1999 Pontiac Grand Am

Change Vehicle
1999 Pontiac Grand Am

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 10 styles:  Grand Am 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$461–$6,057
Estimated MPG

20–22 city / 28–30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

Great value and style

by Old joe from Columbus ohio | November 19, 2013

This car has great styling, handles good and gets really good mileage. It is a four cylinder but has a lot of pep. It has a little over 100k miles and I expect to add 50k. There is plenty room for five people and the trunk is big. I am very pleased with this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Ponti

by James from | August 4, 2013

I saw the car and drove it , it is enjoyable to have a ride..if i would have the money i buy it..Good&Sport for a university student !!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Grand Am

by kddi from Florida | December 3, 2012

I owned a 2001 Grand Am. Bought it used in 2001. Best car I ever owned. Had over 150,ooo miles on it when I totalled it. Excellent car, never had any problems with it. Was in new condition mechanically and visually. Looking to buy another!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by PontiacZach from Philadelphia PA | July 14, 2011

If you keep up with the schedule maintenance then this car will last a long time. I own have owned a 2004 Pontiac Grand AM that was totaled and it was such a nice car I went out and bought a 1999 since a friend of mine was selling it for cheap. These grand am's are great ! My 1999 grand am has over 182000 miles and runs and drives great!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best car!

by C-dog46 from Kansas | September 25, 2010

This was my first car and I got it used. It has had no problems and I have had it for 4 years and I love ot!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


You Could Do Better

by Erica from Indianapolis, IN | June 30, 2009

When I first bought my 1999 used Grand Am it was a very good car. As the year passed on I had problems. First of all my power steering went out, then all levels of air conditioning didn't work, and last but not least my security light came on ever single day (the car thinks someone is stealing it and will not allow you to start your car for another 20 min) The security light was the worst because we fixed it for $400....then the problem came back and it was worse than ever. It's especially bad when you have to be at work or somewhere important and your car won't start for 20min. My tech said many pontiac 99 models have this security problem because a module is corroded. Overall, I pretty much spent as much money fixing my car as I paid for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


I Love This Car

by -J from Kittanning, PA | April 29, 2009

I Previously owned a 94 grand am and didnt care for the styling. I went and traded it for a 99 Grand Am SE2 It is fully loaded except leather interior. I love this car. It is truely one of the nicest cars i have been in. I would only perfer a Honda Toyota or Subaru to this. The only problems i have is i am a bit of a rough driver so i only get 15 mpg so thats a bit of a down fall. And GM needed to do a recall on the ignition switches of this type. Malibus, Aleros, and Grand ams all have problems with starting up sometimes. The key in the dash is know to be prone to having to turn over a few extra times before starting up. Other than those. GREAT CAR.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fast car and comfy

by aj from | April 2, 2009

I bought it used and it has been the best car I have owned yet. It gives me no problems and its a lot better then people think for a pontiac.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


I love this car

by Bubba from Shepherdsville, KY | March 15, 2009

As far as a stock 6 cyl. car to go out and race vs other stock 6 cyl. or 4 cyl. cars There is no real other car that can touch it. Sure theres the exceptions where mommy and daddy bought them this or that with upgrades. But as far as a daily driver that can get up and I I totally recomend. I have a 99 gagt that I race on weekends and I havent lost a race against the previously mentioned group.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Favorite Car I've Owned

by car nut from oh | March 1, 2009

I've owned a lot of cars in my time and this is one of my Favorites to fate. Im 38 years old too. I've had any kind or make you can think of too. for the money it cant be beat

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Grand Am

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.