2008 Pontiac Solstice

Change Vehicle
2008 Pontiac Solstice
Available in 4 styles:  2008 Pontiac Solstice 2dr Convertible shown
Asking Price Range
$8,227–$19,507
Estimated MPG

19 city / 25–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

Great little car

by Danno from Pennsylvania | May 13, 2014

I've owned my Solstice for 6 months now and it has been a great experience. It is not a practical car, not good in snow, so in Pa. it's only an April thru October car. The handling is great, like running on rails, no wallow or plowing. You can feel when it's getting ready to break loose. Nothing beats running around in the summer with the top down. This car gets lots of second looks and be ready for the question.....what kind of car is that?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great roadster, if willing to compromise

by Somnambulator from Wilmington, DE | February 14, 2013

Quick Disclaimer: I bought a stick shift GXP. I didnt even consider any other configuration. Everyone knows a 2 seat roadster is, by definition, a compromise between sport and practicality. Id ridden and driven a few 2-seaters , including an 04 z4, and none were even half as impractical as a daily driver as the Solstice. We know roadsters dont have a lot of storage inside and trunk space outside. The solstice has zero. the only compartment inside that can hold anything more than a piece of paper (besides the glove box) is the compartment behind the right shoulder. it's about 7 inches deep and 5 inches high. i can fit a pair of sunglasses, a bag of change (for parking meters, and because there isnt anywhere else at all to put change except in a plastic baggie in this compartment), and some electronics chargers. That's about it. Anything more and it tumbles out when i open the door. The only cup holders are retractable behind the right elbow. There is no center console: it's a parking brake next to a giant hump. There's no plastic molds to put change and loose items. It's cheap plastic. To use the cup holders, i have to either reach across my body with my left arm, turning my torso, or bend my right arm under itself and pick up the drink with my hand upside down. It's not possible to do this while highway driving safely. And that takes me to the non-existent trunk. Lemme put it this way: with the top up there's no trunk space. WHat space you see listed on spec sheets is deceiving. 1- the top folds down into the trunk and takes up literally the entire trunk. 2- with the top up, the usable space is still only accessible if the item you're trying to stow will fit past the massive fuel tank dead center in the middle of the trunk and the lips around the outside. You see, since the top folds literally right into the trunk, the trunk has to open backwards, almost like a suicide car door. the trunk hinges are above the read bumper. it folds up from the center of the car out twds the back of the car. This looks totally awesome, but means you cant actually use the trunk for anything more than a small toolbag (mine barely fits), a few quarts or gallons of fluid, and a small ice scraper. There is no spare tire. Lastly, for such a small car, the visibility is terrible with the top up. Im constantly ducking or stopping well short of intersections to see traffic lights above. My friend doesnt have to do this in his Z4 very often. Rear/sideview mirror visibility is terrible. also worse than my friend's Z4. OK, if you've gotten past all that and are still interested, GOOD. The car is fast. really fast. (remember, GXP) And it's an absolute blast to drive. Once you get past (read: accept) the storage and visibility limitations you wont want to get out of the car. The GXP is on par in almost all performance stats with the Z4 3.1i, which is really the most-similar vehicle. The exhaust sounds good. And it's fast. really, it is! especially at the price point, and especially with a few mods/tune. Im very happy with the looks i get in the car, the sound of the exhaust, the performance, and the feel of the car while driving. The price made it a no-brainer over the BMW and its performance made the miata irrelevant.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Pontiac Solstice GXP

by Eddie1351 from Sycamore, IL | June 25, 2012

Get the GXP model. It is sooooooooooo much more car over the base model, from fun to drive to safety. And for a few hundred dollars in GM Performance parts, the thing is amazing! So much so that we bought a second one!! Yes, and this from a 3X Corvette guy (I'll get another).

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Its a head turner

by sweetmelissa from ANDOVER, MN | November 14, 2011

i love this car but you have to be ready for LOTS OF ATTENTION-I get more thumbs up from men out on the road than I ever did with my Spyder-Also there are a lot of tailgaters to see what I'm driving-there are not a lot of these out on the roads of Minnesota-

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT

by Solstice621 from CT | January 3, 2011

Who needs a price tag, when you can have a Solstice! I couldn't afford a high end car...and after I saw my solstice, I could care less. I look like hot tomales getting out of this car. Looks like you paid big money for it. People come up and talk to me about it all the time. With the top down...it's a summer ride you just can't explain...reminds me too of the old roadsters. Every summer they have antique car shows in the parking lot of our local supermarket. First time I happened by, they all thought I was there to show the car! I hope GM doesn't completely discontinue them...I want to get another one. Don't care about the two seater...there's only 2 of us. Now we don't have to cart other people, or their stuff, around. We have no trouble getting enough groceries to and from the market. There is enough space in the trunk when the top is up. Passenger usually has a bag or two at foot, for a whole 15 min drive. No problems mechanically. Only had one, tiny little sensor replaced. Paint has held up well. Interior leather still looks great. Trunk is relatively easy to manage, even if you're short. Cruise control still works. I do suggest you take it to the dealership for work. I put 93+ fuel in mine. You should too. Fun to drive, fun to see, great for spontaneous summer trips to the beach. Not bad, but not so hot in the snow...it's not intended to be driven in the snow, so I would suggest a garage. I grew up around antique cars. The Solstice is sure to be collected. So, if you buy one, keep it nice and you'll be glad you did.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good Looking Sports Car

by Retired grandfather from New Orleans | November 30, 2010

I like the car. Everyone who has seen it seems to concur with the purchase. When I decided to purchase a sports car it was my first choice. My grandchildren have already put in a request for it when I stop driving it. It many features that make it worth owning. The gas milage is very good. It is not an everyday car, the many features to let you know when something is not operating properly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun

by Never too old. from Arkansas | November 19, 2010

Great little car. Don't rely on CARFAX it's only good if a car goes into a dealer shop or if the repair shop puts in the information.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


love this 2008 solstice

by ga solstice from Lawrenceville, Ga | October 26, 2010

great looks, great car tight handling, fun to drive the only thing I don't like is having to get out of the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


FUN-FUN-FUN

by Envyus from Kansas City, MO | August 27, 2010

I was shopping for a new Envoy when I first saw the Solstice on the showroom floor...I knew then I had to have one! My husband finally surprised me with a MEAN YELLOW Solstice, I absolutely love this car. It turns more heads than you can imagine, I always get compliments on it. No the ride isn't that comfortable but who cares when you look great driving it and for a weekend trip it holds a duffle bag in the trunk even with the top down!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun for One, Not Practical for Two

by Smooth_Shooz from Phoenix, Az | August 13, 2010

This car is a great value and a wonderful top-down experience as it is quick, efficient and stylish. With one person, this car is practical enough that the fun factor outweighs any shortcomings regarding storage. With two passengers it forces you to wonder why you didnt consider anything that has some impression of a trunk. The complaints about operating the top being frustrating are ridiculous; I find it easy and logical and definitely appreciate the manual operation versus the bulk and inefficiency of mechanical parts doing the same job.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Solstice

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.