1997 Pontiac Grand Prix

Change Vehicle
1997 Pontiac Grand Prix
Available in 3 styles:  Grand Prix 4dr Sedan SE shown
Asking Price Range
$33–$4,585
Estimated MPG

19–20 city / 29.1–30.1 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

200,10 miles and runs perfect

by rocket9244 from Chicago/Omaha | January 20, 2016

bought my GT two door from a car lot with 170K miles on it and was a bit scared. I figured it would last a year or so. fast forward 3 years and 40,000 miles later and she is still running like new. I drive my car from Chicago to Omaha Nebraska every month. it is 450 miles and 6.5 hours doing 75-80 mph all the way. I get around 32mpg on the highway and 27mpg in town. I have Never fixed anything except new motor and tranny mounts. I change the oil every 5,000 miles and new antifreeze every spring. she has Never stalled, not started or left me on the side of the road. I may keep this car forever and use it as a parts car for another one if she ever dies. or I might fix her up and drive it another 20 years until she becomes an antique and then use her in shows. I would buy another grand prix GT two door in a heartbeat. Great cars !!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Billy Ray

by Bill from Muskogee, OK | August 10, 2015

When I looked at this car here in Muskogee it had the dash on the floor and they were going to replace the shifter cable. Should not have been setting on the lot for sale until it was at least ready to test drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Slick and Quick

by Happy GTP Owner from | November 1, 2014

Most people look for a car that has a good balance of power, efficiency, and looks, but in most cases, they settle for only one of the three. It can be difficult in today’s automobile market to find a vehicle that can deliver at least a solid B- in all three fields. The 1997 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP does just that. It’s a car that comes as advertised, no strings attached. It’s acceleration makes it fun to drive, it’s efficiency makes it easy on the wallet, and its appearance will make you think it’s slower than it actually is. Under the GTP’s hood you’ll find a 3.8 liter V6 engine with a 4-speed transmission. Now, there isn’t much special about a V6 car. Most of today’s sedans and SUVs are equipped with six cylinder engines, standard. The real powerhouse of the Grand Prix is it’s supercharger. That little baby kicks in at around sixty percent throttle, and you can really tell when it does. If you were to ask the driver of a car without a supercharger, they will tell you the power band of their V6 sedan is pretty linear. They’ll tell you the car has the same oomph all the way through the RPM’s, but not on this bad boy. It’s like moving into a whole different world; the speed picks up and you’ll be gripping the steering wheel wondering how those cars that were to the left and right of you at that stop light are so far behind you now. Check that out, you can see your average miles per gallon right on the dash! Not bad for a car built 17 years ago. Don’t get your expectations too high though, because you’re not going to be hugging many trees with this sedan. But with an average of 19 MPG, you’ve still got enough room to talk down at Hummer owners. That kind of efficiency is enough to get you about 250 miles from where you started before the all uppercase “LOW FUEL” blurb is displayed on the Driver Information Center, despite there still being a whopping four gallons left in the tank. Don’t get me wrong, the GTP is by no means an ugly car. But when you look at it, you can definitely tell it was made in the 90s. There are no real definite lines on the vehicle, making it look more like a round-edged blob than a fast sedan. However, the slick shape and body style makes it look far better than other blocky cars being produced at the time. Combined with the black leather interior, the overall aesthetic appeal of the GTP makes a statement of definite personality, more than any other 1997 vehicle. If you’re looking for a car with fun amounts of power, adequate fuel efficiency, and a nineties’ aesthetic style, then there’s no other car but the 1997 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP. You can tell what it is up close, and you can tell what it is from afar.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Gtp

by Chris from Ohio | August 6, 2013

Bought a black Grand Prix gtp with 180,000 miles. Great first car. Fas, and reliable. You can get them for a steal too(got mine for 2,000)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Fun drive

by Tbdew1 from Ft. Wayne, IN | December 17, 2012

This car satisfies the need for handling, exhilaration, and economy. The 3.8 supercharged GTP provides quick acceleration and still manages 30 mpg highway. Mine at this point has 305,000 miles on it, don't miss any oil changes, I have changed a couple of wheel bearings along the way, but nothing else major.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


this car is absolutly great

by grand prix gt runner from alliance, OH | December 26, 2011

this 1997 pontiac grand prix gt is honestly one of the nicest cars i have ever owend. I have had it for quit some time now and it does everything it is supossed to still to this day. (december 26, 2012) Every time i turn the key it start without a hesitation i love it, and when it comes to havin fun on the back rounds and putting the rubber on the ground this car is more then enough. Quik acc. nice stability at low and high speed easy to control steering and yet responsive and it holds the road like a mother to her yung. This car truely is the one that everybody has to drive at least once!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Love my Red Robin

by ColleenC from Cape Cod, MA | July 12, 2011

I bought my Grand Prix off of my cousin for half blue book. I've had it 2 yrs and I've only had to replace the blower, a cooling system hose, serpentine belt, some breaks, and the engine light issues to pass inspection. most just maintenance. I think all in all I have only paid over 2k including new tires. Red Robin is her name and she has great handling on the road, pretty decent in snow, and has been very reliable (knock on wood). My only beef is the gas mileage isn't that great since shes got 3800GT engine. Shes worth it. I wouldn't hesitate to buy the same exact car again. I love you Red Robin!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very reliable well handling car

by GMCarGuy1 from PA | December 1, 2010

I have had a Pontiac Grand Prix and the car was wonderful. It handles well, especially in the snow. The tires are placed very wide so stability is increased. Interior is nice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Pretty Good Car

by BJ from Iowa | January 4, 2009

I bought the car at 140,000 miles, have been driving it for 3.5 years, and it now has 210,000 miles! It really does run GREAT. There have been a few issues with it though (sensors, etc.); I've spent $2000 in repairs in 3.5 years. It now needs about $600 in repairs, but I know it'll run for another 40-60k EASILY. Air is ICE cold yet, brakes last forever, tires wear great, never needs alignment, etc. Starts in THE COLDEST weather (-45 wind chill) and air works great in the hottest weather (100 degrees, 100% humidity). Very dependable, has never left me stranded. Always starts.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned.

by Sharky from St. catharines, Ontario, Canada | February 17, 2008

I owned this vehicle for 6 years and the only thing that I had to fix was A/C which was covered under warranty. Besides that no mechanical issues of any kind NONE. The only problem with this vehicle is slow automatic windows for 2d models ( my friends owns one too). This car was the best purchase I have ever made.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Grand Prix

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.