2005 Pontiac Sunfire

Change Vehicle

2005 Pontiac Sunfire

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2005 Pontiac Sunfire 2dr Coupe shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,521–$8,529

Estimated MPG

26 city / 36 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

Sunfire

by Pontiac Owner from New Canton, IL | February 22, 2014

Although some people don't like the Sunfire, my experience was really good, I bought it used at 48,000 miles and the car lasted to over 200,000 miles. When the car was young it looked great ,had get up and go, and got great gas mileage. The car served me well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great starter car

by O from Tulsa | October 28, 2013

This was a great car that held together well. I bought it used with about 12,500K miles on it in 2006 and recently sold it with about 106,000K miles on it. Everything worked well for about the first 50K (62,500K), I even used fully synthetic blend oil to give the car a little extra life. My problem is what you would expect from an american made car in this range. Cheaply made interior that started to peel or fall apart around 80K miles, the lumbar spring broke in my seat. (I'm athletic and not a big guy at 5'11 183) I had to fix the tail pipe 3x times, engine started loosing RPM's and gas miliage suddently, window motor on the passenger side died, and the CD player broke. Honestly all of those problems are cheap fixes; however, like anything else nickle and dime fixes do at up over time. Great started car, no major issues but keep in mind this is american made so nickle and dime problems are to be expected down the road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2003 Pontiac Sunfire- First Car

by Musicnerd from Gower, MO | October 24, 2013

This is a very good car, I've had mine for a month and a half and it runs great and gets exceptional gas mileage. The exterior of the car is sleek and nice looking but the interior isn't the most attractive. The car drives smooth and the seats are comfortable to sit in not to look at. I would recommend this car to a friend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


most reliable car I have ever owned

by driver from | November 30, 2012

best car I ever owned, great gas milage, and no issues , 170k on the original motor and trans, just rutine maintanance

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


horrible car

by becca from des moines, iowa | May 21, 2012

2005 sunfire, got the car in 2006 with 19,000 miles on it. the car now has 50,000 miles on it. we have replaced the motor in the drivers window, i would roll down my window and it refused to roll back up. i know am trying to figure out what to do with my gauges. the gas gauge has gone completely out (needle doesn't even point to scale) and now my rpm gauge is starting to go out. the muffler jumps around and squeaks. my trunk was non function before we fixed it (it wouldn't close after opened) and on certain days i have problems accelerating. i have had no problems with the engine or tranny. have had frequent oil changes, tire rotations, etc. the only positive thing i can come up with for this car is that all the problems seem to be minor and a somewhat cheap fix. sad that a car with 50,000 miles on it can have this many problems. never would i suggest buying a sunfire.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Perfect Sporty Economy Car Ever

by boogians from Salisbury, Missouri | April 28, 2011

Love the overall style, with the exception of the interior placement of cup holders, which tend to interfere with ac/heater controls. The sporty front end design looks tough yet classy. Reliable 2.0 engine has quick response while maintaining 31+ mpg. Back seat area will comfortably seat 2, but with it's low inlayed design, entering and exiting can be difficult, especially for older persons. With a few design upgrades it would be the perfect package. Hope Pontiac continues to manufacture the Sunfire.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Very reliable like others I have owned.

by lv sprt kr from Modesto,ca. | November 7, 2010

This car has a very nice body style,comfortable sitting behind the wheel,and good factory paint job.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Good car

by Tall car guy from | July 24, 2009

I bought this car at a collision center, it got in a right side by the front impact. The people before drove the car in; the guys their did a excellent job rebuilding the car they do a great job working on cars. Even though it was in a wreck it works very very well. The only thing i have with this car is i am 6 foot 3 and it is hard for me getting in and pressing the brake i have to put my leg sides to do. The car handles great the exterior style is a cool sporty car, interior is nice but my car doesnt have cruise control or a keyless entry. The engine in the car sounds fantastic for its sizes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


pretty nice car

by biff from bel air, md | July 20, 2009

Bought '04 model 36,000 miles in early 2009. Have put about 10k miles on it in 4 months. A bit sportier looking than the Cavalier, getting around 31 combined mpg. The 4 cylinder is surprisingly peppy when passing. Appears to be built well. No problems to report.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Old reliable design

by Sunfire driver from Cleveland, OH | March 9, 2009

This car is basically the old Cavalier design that was used for a decade. As such, Pontiac knew what they were doing with this one. The low center of gravity, and streamlined design make for fuel efficiency, speed, and stability on all kinds of roads. The Opal engine, has quite a kick for a 4 cylinder! The interior is spacious and provides a wide view of the road, with plenty of leg room. For it's class of car, this is an excellent ride.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Sunfire

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.