See Also: 1997 Nissan 4x2 Truck

1997 Nissan 4x4 Truck

Change Vehicle
1997 Nissan 4x4 Truck
Available in 3 styles:  Standard Cab Truck shown
Asking Price Range
$2,387–$7,563
Estimated MPG

17 city / 19 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Best Truck on the Road

by Nissan Man from Dallas, TX | August 16, 2012

I have a 97 Nissan Pickup with 253,000 miles on it. It is unbelievable . I have fixed nothing major on this truck and I bought it with 10,500 miles on it. It just keeps on running.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Decent truck

by Joe from | March 11, 2012

'97 4x2 with 88,000 miles on it. These trucks will run nearly forever. It's pretty basic - no frills. 2.4L 4-cyl is under-powered and with the automatic it's frustrating. Add to that it gets about 16 mpg combined city/hwy, it's a major disappointment for such a small truck and $4/gal gas. Luckily I only drive about 600 miles/month! It's not quiet. There are not a lot of choices for tires for this model with 14" wheels. If this truck had another 20hp and got another 8-10mpg, it would be a keeper. As is, it's just reliable, semi-cheap transportation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2011 Nissan Frontier

by The Boss from Merritt Island, Florida | July 15, 2011

This 2011Frontier is the 5th Nissan I've owned. They run forever, they handle great and the best part is they are relieable. I LOVE NISSAN!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best 4 cyl truck nissan ever made

by nissan man from phx az | March 20, 2009

I have owned 3 nissan pickups. Every one was great. I could haul and pull anything i hooked up to it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


231000 miles

by Larry from Auburn, Maine | September 29, 2008

Bought the fleet model- no extras, nothing to break. 231000 miles, 29 mpg ,1 clutch,changed metal brake lines this year (Maine winters kill brake lines), 1 starter, 1 water pump, fixed the rust this year. Should be good for another 11 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Its Sitting In My Driveway

by JT Puppy from Lansing, KS | August 24, 2008

truthfully you guys its a good truck ive had mine for about a year and a half and the only thing ive done to it is a tune up. i love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


very reliable vehicle!!

by Onelover from Phoenix AZ | September 27, 2007

I've had this truck for 11 years now (bought in 1996) and have NEVER had any major problem with it. Hit a few poles etc....still running and still looking pretty good in spite of it all! I've had people ASK me if I wanted to sell it and no, I did not. Takes a lickin and keeps on tickin!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Many repairs needed

by lookin'4pikup from Lawrence, KS | April 22, 2007

The water pump on this vehicle repeatedly fails. It is noisy on the road yet handles well. It delivers adequate power and handles loads in the bed well. It is stylish. Mechanically, the reliablility is poor. Otherwise it is a good vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Nissan 4x4 Truck

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.