1999 Pontiac Firebird

Change Vehicle

1999 Pontiac Firebird

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  Firebird 2dr Convertible Base shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$783–$15,391

Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 24–30 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

Fast

by Firebird fan from Cleveland,TN | January 29, 2012

I have ls1 trans am it lookes good and is fast but if u are going for the v8 make sure it is mannal the 4 speed auto dosnt do it justic other than that awesome car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great decision!!

by foreverme from mill spring, nc | August 29, 2011

I bought this car a couple of months ago and I love it!! The more I drive it the more I like it. If you are thinking about getting one, I am happy with mine. It is made for driver comfort but passengers are not as comfortable, but it is all about the driver anyway right!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


budget performance

by mikespeed from miami | May 23, 2011

The Pontiac Firebird Trans Am may just be a warmed over Camaro Z28, but appearance in this field counts. The Firebird T/a comes to you with the same Corvette LS1 that the Camaro does, detuned to 315 HP (around there at least) and the car definetly displays its blood lines with its blistering performance. The Trans Am also takes it up a notch with very strong styling. Strong character lines start and end with a commanding presence on the road. In short, the car has the looks and the performance to back it as its positive notes. On the negative side of things, The typical GM problems reside in the vehicle. By this I mean the interior, cheap plastics reside in the cabin, although the design is simple and comfortable. The Trans Am in todays world is the 5.0 Fox body of a couple of years ago, a cheap performance bargain. One can usually be found at around 10k in relatively good condition.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


99 Firebird 3.8

by Hawksblood from Kennewick, WA | November 17, 2010

I bought this car used from a dealer in Yelm WA, overall the car looks great, but if you get into details, you find the little things that run up the cost of the car. Mileage wasn't bad for year, 114,900 about average, the body was in good shape still needs a few minor repairs and paint. Wheels were really rough, and will need to be replaced, tires were ok. The interior was in great shape, the instrumentation was so-so, I was used to a new car. For the money that purchased this car, it was a great buy. I really love it. I was a little hard on the rating, just to make sure that someone else looks hard at older cars. Happy Shopping!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by R-ChemCo from Texas | August 29, 2010

Gets great gas on highway... Looks awesome... Next to the 300zx TT... The Ws6 has a unique and amazing body style... Drives great and handels well... Fast, Nice and Amazing body style!!! 3 Thumbs up!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Sexxy Trans Am...looks perfect...drives perfect !

by alleycat from mount sinai, NY | January 29, 2010

Purchased this vehicle as a fun weekend toy...fell in love with the body style, especially my convertible...handles and drives like a 'Vette, only more practical...She's FAST, handles perfectly, and almost economical. Everyone seems to appreciate the car, from 18 year olds to 60-somethings...onlookers stare especially when the top is down...the front seats are perfectly comfortable, but the rears are only good for grocery bags and little kids...tremendous amount of features for the money...best value for a near-Vette experience, especially with the LS-1 motor...only problem I wish I were 25 years younger, as you must be a contortionist to get in and out...BUT, once inside, it's the best experience while sitting.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fierce Firebird

by American Muscle Man from New England | March 8, 2009

The Firebird V8 is powered by the Corvettes LS1 engine. This engine coupled with the handling package of the Firebird make a great combination. The first time you stomp on it you will know what I mean. Gone are the straight line days of this muscle car. I love the cruise ability with the t-tops off. I also love the roar this engine makes when approached by the little tuner cars. Great vehicle! Highly recommended for the cost:performance ratio!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Please! Not a Firebird!

by Patient Husband from Baltimore, Maryland | February 14, 2008

Firebirds have been a staple in my wife's family for decades. So it should have come as no surprise when she bought a new one in 1999. The fact that Consumer's Report said that it was unreliable and subject to frequent repairs didn't deter her. I must admit, it was a beautiful convertible that looked as if it were just aching to gobble up the road. The 3.8L 6 cyl. had enough power for her needs and the automatic transmission was a help in city and local driving. My pained question, "Why would you buy an American Muscle Car with an automatic transmission?" fell on deaf ears. Though I've given it's overall performance low ratings, this car excels on the open road, on a clear day, with the top down. There, it is a magnificent performer with power to spare. Then there are the downsides. COMFORT: At 6'1", I can't get into it with the top down without bumping or scraping something. The doors need a good deal of side clearance to allow easy entry. The back seat is useless - even the dog hates it. HANDLING: In wet or icy conditions, fishtailing on curves is always a possibility. Low clearance make speed bumps and dips at intersections serious obstacles. PERFORMANCE: Gremlins in the electrical system have darkened the electronic clock (so my alarm clock took its place) and the radio dial ("Can you find that station I like dear?"), and a problem with heat sensors automatically reduces RPM till the car rolls to a stop (a neat feature unless you are in the left lane of the beltway at rush hour.) Automatic car washes tend to leak (standard) but they often short out the daylight running lamps .. which are incovenient to replace (though inexpensive). Though it has left her at the side of the road on a handful of occasions, my wife wouldn't think of getting rid of it. So, it's my job to find a mechanic who can keep it safely on the road until it finally goes to Firebird heaven.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


better than a z28

by p-rod from nashville, tennessee | February 1, 2007

this car is a beats i topped mine @ 140 and i fet the hps on this baby. i also have a camaro but my firebird feels more comfortable and i would recomend this car to anyone who loves the rush and power of cars like this one. only one problem with this car... the view of the front is a little hard to get used to especially with a ram air hood, but u get to appreciate it after a while. its a good car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Pontiac Trans Am - great performance on test drive

by Jason from Morton, Illinois | July 24, 2006

I drove this car on the interstate and through a small town...it accelerates smoothly and it was easy to make turns, go around cars on the interstate. Not a great car for my passenger with hump on the floor - not much leg room on passenger side. Driver side has good leg room and the interior controls are built with the driver in mind. Sound system was excellent. Great ride in a classy sports car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Firebird

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.