2009 Nissan Xterra

Change Vehicle
2009 Nissan Xterra

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  2009 Nissan Xterra 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$10,493–$20,085
Estimated MPG

15–16 city / 20–21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

most fun vehicle to drive

by BOAT HAULER from Packer country WI | November 18, 2011

A real MAN CAVE or family vehicle. Powerful is the word. Im a 65 old Grandma who actually don' mind potholes. Absolutely fun to drive

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Something New but used

by Nissan Buyer from Baton Rouge, LA | October 29, 2010

I can't complain about my new Nissan Xterra. I love it! It drives good and so far great on gas. Very roomy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


decent vehicle

by joe car guy from North Florida | August 28, 2010

Fits a niche. A somewhat comfortable highway vehicle that can go off-road. Although not very fuel efficient for today,s market, IT HAS A FRAME!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


New Xterra owner

by Driving enthusiast from Vancouver, Canada | August 11, 2010

I am very happy with the Xterra in terms of its storage capacity and off-road capabilities. Nissan used a minimalist philosophy for its Xterra: "Everything you need and nothing you don't." They are true their word.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great looking inside and out

by kevin tulsa from TULSA | April 10, 2010

I have wanted a xterra for years, finally got one . had to track down a dark blue from another state to get it. needs usb connections inside and remote seats, but other than that has alot of nice extra features. great looking bold and sharp lines inside and out. [ that helps to keep it's newnest looks.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


No offroading 4 side airbags

by Mack from Utah | November 13, 2009

Do not get the side curtain airbags if you drive off road. I have a 2008 Off Road package. Driving off road in a national park in Utah the front seat belts locked up and both side curtain airbags went off. The truck was in no way near tipping over. It was fairly well loaded. Nissan tells me the truck acted as designed and to call my insurance company.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


very reliable

by vince from sc | October 19, 2009

im impressed with this SUV,handles very well, gas mileage is 18 city and 23 hwy serious off road capabilities. i used to own H3 , and have to say that xterra is seriour competetor to hummer family

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Understand it first, drive it second, Love it.

by 4Now from Northern Michigan | October 12, 2009

Okay guys, lets get on board here, ok? This is not an BMW X5, A Mercedes or your Dads Suburban. This is not your Moms Lexus R 350(or what ever its called). This is a vehicle that can take you nearly any place you want to go----on or off road. Please stop the nonsense complaining that the Xterra is full of plastic parts or doesnt handle well over 80mph. Who would ever even consider a vehichle like this to manuver well over 80 like a ferrari???? If you want a ferrari then get one. If you want a vehicle that can--and does perform like an around town grocery getter, casual tripper, off road hooligan, then get a bloody Xterra! People people people, we all need to stop comparing these rigs to a Bentley. We need to look at these rigs for what they are and what they can do. I live in northern Michigan and love the out doors that living here has to offer. I can take my wife and kids out into the woods and show them places that a Suburban, BMW,Expedition could never even dream of getting to. And I can do it all treading lightly. The xterra does absolutely everything that I ask of it and that I want it to do. If I wanted it to do other things I would have bought something else. People who buy these types of vehichles like a Jeep, Land Rover, Toyota FJ, they did the research and new what they wanted. All I can say is do your own research and get the vehichle that is right for your lifestyle---Me, I'm over 50 years old and my faorite color is dirt, snow and mud---with a little pavemnent thrown in on the side. I still crave the adventure that only a vehichle like this can give me and my family. My other vehichle???? a Nissan Rogue.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Nissan Xterra.


Featured Services for this Nissan Xterra

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.