2003 Nissan Xterra

Change Vehicle
2003 Nissan Xterra

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  2003 Nissan Xterra 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$3,796–$10,040
Estimated MPG

15–19 city / 19–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Love this car!

by Rose from | August 21, 2014

My first car ever and I don't ever want to let it go. I'm going on 150k miles and I've only had to do a tune up and routine oil changes here and there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


198k miles and still going strong

by watchingsurf from Stillwater, NY | August 4, 2014

I bought this brand new, it was been everywhere from the Adirondack Mnts, to the NC Beach. 198k miles and I have only replaced the timing belt, starter and normal things like brakes and rotors. Best set of tires for it Nitto Grappler, expensive but worth every penny, 85 miles on the tires, Mnts, Sand and road. AMAZING. I have also been re-rended Twice and each time, barely any damage, other cars totaled! She is a tank

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


We have two

by 4x4fun from Arizona | January 4, 2014

Great cars. Budget friendly four wheel drive car. Both have been very reliable. Each of my daughters have one. They feel very confident when they drive in the snow. Gas mileage not great and acceleration a little slow, but pulling trailers to go to school etc no problem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Awesome SUV

by Xterraman1127 from San Antonio, TX | October 10, 2013

Really awesome SUV I love the exterior design and the simple interior look. Only issues with it I found was the available performance. Nissan could of done better with there 4 Cylinder engines and added some kind of performance option like a turbo, supercharger or a ECU upgrade to give the 4 Cylinder engine enough power to do the things I do with my Xterra. Also didn't like the fact that 4WD is not an option with the 4 cylinder engine, but can be easily fixed with a transmission swap out of a Nissan Hardbody pickup (both vehicles have the exact same 4 cylinder engine). The interior is very stylish and easy to work with. Love how simple it is to remove the interior to do any interior modifications. Its a awesome SUV can't complain about. I plan on keeping my Xterra for a long time

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Amazing Car

by paulthebiscuit from Nashville, TN | August 18, 2013

Highly recommended, handles very very very very very very very very very very very very very very well

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


nice all around ride

by fishfinder from Georgia | August 7, 2013

Good power, good reliability, room for gear, kids, etc, overall I am very satisfied with the vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Reliable but no stranger to the gas pump

by TC from Texas | March 22, 2011

Bought this 2003 Xterra used with 100k miles. Had it 3 months now and only complaint is poor gas mileage (about 17 - 18). I have a 4dr F250 that gets better mileage. Other than that its great. But dont expect much extra headroom if you are over 6 foot tall!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2003 Xterra

by Xterra Driver from PA | February 5, 2007

I bought my 2003 Xterra new with 16 miles on it. I now have about 45k on it. I have the XE 4x4 package. Overall, it is a good vehicle. I love the styling and off-road capability - you must go with the 4x4, 4x2 is useless in any snow/slush or even loose dirt going uphill. The roof rack is handy for snowboards/christmas trees etc. With harder seats and small back seat, it is more of a college/young adult vehicle. I like how you can just sit right in (I am 6' tall) - harder for my wife to get in. Drawbacks are poor gas mileage (16mpg) and less than desirable power for large hills. The interior is cheap plastic that rattles alot, but I just turn the CD up. The only problem I had was a leaking transfer case and that was repaired with the warranty. Would recommend to a younger, active crowd. you will never get stuck anywhere in the mud/snow with 4wd low!!! Will probably keep it til it dies, which is hopefully 200k miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Sporty and Reliable

by gms from seattle, wa | January 17, 2007

The Xterra is rugged and reliable. Its a small SUV that goes everywhere - through the pass, on the beaches, city or highway. Its not a gas hog like other SUVs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best car i've owned

by terraX from seattle | January 2, 2007

the xterra is a cool, comfortable car that is rugged enough for an outdoor weekend of fun and small enough to commute to work. I really think its an excellent small suv.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2003 Nissan Xterra.


Featured Services for this Nissan Xterra

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.