles and she still looks brand new. Sad to say Hubby wants me to trade her in on a newer Murano but they dont have my color...lolol I have never had any major problems with my car did all maintance on a regular base and 2 sets of tires cant beat that got our $$$$$$ worth with no doubt. The onlt thing about the new muranos are the tail lights do not roll down the fenders and that was part of the Murano look the newer ones look just like all the other SUVs with the tail lights all the same.I rate this car a 5 star.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Just keeps on going----

by ockatiesu from Orange County, California | May 7, 2011

I have owned my 2003 Nissan Murano since it was new. My theory is you really can't love a car until you have owned it for awhile. After 8 years I can honestly say, "I love my Murano." I have had all recommended services as required and it runs as well as the day I bought it! Currently I have 120,000 miles and each one has been a joy. Other than routine maintenance I have had to replace the wiper/washer motor. That is it! Everything works and the drive is as smoothe as ever! I love the way it looks and people still think it is new. I did look over the 2011 Murano and there are interior up-grades to the material (less plastic) but I like my tail lights and sun roof better than the new version. On the new Murano the sunroof shield has to be all the way open to crack the sunroof which is annoying because it makes the car temperature hot. I can tilt open the sunroof and partially pull the shade so my car ventilates while parked. The sound system is great and although I don't have a port for my MP3 I can use it with an adapter plugged into the tape deck (yes, it has a tape deck that works)!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Worst SUV ever.

by Zaphero from Pennsylvania | December 7, 2010

I bought an 2003 Murano in 2008 with 48,000, a month after I had to get the engine replaced. After we got the engine replaced a month later we needed a new transmission. Now we just replaced the lower control arms plus in addition the shop now states that we need a new transfer case, another big expense and the suv is not running. So my point to this is I would not recommend this vehicle of this particular year horrible choice made.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Parting is such sweet sorrow

by Loved and lost from Upstate, New York | November 17, 2010

Four years ago I paid a premium for a 2003 sl Murano fully loaded-primarily to get the stablizer which was available only on the fully loaded package..certified preowned plus the certified Security+Plus "wrap". First, Nissan dealership did not honor their own warranty when they diagnosed a problem with the rear left lower control arm-claimed I was in an accident and bent it--not covered and not true. Charge $689.92. Then refused to service the vehicle for another problem since I had expressed dissatisfaction with them previously (and since the next problem would also have been covered). And it went downhill from there since I was nearing 100k miles. The warranty is probably good as long as you don't drive the car but any signs that problems are related to driving are not covered (so much for claims that you won't be spending money on repairs for years). Just to have a mechanic lay eyes on the car is at least $75/hour and any new part requires that the entire car be diss-assembled in order to look at or install something. Tires are an odd size (aka extremely pricy). At 138,000 miles the needed repairs are just too expensive and will cost considerably more than the value of the car. I loved driving the car and it is simply beautiful but repair costs so out-trumped the cars that it replaced (Saab, Volvo). I spent 25K thinking I'd be set for a long time. No such luck and a sad bye bye to my beautiful Murano.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 26 reviews

Featured Services for this Nissan Murano

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.