2000 Pontiac Bonneville

Change Vehicle
2000 Pontiac Bonneville

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2000 Pontiac Bonneville 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$1,278–$7,518
Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 27–30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

2000 SLE

by Matt from Castle Hayne, NC | August 11, 2014

I bought this 2000 SLE in 2003 with 35K on it and loved it. The handling was more like a sports car than a large American family car. Everything felt just right when I first sat in it. It has had many problems with the front end- tie rods, bearings, struts, etc. I could never go 6 months without something cropping up. Other than that plus leaking from rain. I got 285,000 miles out of it as I traded it in on a Mazda a few months ago. I drove it hard too. Oil changes every 15,000-20,000 miles with no engine problems ever. If it was more reliable, I would say it was one of the best cars made.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


this car is junk yard material

by buyer from Middlesboro, KY | December 13, 2013

I stop in a week ago to look at buying this car as a temp. car. here is what I found. 1. body out side has hidden repair damage 2.inside of the car is ok but take note, the airbag has been deployed and never replaced. engine has major leaks, and I found oil inside the radiator so that means head gasket issues, plus there is water dripping out from under the intake. 4. car has a salvage title not a rebuild title so finding an insurance to cover this car will be impossible 5.windshield is cracked completely across..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Have driven it 7 years longer than intended

by Granny from Southern Minesota | April 29, 2012

Bought used in 2002, only major expense since was a rebuilt tranny in 2010 for less than $ 1400. Major paint problem on front of hood, seems to be common to this model. Still fun to drive after all these years and 163,00 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love/hate relationship

by irishmike from New England | March 31, 2011

I bought this car in 2008, with 96,000 miles on it for around $7k. the first year it cost me $1,300 in repairs, second yr $750, this year $4000 in repairs. I do love how it runs, very, very fast, I like the power it has and it is a smooth comfortable ride. I particularly like the radio controls on the steering wheel and the automatic lights. It runs great now but it should after over $6k in repairs in three years!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Love it buuuuut

by Pancholvr from Maryland | January 19, 2011

This was one of the nicest, most fun cars I have owned, but I had to replace the transmission @98K with a Goodwrench unit at a cost of 4K+. One PW failed. Everytime there was any serious rain, the inside got wet. Loved the car, but hated the issues that accompanied an SLE "top of the line" car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Loved it and used it

by Red Lights from Ashland, Oh | June 22, 2010

Bought our Bonney new in May 2000, still have it in June 2010. Great size, sporty, fast and nice family car. Heck the battery is still original, its under the back seat by the way. My wife never liked the front seats, not comfortable for long trips with naps and the head rest is akward for her. This car is great in snow and long highway trips not to mention the road handling and I came out of 3 camaro's. The repair issues were long and expensive: uneven drum wear tie rods steering column anti freeze in the engine wheel bearings struts rear window motor air cond. bearings rust on the bottom and back of all doors rust at back wheel wells rain water thru the drivers wheather strip into the back floor well fuel tank neck rust gas cap needed replaced brake line rust brake system pump spark plug wires replaced x2 cat. converter blew out(that's a whole exhaust replacement) fuel line rusted out service engine soon light malfunctions tire pressure warning light comes on in heavy snow or high water We have looked many times to replace this car but have never found the right replacement. The size and space is great for 2 adults and 2 kids under 7.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Rob from Chicago, IL | October 31, 2009

I bought a 2000 Bonneville SSEi a about 6 years ago. It has been the best car I've ever owned. When I bought it the miles were already at 90,000 miles and now it has 183,00 miles. I have never had any problems with it. The performance is great, the interior makes me feel like im in a fighter jet with the heads up display red guages and things like that, and the exterior is sporty and looks awesome. The air ride suspention makes it feel like your in a Cadillac with how smooth it's ride is. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who wants an overall great car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


**Buyer Beware-Leaky and WET INSIDE***

by PamelaP from MN | October 19, 2006

Yes it is a nice car. Lots of cool buttons and features. Not to mention it lights up like an airplane inside at night. BUT with all of those buttons and features, there is a big downside. I have had nothing but trouble with my electronics. Both auto windows have failed and it is BIG bucks to fix. The biggest trouble besides the lights failing and the window falling down is the water problems. The trunk leaks and gets everyting wet. The whole entire floor on the drivers side front and back INSIDE get dreanched from underneath and SOAK the carpet and mats. Then you get that musty, wet smell. Real nice....I will never buy another one and don't recommend it to anyone....BEWARE and check the spare tire compartment for water when you buy. If it is wet or even damp--Don't buy it!!!!!!!You will be sorry!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Great Car

by acw04 from Clarksville, IA | August 13, 2006

I have had several bonnevilles, they have all been very reliable, the more miles i put on the 3800 engine, the better the gas milage was. All around nice car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


bonneville

by pontiac from winter springs florida | June 7, 2006

this car has many features added grey leather,am fm c/d player,steering wheel radio controls,power windows and doors,tinted windows,great a/c,very low milage,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Bonneville

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.