1999 Pontiac Sunfire

Change Vehicle

1999 Pontiac Sunfire

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  Sunfire 2dr Coupe SE shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,105–$5,401

Estimated MPG

22–24 city / 30–34 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Would not recommend

by 99Kay from Detroit, MI | January 31, 2014

1999 Sunfire SE. This car was given to me for free as a surprise in 2011. I was happy to have a free car considering my 1992 Saturn wasn't doing well. However, the car, off the used lot, had a transmission problem - it slips whenever parked on sloped/non flat surfaces. Also, I had to press down on the gas to start the car - maybe a vacuum leak. Over the years it needed general repair like battery, alternator, brakes. But unexpectedly need brake lines because they rusted, serpentine belt broke, then head gasket blew, and needs a muffler! After reading forums, I found that blown head gasket and other problems are common among GM brands, especially Pontiac.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


It's Ok Not the Best Not The Worst

by SportyGuy from Phoenix, Az | July 27, 2013

The car will get you from A to B, but is uncomfortable at best. Expensive to get the guage fixed. Most work that needs to be done is cosmetic at this point, but will be looking for something better a few months down the line. Don't think I would recommend this car to a friend unless it was an absolute must have a vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Good First Car

by Karp from Cleveland, OH | March 2, 2011

This was both my sisters car before it was mine. I really was not looking forward to owning it and calling it mine. However, with how cheap you can find parts for an older car like this, changing the appearance was very easy and its very easily customized. An all around good car for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great value

by branchscorpion from WV | October 8, 2009

Have had the car for better than a year and a half, no problems other than those corrected after purchase. Average 30 miles per gallon open road with no down time or unexpected surprises.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good Little Car

by Crystal from Columbus, IN | September 10, 2007

Got a real deal with this little car. It's very reliable and gets great gas mileage. It has the appearance of a sports car without the loss of Gas mileage. It's really a perfect high school car or a couple. My few complaints... The back seat is kinda small so carrying passengers back there isn't that comfy. There's only one cupholder up front. My biggest complaint is that mine didn't have power windows/locks. :( But, it was comfortable to drive! And you just feel good driving it. Loads of storage, huge glovebox, huge trunk, center console. And the gear shift is super nifty. So, I really like it and I think it's a great little car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


A great car

by bearkatkitten from Austin, Texas | July 23, 2007

I've had my Sunfire for eight years now. She's well traveled and have no problems with her really. First year, the starter failed, but got that changed. Had to get the brakes fixed about three years ago, but if you've had the car for that long, brakes do go out. There was one recall for the ignition... easy fix. All and all, I've had no problems with the car. She's got a quick get up and go speed. She handles curves easily. My only complaint might be there's only one cup holder in the front and it's in a weird spot. And, it's also small. It's too close to the gear shift. The trunk is plenty big. I like, the fact, that you can collapse the back seats to make more room in the trunk should you have something long to put back there. Plenty room, especially for us tall, long legged types. The fuel gage is a little funky. When you've got maybe a quarter of a tank left, the lever keeps moving below the line to where it says it's empty. So, you don't know exactly how much you have left until you push on the brake and it moves back up but then moves back down just second after you push the brake. Gets great gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Don't Waste Your Money

by Never Buying Another Pontiac from Eastern U.S. | December 19, 2006

Extremely unreliable. I've had the car for 3.5 years, and for the past 2.5 years, significant problems appeared quite often. These include problems with the transmission, ignition, anti-theft system, and engine. In the last 4 months, I've had problems with the ignition, anti-theft system, and engine and spent about $2,000 to fix these problems. Of course, it didn't end there. The car seems to be having engine problems again, and I refuse to spend another $500+ to fix it, so I'll be buying a new car as soon as possible.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


hi

by jessie from mississippi | July 29, 2006

i love this car its great i think every girl should have one it looks great and handles nice and when you drive with the top down omg i love it thats all i can say i donno why ppl don't like it but i do

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Sunfire

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.