See Also: 1998 Pontiac Bonneville

1998 Pontiac SSE

Change Vehicle
1998 Pontiac SSE
Available in 1 styles:  SSE 4dr Sedan Base shown
Asking Price Range
Get Value
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Excellent Vehicle

by Bonneville Owner from Indiana | August 22, 2011

I have owned many cars in my 14 years on the road. This car was by far the most reliable I have ever purchased. It is fast, spacious, and very comfortable. The only problems I ever had were ones that could be fixed at any local mechanics shop. (belts, battery, brakes, and other problems that go wrong on any automobile.) My Bonneville has 170,000 miles on it and still runs and shifts great. I really know nothing about transmissions but the 3800 engine is a real example of American craftsmanship. I would recommend this vehicle to any of my family members. I work for the railroad NOT a car company.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Good, fast car

by Hellothere from Orlando, Fl | July 25, 2011

My 1998 Bonneville has 61,000 miles on it. Since we have owned it, which is only 2 1/2 months, we have had to change the transmission fluid, fix a crack in the fan belt, and replace the O2 sensor due to the check engine light coming on. The car had been sitting for about 2 years before I acquired it. My favorite thing about this car is the engine. I only have the base 205 HP 3.8 litre V6, but it still has plenty of power. You can merge, take off from a stoplight, and pass with ease. This is also a big car, which can fit four adults comfortably. The car's handling is just ok, with a fair amount of body lean in turns, but it is a fast family car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I'll miss her!

by tkruz from Wisconsin | September 9, 2010

Wonderful car. Has 205,000 on it and she is showing interior wear. 98 SSEI that I changed out the pneumatic suspension at 120K and had one wheel bearing go. If the wife stops hitting deer we would have gotten more. Leather seats are wore. And the nine position seats don't always work. Would love to have this car again.....sigh!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Car!

by Pontiac CRAZY MAN from Waverly, Ohio | April 12, 2010

This is no doubt the best car. Everything is good. AMAZING POWER!!!! even the SE version. Sounds very very VERY good, rides good, great in snow etc. Mine is sliver and bought it new in 99. ONLY problerm was leaking gas and that was from salt on the roads. Have no second though. To show you the power go to youtube and type in the year and model and make and you will be right in the driver seat next day no doubt! SSEi even has a supercharger. Finally, it gets way better miles to the gallon that it says.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned yet

by spy dog from | August 7, 2009

my last pontiac bonnaville SSEI had 432043 miles on it it is a fun car to drive good in winter cheap to fix and has a good crash rating so it is also a safe car plenty of power

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Good car

by joe from | January 19, 2009

Gret car overall good gas mileage ad great performance with supercharger just beware that the supercharger has a separate oil system so when you change the motor oil change the oil in the supercharger ive seen many complaints about the supercharger going out because people dont know that you have to change the oil in the supercharger with that being said this car is very reliable and it has served me well

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


My SSEI

by Jon from | November 12, 2008

The car diver like a dream and I'm confident that the motor could go for about 500000 strong before giving the only problems I have seen are with the AC system and the supercharger belt (SSEI) theu have both broken 2 times. Over all sweet car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


My Bonnie

by Girl in the Gold Bonnie from Philadelphia, PA | June 4, 2008

I've had this car for about two years now, and it currently has about 147,000 miles on it. I've had to get some work done on it (alignment, rack and pinion,few others), but overall this is a great car; its stylish and don't underestimate her speed! Pontiac should continue making Bonnevilles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Bonni car guy

by h3im3r from Minneapolis, MN | June 20, 2007

Great everyday car with nice engine power. All is good with these cars except for poor transmission life.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac SSE

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.