1998 Oldsmobile Aurora

Change Vehicle
1998 Oldsmobile Aurora
Available in 1 styles:  Aurora 4dr sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$1,070–$4,850
Estimated MPG

17 city / 26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Best winter car

by Wes from Ontario, Canada | January 14, 2015

I purchased this car used and it is 2015 and it has 204,000 kms, but it runs as smooth as the day I got it. It is fabulous in the winter even though I have all seasons. I rarely get stuck in snow. The heated seats are awesome! I will keep this car until it cuts out. Truly American classic.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


excellent gass millage....29.9 mpg on the freeway

by owner from Virginia Beach, VA | November 1, 2012

We purchased this car used. It was FULLY loaded but it is the most economical car we have owned. On the open highway we have averaged 29.9 MPG. This is a full size sedan not some mini-car they sell today. My question, why did they discontinue the Oldsmobile?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best car I have ever had!

by Olds_Aurora98 from Norfolk, VA | July 20, 2012

I purchased this car brand new in 1998, paid 34,000 for it. Here I am in the summer of 2012, with 274,000 miles, and the car is still running strong! I have never had to do major work to this car. All that has been done is the usual maintenance, and I had to put a new drive belt on it, which by the way was a nightmare from heck. But the car has never failed on me. The car is very comfortable, and plenty of room, yet drives, and has the power of a more sportier sedan. The fuel mileage, I have learned the car, and can drive the car to get 28 mpg on the highway, but it gets 17.8 in the city, not bad for the type of car it is, and the age of it. So I would totally recommend this car to a friend! It is a shame that oldsmobile is no longer making car...This has been a great car, and I will run it till it dies!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


great car

by judgemuns from minnesota | August 23, 2011

after buying one in 1998, and it being the best car ever, I knew what I wanted to replace it with, another aurora, the last one I drove for 245,000 miles and sold it without any repairs ever other than one battery, Thank you olds best car company ever

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


GM's loaded cruiser

by spb from Newark, NY | November 24, 2010

Purchased in '03 with 78k for $8k. Fell for all the options in this comfy cruiser. Full power, great sound system, robust engine, great cockpit, thoughful details everywhere. Economy on highway was 25-26mpg, less than 20 around town. But, alas, the aluminum high compression head motor suffered the same demise as many of its kind - leaky head gasket/overheating. A known problem with these 4.0 units. It was a joy until 160k -something eventually gets 'em all...so no complaints.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Do not buy this car if it has a NorthStar in it

by WQ from Indy, IN | May 28, 2009

Loved the car when we bought it used. Sleek style, handles great, fast. But, the Northstar, being aluminum, is notorius for overheating and being expensive to fix. Very few mechanics will even touch a head/head gasket issue. We would've never bought this car if we'd have researched a little. Google it....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


a between car

by aurorafan from philadelphia, pa | April 10, 2009

the aurora i owned was never sure if it was a sports sedan or lumbering luxury car. comfortable but reliability is bad!!! i purchased as a "gm certified" used from an oldsmobile dealer, clean carfax but after one month, gremlins appeared and things never were right again! billed as the "no excuse car" but that is all i got from the servicing dealer overall a major disappointment and proof as to why oldsmobile was phased out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Solid, fun, fast car.

by Aroura enthusiast from LA, CA | May 8, 2007

Powerful car for those not ready to give up that sports car feel for a full size sedan. Lots of features; moonroof, multi-CD, great sound system, room for 4 adults and a child while not giving up that tight handling feel.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Oldsmobile Aurora

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.