1998 Pontiac Grand Am

Change Vehicle

1998 Pontiac Grand Am

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  Grand Am 2dr Coupe SE shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$622–$4,962

Estimated MPG

23 city / 32.8 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

6 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Oldie but Goody

by GMsthebest from Torrington, CT | August 6, 2009

I got a 98 Grand Am at auction for only around $1000 and this vehicle is a GREAT performer for that price. When purchased it had about 100,000 miles on it already and its close to 146,000 now. It has only given me a couple issues, a sensor going bad and a heater core blowing. Its got a great paint job that still looks shiny as new and its a sturdy stable feeling car, unlike the tin can junk of today. Besides brakes being a little sloshy, the car has a lot of power (mine is the V6) and is a great highway car. Definitely a great value, and if properly cared for, I think this car will possibly make 200,000 if I want to take it that far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car -- Highly Recomended

by JT from South Central PA | July 15, 2009

We purchased two of these vehicles new in 1998 and just traded one of them in. Both cars ran for over 10 years with a minimum of repairs. Major items replaced are: Power steering pump and radio on both. The alternator, clutch, water pump, several O2 sensors, and parts of the ignition system on just one of them. Most items were replaced after the 6th year. The one traded had the most repairs and 130,000 miles on it. The one we kept only has 90,000 miles on it so we expect several more years of service from it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Didn't like it

by Beem from | February 5, 2009

i had one that was used....that might have been the problem. it was terrible. there was a leak somewhere in the car that just couldn't be found and it always smelt like mold.the handling was terrible as you almost always had to do a 3 point turn in even a large space if you wanted to be about face.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Good Car so Far

by Pontiac Fan from Nebraska | September 11, 2008

1998 Pontiac Grand AM GT I've owned this car for about a month and so far i dont have problems with it. I like the power it has, its stylish, and fun to drive. Having the sunroof is a good bonus the only thing i dont like about this car is the stock radio which goes up and down screwy

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Nice Interior and Exterior Design

by eduardo785 from Reson, VA | August 20, 2007

I bought this car used in Lawrence KS and even though it has some milleage on it, it still runs great. I love the exterior design and overall appearence. I haven't had any problems with it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


This is a great vehicle to own

by Rob from Calgary, AB | March 9, 2007

this is my first vehicle, purchased in February 2007. i have the Grand Am GT and i love it so far. i got the works, CD and Cass, V6, automatic, sunroof. the car handles like a dream, and the brakes stop you promptly and very precisely. the only problem i would have are the padding on the seats are just a tad thin. but that is not really a worry, just a comfort issue. this car though, has one heck of a sound system and i feel great every time i drive it. Great Job Pontiac on this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


best car i've ever owned at 450,000 miles

by baby from new york | December 26, 2006

i love this car it got though snow storms and even though my 18 year old kid. i love this car i only paid 7,500 dollars 7 years ago for my 1998 grand am from this nice old laddie. look this is a good cars for the money. p.s. just get it , its wonderful

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Grand Am

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.