2008 Pontiac Vibe

Change Vehicle
2008 Pontiac Vibe

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2008 Pontiac Vibe FWD Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$5,809–$12,337
Estimated MPG

26 city / 33 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

Unbeatable value

by Bearman from Newfoundland, Canada | March 19, 2014

On my second Vibe. Bought both used, when they were 4 years old. Drove the first (it was an '04) for four years and didn't spend any money on repairs, just tires and brakes. Had my second (the '08) for two years now, same story. Little engine is very willing and great on gas. Interior is huge and fold-flat seats great for camping and hauling gear. Driver's seat could be more supportive and wear's a bit thin on all-day road trips but that's my only complaint. I like the first generation (04-08) better than newer models, otherwise I might consider another in a couple years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good Deal

by gas milaege crossover from Watertown | May 1, 2012

I loved my first pontiac vibe soo much traveled over 200,000 miles with it and needed a vehicle that wouls get good gas mileage at price I could afford. This car fit the bill... and fits my checkbook! Love it's versatility and space as well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


good buy

by capt.harry from hosuton | December 12, 2011

bought used 3 mo. 50k miles, solid grocery getter, ecconomical, impressed with the quality, rebranded Matrix, small but comfort OK, busy ride due to short wheel base, & more road noise then a mid size, but if you need an exconimical fair priced & dependable car consider the vibe

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I woud not buy this car again.

by san from ca. | October 18, 2011

Does not handle well. Uses too much gas when air-conditioner is on. Car heats up on the inside if the sun is out. It is very noisy ride.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Almost Perfect Vehicle

by MrLuddite from Minneapolis | June 11, 2011

2nd Vibe. Ex-wife has the 2004. Only bad points are harsh ride (I suspect due to tires that promotes great gas mileage) and electronic gauges that become invisible in sun light. Otherwise, my 2008 has been 100% trouble-free in 50,000 miles. I have slept in it (comfortably) in National Parks, have used it to pull a trailer, loaded with a motorcycle, 5,000 miles and have driven it across North Dakota with 4 passengers and their luggage at 75 mph. And driving very conservatively, I have achieved 40.2 MPG in combination city/suburban driving. And....I think it's a pretty good looking car for it's size.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best car ive owned

by lisa from saint louis, mo | September 12, 2010

got my 2008 used with 27000 miles. i love it. i am long-legged and still found the drivers seat to be comfy. great gas mileage. theres lots of storage space, yet it handles like a compact car. iv always had small cars, and i was a little worried about getting used to this one, but it zips around with the best of em. only had it 6 months, but no probs. my mom has a 2009, very reliable, which was the selling point for me. the cup holders are too close together. thats the only thing i can complain about. its really a toyota with a pontiac body. and you know toyotas reputation. and it was made in california.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I love my Vibe

by jeffsa from Louisville, KY | August 16, 2010

This is the best little car ever. I haul two dogs and two kids in it. I haul 9-foot garage doors in it. I haul 16-foot pieces of trim in it. It gets 27 mph in the city of I am careful. I am 6' 5" and the car is amazingly comfortable. The computer went out on mine at 32,00 miles or so. Under warranty. Still .... Also, controls are a bit awkward. Only complaints. Bought it used, 21,000 miles, was a rental car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2 time owner

by livin life to the fullist from Kearney Nebraska | February 27, 2009

This is the 2nd vibe we have owned 1st 2006 loved it so much we my wife got rear ended and no major injuries we bought our 2nd a 2008 just like the 1st and it is great also great mileage and fun to drive

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


this is the worst car i have ever owned

by geo00 from wisconsin | February 7, 2009

I bought this car used from a pontiac dealer with 65000 miles. It is a 2004 model with awd. In the last 15 months i have returned to have bearings replaced in the awd coupling,again for seals in awd,again to determine that the awd is not working at all and will cost $2000 to fix. At this time there is bearing noise again in the rear end. Cruise control ejected it's on/off switch and o2 sensor is defective. What a clunker.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


too many problems

by stef from | November 19, 2008

We bought our vibe 11 months ago and it has been into the dealer 6 times for major repairs including oil leaks and a new computer. I loved this car when I bought it, but i have been very disappointed in it's reliability. we will be trading it in on something better

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Pontiac Vibe

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.