2001 Oldsmobile Silhouette

Change Vehicle

2001 Oldsmobile Silhouette

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2001 Oldsmobile Silhouette 4dr Passenger Van shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$173–$8,669

Estimated MPG

19 city / 26 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

love this vehicle

by pat from Leesburg, fl | April 23, 2014

We purchased in 2005 with 75000 miles and now have over 226,000. It is in the repair shop for the first time since we have had it for anything except your normal maintenance. No complaints from us.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very few problems,great gas mileage!

by Forever van from Saraland, Al. | August 11, 2012

My children are grown, but love the comfort and reliabilty of my van and gas mileage, so I don't want to give it up.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Stay comfy while waiting for the tow truck!

by Mom's Taxi from Hoosierville | January 16, 2011

I loved this van, because it had so many nifty features and it was soooo comfortable....but....it seemed like barely a week went by without some minor or major problem, we kept it for around 3 years. After a few thousand in repairs, we cut our losses and bought a Honda minivan with 130,000 miles, which has been wonderful and now has 165,000 miles. I miss the comfort of the Silhouette, but I would not trade that for knowing we'll arrive safely somewhere.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Great

by 2001 O.S from Baltimore, MD | October 5, 2010

Great Great Great Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Tired of my Olds GLS

by Practical Guy from Des Moines, IA | February 11, 2010

I purchased my 2001 Olds Silo GLS brand new in Feb. 2001, and also purchased an extended warranty to 5 yr/75,000 miles. I'm glad I did. I have had many, many problems with this vehicle, mainly electrical. Battery shorted out, problems with power doors, heated seats, dash and steering wheel lights that go out, cheap plastic parts that break and cost an outrageous amount to fix. I also have had to replace the head gasket at about 110,000 miles. I can't wait to save up enough to get something else more reliable. The vehicle rides real nice, when all the parts work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


I love this minivan!

by Mark from Detroit, MI | February 5, 2010

I purchased my Oldsmobile GLS with just over 95,000 miles on it and it rides like I'm floating on cotton balls. The engine is very resposive to all of my inputs and gets impressive fuel economy for a vehicle this large. I have the extended version by the way. My only real gripe with it is, like the previous review states, that when I operate the side door behind the driver remotely, the door tends open back up on its own unless I lock the door before it can. My wife is constantly trying to get the keys from me and the kids love it too. I don't know how I've gone so long without having one of these.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Gotta Love It!

by Mr Anderson from Detroit, MI | February 5, 2010

I purchased my Oldsmobile Sillhouette GLS used with just over 95,000 miles on it and I just love to drive it. Both of my kids enjoy riding in it and my wife is always trying to get the keys from me. The supple leather seats are exteremly comfortable and the engine is quite powerful for a vehicle this size. Gets better gas milage than my previuos car, a 1995 Monte Carlo Z34. The general ride is quiet and comfortable like a tall limo. Looks fabulous after a good car wash. I love it. So does the family.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I love mine

by Shannon from Moultrie, GA | July 26, 2009

My minivan does really good. Have no complaints. It has a nice and supple ride. It has great acceleration. Gives out good gas mileage. Has electrical glitch with locks and power sliding door sometimes. Hate where the battery is located. Just about have to be a mechanic if you want to change it. Overall would strongly recommend it to anyone. Thanx.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Oldsmobile Silhouette

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.