1999 Pontiac Grand Prix

Change Vehicle

1999 Pontiac Grand Prix

Available in 5 styles:  Grand Prix 2dr Coupe GT shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$2,800–$4,100

Est. MPG

18–20 city / 28–30 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

A PERFORMANCE BARGAIN!

by Car Buff from Rochester NY | March 16, 2012

These cars are great for anyone who appreciates a decidedly sporty vehicle that is also quite comfortable and practical. Four people can travel in exceptionally roomy comfort and the trunk is surprisingly large for those road trips you will want to take! For the price, I cannot imagine a car that s more fun to drive and has amenities like a good stereo, heads up display (available). It handles well and has very respectable acceleration. For those like me who want "more, the supercharger pulley can be swapped out fairly easily for a substantial power increase. All-in-all, a very fun car to own and drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2000GT What a Great Car

by JimG from Cleveland, OH | August 17, 2011

My wife originally bought our 2000 Grand Prix GT in 2002 with 28k on it. She wanted an SUV so I happily inherited it (We traded in my 2004 GTP for that SUV!!) I've been driving the 2000 GT for 4 years now and it has 176,000 miles and counting. We have religiously maintained this car and it has more than returned the favor. Although we've replaced wheel bearings, a couple power window motors, and a few other non-routine repairs, this car STILL runs great. GM did a great job with this 3.8 V6. It's a really comfortable car-my commute is 82 miles a day. I've owned a couple Nissans (240SX and Maxima) and a Chevy Lumina LTZ besides the 2004 GTP. From a maintenance cost perspective, my 2000 GT blew the others away. Repairs were needed less, and they were less expensive. Overall this may rival the Maxima for the best car I've owned. I'll probably trade it in soon for a newer upgrade, but someone is going to get a great old car that still looks pretty good. Believe me, if you're thinking about buying a new Cobalt or other small 4-door, do yourself a favor and check out a slightly used Grand Prix. You'll thank yourself later. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Grand Prix

by Anthony from longisland new york | August 4, 2011

I bought this car for about $3000 from a guy who was going into the marines. It had 119,000 miles at the time of purchase. I only had the vechicle for about 14 months and i put in a radiator, front struts,tire rods, tires, headlights a battery a radio front and back breaks and rotors and the regular oil changes.Also the front end had other major problems and made loud cracking noises when accelerating and the the body trims are falling off and the paint on the back is peeling after regular waxings. I put over a grand into it. Finally in the end the motor siezed at 127,000 miles so i only got 8000 milles out of it. Im all my 23 years of driving this was the worst car ive ever bought. DO NOT BUY A GRAND PRIX!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Best Car I've Ever Owned!

by gpgt from Oswego, NY | May 4, 2011

Had it till almost 200000 miles. The body was rotting away and it wasn't drivable anymore but other than that the engine and transmission could have gone on until the end of time. Great car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


gtp

by red from somerset, pa | February 11, 2011

very roomy, very fast, cheap and easy to mod, plenty of room for the family nd plenty of power for the man

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


1999 GTP

by jerrysalley from somerset, pa | September 3, 2010

3.8 supercharged. put an open air filter on and really hear the supercharger whine! TORQUE MONSTER! lol. fwd. spins very easily! fast. handles well. A dumb "u-bend" in the exhaust needs straight piped. very fun to drive! alot of features. very roomy. big trunk. a grocery getter than can beat your average car! easy and cheap to modify and/or fix. minor maintance. never left me stranded!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


This Car

by LCPL from Highland, Illinois | January 25, 2010

I have personally gone through 5 vechicles within a 4 year span, and this one was the hardest for me to give up. I never had a problem with it at all it was driving great even after 200k miles on it. One of the few vechicles i would let one of my own kids drive its that reliable in my mind and it doesn't look too bad either.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


GM got this one right

by Primopackman from Middletown, CT | August 1, 2008

Bought used in an auction, I've put 128,00 mile on in the last 5 years. Love the interior space and except for replacing the brake lines, it's been just tires and oil changes. Stick to the road in corners, Heater/Air conditioner is marginal and the engine is lacking in spunk even though it's a 3.8l. However gas mileage is pretty good (consistently 23-24 town and 27 highway). Just put on new tires so I'm looking forward to at least a couple of more years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


This Car Rocks!!!

by d mack from Kansas City, MO | October 20, 2007

This car rocks! This is a great peformance car. The GTP can destroy 6 cylinder camaros and mustangs. Another plus is the insurance. When you buy a camaro or mustang you have to pay high insurance just because of the name; with a grand prix the insurance is reasonable. There are plenty of performance parts for those who are interested. The speedometer goes up to 110 mph but ive gotten mine up to 130mph; so that proves that they can fly. Only downsides are: no manual transmission option, and you will have to buy premium gas but its worth it. It has large interior space and trunk space. My friend who is 6-5 can drive it comfortably. Lots of trunk space, can fit a lot of luggage. The grand prix's are front wheel drive so it does well in the snow and on ice. I have a fairly steep hill and it takes a couple of minutes but my car always makes it up there. This is a great car and if you are looking for affordable performnace this is definately the best choice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


my pretty new car

by black gtp from dora, al | April 10, 2007

i've owned a bronco II and dodge dakota...i wanted something powerful but still feminine. the more i drive it, the more i love it. mine is a '99 GTP, black/toupe interior, leather, all available options. i bought it used recently in '07. this car is 8 years old and it is still great. i'm really happy with my GTP, and i got it for a bargain!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Grand Prix

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.