2000 Pontiac Grand Am

Change Vehicle

2000 Pontiac Grand Am

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 10 styles:  2000 Pontiac Grand Am 2dr Coupe shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$843–$6,015

Estimated MPG

20 city / 32 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

21 out of 30 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 30 reviews

Great Car

by Paul from NT NY | April 11, 2014

I owned a 2000 GT 2dr. Loved the car. Very dependable. Very sporty ,quick car with good mpg avg 25. Great monsoon sound system, Comfy seats ,had 120,000 miles till i traded it in. VERY HAPPY with the Grand am.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Reliable and economical car

by Top from | December 10, 2012

This car is very good. You can trust it. When I test I felt that its performance is very good you will feel comfortable and smooth eventhough this American car has ever been used for more than 100000 miles, so I dicided to buy Pontiac Grand Am 2000 to be my buddy. Thanks Pontiac Grand Am 2000 for being my partner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


It's Reliable to a Fault and Fun Beyond Compare

by One Happy Owner from Pacific Northwest | June 15, 2012

Purchasing this car with 116,000 miles on it was the best decision I ever made with a car, bar none. Regular oil changes are all I've put into it for two years, and it has rewarded me with hours of delight and impeccable service. I've never had a car that handled the road so well. I think the only thing I would change is to add a little more padding to the seat, but that may have just compressed over the years. Some of my padding could use adjustment, too, so I'm not going to be very hard on it for that tiny of a thing!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2000 Pontiac Grand Am

by Forced into this from Omaha | March 20, 2012

A guy backed over our 2001 Honda Civic forcing us to buy a replacement car with the insurance money - high school age kids are driving it. Not the best looking car but so far it runs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Very reliable, runs great

by JuliaJP from Appleton, WI | March 9, 2012

I bought this car when it was 5 years old with 50,000 miles on it. I had originally test drove cheapo Caviliers and the like, but for the same price this car had a much more sturdy feel. I now have over 215,000 miles on it and have done minimal maintenance other than regular oil changes. I think in the last 6 years I've had one tune up...yeah, probably not the best but it's kept going! The only complaint is the 'service engine soon' light is always on because of some gas cap error/emission error...I've left it go for 3 years now and it hasn't affected anything. I freaking love my car and I'm scared to buy anything new because I know it will never be as reliable as this car. I currently commute 40 miles each way to work. I will run it until the rust takes completely over.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best car I have ever owned

by Grand Am Lover and owner from Gladstone | December 1, 2011

This car has been a life line. I have over 100,000 miles and have not had any major repairs come up. I love this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Grand Am underrated

by GM Owner from Florida | July 31, 2011

Pontiac may no longer be a division of GM but I really enjoyed my Grand Am. It never had engine or transmission trouble and I gave it to a relative after 122K miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Perfect Car

by bluespeed from Twin Cities, Minnesota | April 26, 2011

This car is stylish and slick. Accelerates great. Heat/ac always kick in quite quick. Must stay on track and keep true to oil changes, if not done when needed that could cause possibly cause problems later. After 100,xxx mile mark car should get a tune up. I spent $230 for a wheel bearing replacement. Gas mileage is average. Great stereo system and overall appearance of my bright blue grand am is maintained perfectly. I love this car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Only 1 major problem....

by J-man from | January 12, 2011

Overall I have been happy with this car. I purchased it in 2005 with 60,000 miles on it, and currently have 105,000. The only real major issue I have had is the intake manifold gasket, which is a common issue. I suppousedly had that fixed shortly after I purchased it, but then more recently over the summer it almost overheated on a hot day, causing coolant to bubble over and out the overflow tube and onto my driveway. After taking it to the shop they said that once again, oil was leaking into the coolant "pretty bad." So I had to get that fixed again, and its a 600 dollar job each time. I have a feeling it was not properly fixed the first time...but who knows really, the mechanic I had do the job originally is now retired. Other than that my issues have been extremely minor. Occaisionally the turn signal "clicking" noise will just randomly go off, which is annoying, but it dosent seem to affect anything. That seems to come and go. The windshield wipers will "stutter" pretty bad in cold weather when using the delay setting. Strangely, they are fine on the normal or fast setting. The windows freeze up really easily, which is no big deal, except when going through the drive through and I realise my window wont roll down, thats kinda embarassing. Luckily, I can live with all these minor issues if the car gets me from point A to point B with no other major issues, and it does. Everything else has been just routine maintenance. Starts on a dime every time, and has nice power and MPG. Besides the intake gasket thing, I really cant complain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Don't judge a book by it's cover!

by Mr Random from Upstate, NY | November 14, 2009

I bought this car (GT, V6) in the summer of '05 with 59K. A week after taking it home, the check engine light came on. The dealer was good about it and replaced about half of the fuel system (as it was a small evap leak), yet the light would not stop coming on...for about a year until the annual inspection came about. A GM dealer said nothing was wrong and did an override to make it pass insp. Light came back on!! Found out later it was the fuel filler neck rusted. During that year, interior quickly began to make rattling noises everywhere, the cruise buttons on the steering wheel broke off, the intake gaskets started leaking (common), the motor sputtered at times, and the tranny started slipping. I got about 20mpg avg when the check engine light was on and near 30mpg when off! Turn signals started clicking all over (common again), brakes got eaten up like a pizza during the super bowl, handling was as floppy as a minivan and steering wheel made funny creaking noises. The pros?? Decent acceleration when you need it, always started, had no rust even in NY salt baths, great heater and a/c, punchy sound system and VERY comfortable. Personally, worst car, mechanically, I've ever owned; my late '93 Civic w/ 305K ran better with no issues...just rusted away :(

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 30 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Grand Am

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.