2006 Pontiac Grand Prix

Change Vehicle
2006 Pontiac Grand Prix

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2006 Pontiac Grand Prix 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$3,522–$11,662
Estimated MPG

18–20 city / 27–30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

34 out of 36 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 36 reviews

best car ever.

by GXP06 from minnesota | October 2, 2012

i bought my 2006 Grand Prix GXP about 2 months ago and i absolutely love it. i am getting 22MPG in the city and getting about 27 when driving back an fourth to work. i bought it with 165,XXX miles for dirt cheep from an older gal. there is nothing wrong with it at all. i have 3 key fobs for it, i fit my kids in there with room to spare, ones in a car seat and sits behind me, im 5'8" so moving the chair up doesn't bother me. the other one sits behind the passenger seat and is in a booster seat, he has lots of leg room also. i can fix tons of stuff in the trunk. my wife has a 08 Tahoe LTZ, she likes my GXP more, so most of the time I'm stuck with the Tahoe. i hope to be driving my grand prix for another 200K.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best car I have owned so far

by gp 2006 from Saginaw MI | July 2, 2012

Purchased my 06 Grand Prix in January of 09 with 115,000 miles on it. The car was owned by a woman in sales who drove a lot of highway miles. The car has been excellent only 2 minor problems. I had to change the water pump at 166,000 miles and my keyless entry remote stopped working but that happens on most cars, the little battery connection broke from being dropped or something. Other than that its been an excellent car. very comfy for long drives and good on gas in the city i usually get about 21 mpg and the highest I ever got on the highway was 29.4 mpg. I'm at 172,000 now with absolutely no other problems and am completely satisfied. I plan on driving the car as long as I can and hopefully ill see 300,000 miles on her under my watch. If i dont look at the odometer id swear it only had half the miles, 3800 series 3 is hands down the most reliable motor Ive heard of and it is a great car for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fun Car

by Dan from Pittsburgh, PA | June 30, 2012

I was recently car shopping and had a few different types of cars I was looking at and did research on. I decided just to stop into a local dealership just to see what they had and the salesman recommended a nice looking '06 GP. I didn't know anything about the car but as soon as I took the test drive I knew I wanted it. I previously had a Toyota Solara and if I wanted to keep pace with traffic going up hill I had to turn the A/C off. This car has no such problem, It's fun to drive, very smooth suspension and about any type of bell or whistle that a person needs. I really like this car a lot and hope I can keep it going for a long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Definitely a Sleeper!

by Speed Racer from LaVale, MD | June 9, 2012

I bought this car off of the lot used with around 40k miles on it. The experience driving it is stunning. You sit in the driver seat and it feels like your ready to fly a fighter jet into combat. This car is definitely a drivers car! But it is not a passengers car. While the shotgun seat has plenty of room, people in the back are cramped. Its odd for a car of this size and class, but I can see why. The trunk has a lot of space for cargo. If you're looking for a good car to carry your family, it is a safe car, but be aware you wont have a lot of room in the back. Now for the power of this beast. I have a tendency to smash the accelerator to the floor in any car, but I love it when driving my GP. It is very tame when just cruising around, but when you want power the engine roars to live with a loud, unmistakable one-of-a-kind grunt and scream that turns the head of the car you're passing and leaving in the dust. You feel all 200 horses hit the ground and it will throw you in the seat. And that's just the stock, un-supercharged motor! The only regret i have is the transmission. It is very testy and sometimes doesn't want to cooperate, but thankfully the GM engineers have put a full 1-4 Semi-auto stick so you can force it in a more torquier gear. I would love to grind a five or six speed manual in this thing. Definitely a car you want if you like to surprise tuners. The sound quality of the stock stereo is so-so, but with a new head unit the speakers sound amazing. The A/C is very cold if you like to use it (I really don't) And it is fast to cool down. It also has a lot of hidden, subtle features, such as a trip computer, powered driver seat, and well thought out gauges. Like I said before, this is drivers car. If you want a car that is practical, affordable, and can deliver an adrenaline rush, then this is your car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Awesome value

by Love my Pontiac from | May 1, 2012

The car is stylish outside and inside, has a sporty ride. Is a quick response vehicle, very reliable and has good gas mileage for a car with the V-8 engine. I love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Pontiac fan

by Boss from Pacific Northwest | January 2, 2012

This is the best GM car I have ever owned, been a GM guy for years, chevy's and buicks, this Grand Prix is my fav by far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


sad to see pontiac died :(

by Tim from Iowa | July 26, 2011

my mom has a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix GT with the 3.8 supercharged v6 it has PLENTY of power. we get an avg of 23-24mpg with aint bad for as big as the car is with the motor size its got. audio sounds great. my only complaint is the back rest in the back seat is very uncomfortable. good in snow and all other weather. great heater. i love her car as i am a die hard GM member. great car. i recommend people to look into them. i really like this car. well built

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good Car

by Vinnie357 from Buffalo, NY | July 13, 2011

I just love my grand prix. I had been shopping for one for quite a while and finally got one for the right price. I love the sound system and the traction control. Those were big sellers for me. I also love the space this car has. You can fit 5 very confortablty in this car. So far for me as well this car hasnt had any major break downs. The worst Ive had was a rear wheel barring but it was covered by the warranty. Other than that this car has been good to me. I get about 22 mpg all inclusive in this car. I do alot of city driving and not alot of highway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Awesome Value

by Pontiac Man from Waukesha, WI | December 29, 2010

Great car! Full size trunk and plenty of room for me. Im 6'3''. And this this gets 24mpg. And its supercharged. Ive had it for 3 months and put 10,000miles on it. No problems at all. Just hit the 60k mark and going strong. The 3.8L motor can't be beat. Great value too. Really happy with my purchase. As a bonus, I got heated leather seats, premium sound, sunroof, and remote start for those cold WI winters

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Jerry from Columbia, TN | September 22, 2010

The ex-wife got the GT and I got the beater. It was time to do something about that. It came down to a Vette or the GXP. I did the buyers order sight unseen. Went to the dealership with check in hand and never looked back. This is a great ride, not quite the growl of the Vette, but darn close and definietly more pratical.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 36 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Grand Prix

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.