2002 Pontiac Grand Prix

Change Vehicle
2002 Pontiac Grand Prix
Available in 5 styles:  2002 Pontiac Grand Prix 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$977–$7,885
Estimated MPG

18–20 city / 28–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 22 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 22 reviews

The Best Car For The Money And Performance!

by 02RedGt from Sioux Falls, SD | March 27, 2015

This is such an awesome car, it is reliable, comfortable, stylish, and great value for the price! the 3.8l v6 is a great sleeper setup for a turbo/supercharger and makes for a good tuner also. the 2 door and 4 door lineup are very good looking cars, and considering these were made from 97-03, they were way ahead of their time! May not seem like it stock, but with a little modification, these would stand up to ANY new car made today. My car currently has 297,236 (last two digits are estimated, but otherwise that is an exact mileage) and is running great, it will still do 4k rpm easily. It also has stood up VERY well against the hard winters here in Sioux Falls where they just POUR sand and salt on the road. So to sum it all up.. This is a great car, if you dont believe me, get one yourself and find yourself in this position writing a good review also!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Am looking at buying another one with under 100k

by fierosled from Menomonie, WI | April 29, 2014

I bought this 2002 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 2dr 3.8L back in 2003-2004 after my 1995 Olds Cutlass Supreme broke a camshaft in 2, & then the tranny went after the 3.1L engine was rebuilt so while looking for another used car came across this Grand Prix. Bought it for $15k with only 55k on it, 11yrs later its paid for & has 244k on it & still runs like a champ. Unsure if it will make another winter like this last one, & am considering getting another twin like mine with 150k less & some better options. Its been a great car, unsure if I want to get into anything that is smaller & 4cyl as the last time I was in a small car was 16yrs ago.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


More Bang For your Buck

by K163 from California pomona | November 21, 2013

These cars are easy to work on parts are easy to find and are affordable-ride is smooth and engines are strong-I love cars that have these engines

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Pleasure To Drive

by Grand Prix Lover from Tennessee | May 19, 2013

2002 Pontiac Grand Prix GT, bought used but really cared for by previous owner. My 4th Grand Prix, had a 95, a 98,and a 99 previously and almost cried when GM stopped production in favor of the Buick. Reliability, comfort, safety was no problem. I will own a Pontiac Grand Prix as long as there is one available.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


great car

by john.g from ct | December 9, 2012

Nice one owner car low miles 86.00fo00 runs great good gas milage for big sedan.clean car well kept tires fairly new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Yawn

by gtp from vienna,ohio | March 19, 2012

its paid for,nice looking car,i try to buy american cars instead of overhyped Japanese or Korean,the last pontiac i had was thebest car i ever had,hope this follows suit.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


my first brand new car

by Chris from | February 22, 2012

I purchased my car with 6 miles on the odometer. I loved the way it looked. The hi proformance is great. I would buy another if they hadn't changed body style.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


fast car

by car guy from warren mi | July 8, 2011

i can peel out easly in this car and it easly beats my freinds mustang gt this car has the most horsepower for the money I have a red two door gtp and the ride quality is good it is a sports car so its going to be a little stiffer suspision for the sharp turns i had a 99 gtp red two door it had an engine fire and i had full coverage so i baught this 02 grnad prix and hadent had a single problem yet this car is great for a young person and handling is good and the leather seats hold up nicely the seats feel good they hold you in place and the car has alot of trunk space

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


02 Grand Prix GT, great car

by bingo from new london, wi | April 29, 2011

Have owned and worked on many cars, this is a great car for the money. I get about 27- 32 mpg and do mostly 45-55 mph driving. the down fall is tht the upper intakes leak on the GT, which is an easy fix if you take your time. there are other small things but over all I feel that it is a very reliable car, having a 3.8 liter with approx. 200 horses isnt bad either hope if you get one, you enjoy it as much as I do mine

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Best Car Ever

by Pontiac forever from Duluth MN | October 14, 2010

I have had this car for a few years now and have never regreted it. I have 227,000 on it and is still going strong. the only problem i had was the cam shaft sensor go out and the driver side window motor...but got those fixed and has never been an issue again. I would recommend this car for a college student, or for a first car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 22 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Grand Prix

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.