1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue

Change Vehicle
1999 Oldsmobile Intrigue
Available in 3 styles:  Intrigue 4dr Sedan GX shown
Asking Price Range
$806–$5,286
Estimated MPG

19 city / 27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Decent car but eventually fell apart

by Swishergirl from Michigan | October 18, 2012

Bought the '99 Intrigue from my grandma who babied the car since '99. It had 76,000 miles and ran like a champ beside the rims giving out and need to replace all four due to the chrome peeling off. Blew ever tire at least once due to chrome breaking down. Once it hit 100,00 interior lights all went out. Replaced the whole dash board lighting. About a year ago the cv joint broke in half for no reason just snapped. When I hit 140,000 that is when I had the most issues. 3 sensors went out along with the throttle positioning, cam shaft, gas gauge not reading. Also the keyless entry does not work at all replaced the battery twice still not working as should. Total cost to fix car is about 1,500 right now. It was a decent car for the last 4 yrs but I would not buy another one. My '89 olds ran way better and hit 500,000 before it died. GM had some amazing cars in the early '80s and before but seemed to go down hill in the later years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Great first car, bad gas Milage.

by Mr. Awesome from Pleasant Hill, OH | November 15, 2011

I love this car. It has very linear power. By that, I mean that the power response to the gas pedal and the braking response to the brake pedal come on smoothly, and not in special stages. I've won races against brand new Honda Civic Si's, which have more horsepower. However, the gas milage sucks. I have averaged 19MPG in 1500 miles. The car has 196000 miles on it and still runs nearly like new. The brakes need replaced but not the cars problem. The transmission was replaced before I bought the car. Also, the back windows don't work. I don't know why, but it seems like an easy fix. Also, the cruise control doesn't work at all and the automatic lights flicker and turn off at night eventually, but manually controlling the lights fixes the problem without errors. Like many GM cars, the gas gauge is broke. Just use the trip counter. Try to get gas before 300 miles, while at 19MPG, you should be able to hit 326 miles. The included Bose audio system sounds great. However, it may be easy to blow a speaker from a high input source, like an iPod turned up all the way connected through the tape deck, so watch for that. I've driven this car hard. Drifting, speeding (135mph), power turns, etc. It's handled anything I throw at it and this is what it takes for me to trust that a car will keep me safe, and I am very impressed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Saying goodbye to a great ride

by 99OldsInrigue from upstate NY | October 11, 2011

Finally have to say goodbye to a great looking, great performing car. With all the 'issues' I've had with this '99 Olds GL, still say it's been the best ride ever. It doesn't feel like a big boat...steering is nice and tight, handles very well and is so much fun to drive! The car is great in snow and always holds the road beautifully. The Intrigue style still looks 'new'...not dated like some. Love the engine...still running great after 12 years and 160K miles! The suspension is wonderful; smoothest ride ever. The seats are great...still sooo comfortable, even on long drives. Mileage was good for a big car....average 22-23 mostly city driving. Bought a Mazda3 to 'save on gas', but the trade-off isn't worth it. When the lease is up on the little uncomfortable car with the bumpy ride, think I might just look for another Intrigue :o)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by tahoeman from Reno, Nv. | April 15, 2010

For the money you can not beat this great looking car. Drives very smooth. Will last 250,000 miles easy if maintainded.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


this car is very unreliable

by mike from | January 24, 2009

i bought my intrigue in 06 with 50000 miles. it was fine for about a year. then it just started falling apart. this car has wiring problems that nobody can figure out. it just shuts off as im driving. had to replace the fuel pump, power steering motor, 2 calipers, starter, and the cv joint all within the past year. i would strongley recomend not even considering to buy this car. mine was a 99 GL with a 3800 series motor

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Don't buy this car

by Gregory from Titusville | July 8, 2007

It's not reliable and way over priced. Avoid the GL it's what I bought and was not satisfied one bit. Be sure to get a very good deal if you really want this car. If you like this car, think twice and get a Honda Accord, they are way nicer inside and out not to mention the reliability.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


A great choice

by Student from St. Louis, MO | June 3, 2007

I purchased a 1999 Intrigue GLS with 132xxx miles. Despite the miles, the car runs and looks great. The 3.5L engine is smooth and always has enough power to move the vehicle. The suspension does a great job off providing a comfortable ride along with confident handling. The exterior has sleek curves and muscular bulges. After ten years, the design still looks fresh and I never feel as if I'm driving an "old" car. The interior is just as nice and very durable. My leather seats have no rips or cracks, even on the driver's seat (leather care products helped). The dashboard and all controls are simple, yet expensive looking. Even the accelerator has a high quality feel. My only complaint is the plastic trim around the climate and audio controls. It looks plain and cheap. Oldsmobile should've added wood or colored trim in its place. The Intrigue has plenty of room in the backseat as long as the front seats aren't all the way back. This car is great for tall drivers because headroom is never an issue. The trunk is unsurpassed, even by larger vehicles. My car is loaded with features that I love. The Bose sound system is excellent and the dual zone automatic climate control is a great addition. My car also has chrome wheels, fog lights, and a sunroof from the factory. The traction contol works well, but I would have like stability control (offered after 2000). I am also disappointed that heated seats weren't available before 2000 either. The audio controls on the steering wheel help keep my eyes on the road and the automatic headlights eliminate the step of me having to turn them on. Overall, I can't think of a better car that I could've got for the price. I continue to save money. The Intrigue is light on gas, but only if you are light on the pedal. I have yet to encounter any problems with my car. It may be that all the defects were corrected before I purchased the vehicle. I recommend this car to anyone shopping for a used sedan. It is much more mature the its Grand Prix sibling, but luckily, its not as "mature" as its platform mates from Buick. A used Intrigue should be easy to find at a good price because they are not usually on people's shopping lists.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Excellent Vehicle

by Car Enthusiast from CT | May 23, 2007

I bought this car used almost 3 years ago from a dealer who was about to bring it to auction the next day. Overall, this car has been very reliable! The 3.8L engine is tough as nails and has been known to last well over 400,000 miles! Although as with a lot of GM vehicles from the late 90's, mine seems to have the beginning signs of an intake gasket leak. I purchased my car with 63,000 miles, and now I've got almost 94,000 miles with very little maintenence issues. Although I have replaced the brakes 3 times (rotors and all), this is not 100% the cars fault. Another issue I have been running into recently is that my power window motors and regulators have been dying. 2 months ago, I spent over $300 to replace my front, drivers-side window motor and regulator (they are one unit on these cars) and now I am in need of replacing the rear drivers side one. But besides that all I've had to do is regular oil changes, a new battery (due to age) and tires. The Oldsmobile Intrigue is a tank in the snow. It has gotten me to work and back through countless snow storms and blizzards without any trouble. The powerful and tourqie engine paired up with a tight, sporty suspension, makes for the Intrigue to be quite a little race car! Overall, this has been an excellent car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Comfortable handling and ride

by edward from topeka | February 28, 2007

Car drives very nice. Seems to need very little maintenance. Interior is easy to maintain and allows for significant passenger room. What parts have been replaced were very cheap and reliable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Dependable yet Stylish

by Traveling Teacher from Charlotte, NC | September 26, 2006

This car came to me as a replacement for a well worn mini-van that died during the night. It was on the dealer's lot as a Program car turn-in and had been lightly driven and well cared for. Over the past few years I have more than been convinced that it was the perfect choice. Not only is it economical to drive but comfortable and still turns a few heads. This car takes me to the symphony as well as between the schools that I teach in as an itinerant music teacher. It has to be ready to go in all kinds of weather and driving conditions. The handling is superb and the engine still purrs like a a kitten thanks to regular maintenance. I have had only one issue with the car and that is that the driver's door panel that controls the windows and locks just will not stay in place but continually pops up. I have had it repaired/replaced three times and it still is loose and rattles in bumpy conditions. However that is strictly cosmetic. This car feels secure, drives handily, road trips like a sorority sister and is holding its looks despite its age. Oldsmobile should never have given up producing cars like this. I am sorry that they shut down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Oldsmobile Intrigue

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.