2009 Pontiac Vibe

Change Vehicle
2009 Pontiac Vibe
Available in 4 styles:  2009 Pontiac Vibe FWD Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$4,833–$11,841
Estimated MPG

20–26 city / 26–32 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

38 out of 41 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 41 reviews

Best Little Mommy Car

by Skydancer1992 from Salt Lake City, Utah | April 20, 2016

I have owned this car for four years and have been overly impressed with it. I bought it when I was single and it suited my needs perfectly. When I got married and had my first baby, the car just continued to make sense and be the perfect fit. The easy rear car seat anchors are a feature I just cannot imagine living without and the side curtain airbags give me a sense of security knowing my family is safe. I have never had a problem mechanically with the car, outside of regular maintenance, since I purchased it and, if I could, I would purchase another one without a second thought. I have been looking to upgrade and even brand new cars do not seem to compare. I would recommend this car to anyone who likes the versatility of an SUV, the handling of a coupe, the safety of a mini van, and the fuel efficiency of a subcompact. Truly the best car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Love it!

by PostiveVibes from Vermont | January 14, 2016

Bought this cute little hatchback about a year ago and its the best decision I've ever made! Handles great in the snow, very reliable, and always a smooth ride. Made on a Toyota line so parts are easy to find and very cheap.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


My second Vibe!

by seb0168 from Denver, CO | December 18, 2015

I have had a 2009 Vibe GT for 2.5 years now. I bought it after four years of owning a 2003 base Vibe (I wrecked it). That's almost 7 years of driving a Vibe! I have very few complaints about this car. The GT is superior to the base Vibe, although I loved the base Vibe too. The subwoofer in the GT is beefy. The car handles very well and has great power. My only compliant is that the car doesn't respond as quickly or accelerate as well at the higher altitude here in Colorado. I miss my super speedy engine I had at sea level. The low profile tires also do poorly on snow (I haven't tried snow tires) and the low body kit makes ground clearance difficult at times. Other than that this car is solid. I've put 40K miles on it in 2.5 years (that's a lot of road trips) and it's done beautifully. My 2003 Vibe never had any issues even at high mileage. If I hadn't of wrecked it at 170K miles it'd still be going strong. I hardly have to do any maintenance to my GT. It's at 114K miles and running strong. I know this car will run well far after the loan is paid off.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


One of the best

by akollipa from Northville, MI | November 18, 2015

I drove one of these for a bit over two years, and no issues ever. I owned a base model 1.8L with a five-speed manual. The manual transmission ensures more power reaches the wheels; you can spin the tires easily should you be inclined to, and you'll get a nice chirp from the tires with high rpm shifts. The clutch also catches very predictably and is very forgiving for anyone learning to drive stick. VERY nimble in the snowiest Michigan winters. Also no need to downshift to pass other cars on the highway. I've calculated my fuel economy to fall in the 31-34mpg range (about two-thirds hwy miles), and I consider myself a rash driver. This car is pretty much devoid of electronics save the radio, so nothing ever goes bad. The seats fit me well (I'm 6') and give enough room to comfortably reach the pedals. The back seat is fairly cramped. Having the shifter in the dashboard isn't particularly aesthetic or ergonomic, but I adjusted. Plenty of cargo room with the seats up, and plenty of space to move furniture with the seats down. Unfortunately, I totaled mine, but I was able to walk away.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


get one of these !!!!

by CCancel from Sacramento CA | August 25, 2015

I am at 278,000 miles on this car - it does burn some oil however it has been a very dependable vehicle... I am sold on this car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Oil burning at 70,000 miles

by 2 Time Vibe Owner from Detroit, MI | June 18, 2015

I had a 2004 Vibe that I loved and performed well with absolutely NO major repairs when I traded it in on a 2009 model. This car had a breakdown in the ABS Brake Wheel Sensor that cost $800 to fix but the ultimate problem came at 70,000 miles when all of a sudden I was losing oil at a rate of 1 qt per 1,000 miles. My mechanic said that there is a design flaw with the pistons and they become scored and pitted and oil is lost in the engine and burns there. There will be no visual signs of oil leakage or burning. I was so sad to trade in my Vibe for an new vehicle as I was hopeful to drive this car over 100,000 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Jack of all trades!

by VibeGuy from Florida | May 20, 2015

This is my second Vibe, first was a 2003. The car is truly a jack of all trades. While not particularly great at any one thing, I can't think of another car that can do all the things the Vibe can (except for the Toyota Matrix of course, but it loses a few points in the exterior styling department). This car is my cargo van, pickup truck, recreational vehicle, commuter car, reliable transportation, and tow vehicle, all rolled into one. One day, I need to make a service call for my business, I load up two ladders on the roof, fold the back seats and front passenger seat flat, fill it up with tools, tie them down with the built-in heavy duty tie downs, and go! The next day, gotta make a sales call out of town, put the seats back up, take the ladders down, and now I have a respectable looking car that I can drive 60 miles without burning too much fuel. Later that night, maybe dinner out with the wife. Next day, throw the mountain bikes in the back and head for the hills. Day after that, hitch up my 16' fiberglass boat and go fishing. And then maybe some kayaking later on, kayak on the roof. Gotta pick up a new washing machine on the way home, big screen TV, no problem! Can you think of another car that can do all of this SO WELL, and still look good doing it?? Reliability is phenomenal, parts are cheap and readily available from Toyota if the local Pontiac dealer doesn't exist anymore! Don't get me wrong, the car is not perfect. The 1.8L version is SLOW (I have the 2.4 this time around, much better for darting in and out of traffic). Fuel tank is tiny (especially on the AWD model), so lots of gas station stops, but the fillups are cheap. Fun to drive, but it's definitely not a sports car. Comfortable, but definitely not a luxury car. Fuel economy is better than a truck or van, but not up to par to similar sized 4 cylinder cars. But hey, for this kind of money, again I can't think of a vehicle that can replace so many others and still look good doing it. And it even has a 110v household AC outlet in the dash! I prefer the Vibe over the Matrix simply due to the styling. The Vibe looks like an adult could drive it, while the Matrix looks like it was designed for either a 16 year old wannabe street racer (09 and newer), or a 95 year old widow (08 and older). Interior and everything else about the car is virtually identical, so to each his own. Either way, if you need a truck, van, and a small fuel efficient family car at the same time, but can only afford one car, there aren't many choices on the market. This is one to strongly consider. Drive the 1.8 AND the 2.4 before buying, and stay away from AWD unless you REALLY need it (like you live in Alaska or up state NY or something), as the reduced size fuel tank, reduced fuel economy, and increased repair and maintenance costs aren't worth it for 1 or 2 snow days a year. (And unfortunately cars.com didn't have an option for "ALL OF THE ABOVE" under "Primary use of this car", I just picked one at random. The real answer is all of the above, which is really the best reason to buy a Vibe)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2009 Vibe AWD Reverse and Driveline Issues

by motogross from NW Arkansas | February 20, 2015

I purchased this car at the end of November, 2014 with 120,000 miles on it. I did the Carfax and AutoCheck reports and both had stellar results with no issues on the car. The selling dealer said it was a one owner and traded in on a new luxury car. I have had a few Toyota Matrix models and currently own an '09 Vibe GT and an '04 Vibe base model. All have been fantastic solid dependable cars - BUT, we received our first snowfall and it was my first chance to check out the AWD for ice and snow. Sadly, my AWD makes loud repetitive banging sounds from the rear end when the AWD is prompted to kick in (front wheel slippage). I can hardly believe it being Toyota's reliability history. I have also noticed in these slick conditions that it will occasionally pop out of reverse and BANG back in. Wondering if it is related to the AWD not functioning completely? I have only put 2300 miles on it since purchased as I bought it for the snowy days with all our steep hills here in NW Arkansas. Blows my mind. A call to the dealer tomorrow is in order! I do know that many brands have extended driveline warranties over the standard 100,000 warranty. Got my fingers crossed. This hopefully will not discourage anyone from buying a Pontiac Vibe (Toyota Matrix), as they have all been fantastic other than this AWD with serious major driveline/transmission issues.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


my vibe has been a success so far!

by lynn from erie, pa | August 17, 2014

I purchased this vehicle just recently in 2014 of april! Had 103, 105 miles. Now currently up to 170,022 . Such a fantastic car but seem to have problems with the car as far as a rattling noise every time I press the gas to go full speed up to 40 & up. Also does this thing with the ignition where you turn it completely on and it makes a spasm noise real quickly and starts up. Some people have same issue .some do not. But I love this car I would buy another one! Not sure how long the engine lasts though for toyota. The car is well taken care of!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Wish the Pontiac Vibe was still made

by johnj from Northern Vermont | February 5, 2014

One of the best cars we have ever purchased. Since new this car has been dependable and a pleasure to drive. Very low maintenance, 95,000 miles before we needed the breaks replaced. Other than that no maintenance other than oil changes. For a small engine was very peppy even with a/c running. Averaged 30.8 mpg. Even in -30 degree weather started right up. Car was crushed in an ice storm in Vermont. Don't think we will find a car as dependable as it was.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 41 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2009 Pontiac Vibe.


Featured Services for this Pontiac Vibe

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.