1999 Porsche 911

Change Vehicle
1999 Porsche 911
Available in 4 styles:  911 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$11,946–$29,418
Estimated MPG

17 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

They always draw a crowd...There is No Substitute

by fedman5 from Akron, Oh. | February 26, 2014

Have owned 5 Porsches so far and am on my way to the 6th. They are fun to drive, efficient in manner, and smooth running. These cars will run right up to redline with out a hiccup, judder, or even a pang of spasm or strain. They are precision made and it shows through. Great even braking. All of this from a small 6 cylinder motor. Just think when they make a flat 8!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


great buy!!!!

by gio from lancaster ca. | August 10, 2013

i just bought my 1999 porsche 911 996. i love it. the acceleration is amazing. if i have any complaints is that it isnt the most comfortable ride and you can hear and feel the motor loudly, but i personally like the sound and feel. the stereo is also very cheap. but i purchas the vehcle for performance and the name. it is a very good looking car. best performance car for your buck, for sure. it can handle a corner better than most cars and it is fast. im glad i traded my infiniti g35 for this 911.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


1999 Porsche 911 Carrera

by Kaiser Chief from Charlotte NC | July 24, 2013

Having had the opportunity to thoroughly educate myself on the tiptronic v 6 speed with test drives of both vehicles and then with the real possibility that I have to choose the 6 speed just because I did not want to give up on my aging "racer" status just yet. I was surprised, very surprised that the tiptronic can do as well if not better than even the most swift footed testoroned male out in the real world and that being your average main street stop light. This 911 took of like a rocket and the poor Mustang owner who had the misfortune to pick a soon-to-be Porsche owner experiencing his first rip off the line, became a sad faced Ford person. But worse was to come for him, as, realizing that another stop light loomed, decided to bow out the contest by moving into my lane thus avoiding another embarrassing match up at the light. This car is blisteringly fast and will not disappoint. Best $28K that I have spent in quite some time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Pure Pleasure

by Sai from | July 1, 2013

The only thing I wish was the new headlight styling which is why I gave a 4 star. These cars are best driven on either narrow windy roads or highways. Sheer pleasure when I join highways at an intersection as I can get the pleasure of both. You gotta drive a Porsche if you like to drive. I have owned two Porsches. A 1984 944 and now a 1999 911. I'd rather drive an old Porsche than any new car for that price anyway!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Car for the Price

by Cal from | January 27, 2013

I was looking for a used car that was around the $20,000 range that would stand out and be a blast to drive. This car fits that description perfectly. At first I didn't even think about Porsche's, I was look for maybe a early 2000's lotus or an old TVR, but once I stumbled on the 996 I had to give it a test drive. It can go from 0-60 in around 4 to 5 seconds depending on you and the shape of the car. It can reach about 180 MPH as well. It has a ridiculous amount of grip, and isn't too painful on bumpy roads. The drawbacks are; due to the bucket like seats, car rides over an hour long will hurt your bum/back, when it snows or rains your daily drive turns into a drift contest (which for me is good), and the default radio is a bit low quality (only costs around $200-$500 to replace though). Overall there aren't very many, if no, cars for this price that will garner attention and be a blast to drive. I would recommend it to anyone that wants a great handling car, with good acceleration, and who can withstand a little bit of pain on those very long journeys.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


a real hot rod

by micro from orangecounty | January 21, 2013

a great car , very sound n fast, mass air sensor goes out every 3 years, know one knows why.I drive it daily.It is a very reliable car,its my first one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Totally reliable AND fun

by Porsche convert from South Carolina | October 28, 2012

Best of all Porsches I've owned. Best of all other sport cars, including BMWs, Lotus, etc. The new body and engine are incredible, more spacious, easier to drive, more fun and faster. It still looks very current today, and this model looks the same for 4 model years after this one. Reliability has been great for me, with lots of miles. I get lots of attention nearly every time I'm out in it. The value is quite good, when you consider what you are driving and how it holds its value. If you like sports cars and haven't driven one, do. You will never look back. Enjoy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Found the car at last

by Limey from Maine | September 2, 2012

I have spent several years looking for the combination of 911, Carrera 4, cabrolet, manual shift and low mileage (<30,000). Finaly found the vehicle. I have owned a couple of Porsches in the past, but was always impressed with the "964" vehicles produced by Porsches. Great power, great fit and finish...a true sportscar. This vehicle is extremly (show room clean). The only issue was the tires..alittle worn with flat spots. She runs great with new skins. My only concern was the potential IMS issues. I gave the owner a new oil change so that I could analyze the oil for potential debris. There was no problem, but I do plan on having the IMS bearing changed soon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


No substitute

by Jon from Chicago | October 1, 2007

You can buy other cars to have fun, but if you really want the ultimate, buy the Porsche. The 99 looks the same as the next 4 years, and it's the best bang for the buck. Want to feel like James Dean? Get this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The Everyday Sports Car

by Porsche Enthusiast! from Washington, DC | July 31, 2007

Porsche does an amazing job at bringing the everyday car and the high end exotic sports car together. The power, handling and braking is unparalleled in it's class. Once you drive one, you'll never turn back. Make sure you purchase colors like Black, silver, gray and red... other colors tend to be harder to resell. Steer clear of automatics/tiptronics. Who wouldn't want the 6spd manual!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Porsche 911

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.