2001 Porsche 911

Change Vehicle
2001 Porsche 911

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  911 2dr AWD Coupe Carrera Turbo shown
Asking Price Range
$7,870–$54,466
Estimated MPG

15–17 city / 22–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

01 turbo

by russell from columbia,sc | March 1, 2013

I would like to thank Larry Williams at Hiline Motorsports for his help in the purchase of the car. I found that he made it a easy transaction and his knowledge about cars was very helpful. I will look to him for my next car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Want great fun for a reasonable price

by GPa Rod from Phoenix, AZ | July 9, 2012

When I was a young man I owned a Porsche (early 1970's), it was OK. Now that I am a GPa this 911 has been the greast car for pure fun of driving I have owned. There have been 450SL's, Z's, Cadillac's to Turbo-Diesel trucks. This is the "one". Never mind what you hear about what could go wrong. They have been building a great vechile for decades. I bought this one used and purchased a great warranty, I have had small issues. They all are fixable and never has anyone not like my ride.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best affordable sports car out there...

by Fast Kevin from New York | January 19, 2012

Beautiful car that is fun to drive. Handles great and is a joy to drive on the highways. good gas mileage for a performance car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Car for the $

by NatMoody71 from Bay Area, CA | October 20, 2011

I purchased a low mile 2001 911 - a great way to get yourself into a high end sports car for low $'s.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


IMS Failure

by 996tt from | September 30, 2011

For all of the reviews relating to the IMS or IFS, this does not apply to the Turbo, GT3 or GT2. As far as failures to base 996, it is a very real problem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


best car i've owned

by zigi from ct | September 19, 2011

beauty classy 911 look perfect acceleration and speed very nice handing perfect braking acceptable fuel usage

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


great car for the buck

by steve from boston | October 18, 2010

Replace the IMS bearing, Rear Main Seal and look at the clutch while you're there. Both problems addressed, you are good to go for good. Short money for this car, unbelievable performance and sound, comfort good, all you could want. Daily driver.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great car but....

by PorscheLover from DC | July 9, 2010

Do your homework. The intermediate shaft bearing failure rate is high and requires a new engine! Google 911 IMS faillure. It applies to 1997-2008? cars including Boxters which use the same M96 engine as the 911. Just as important, the rear main seal fails often in these cars. Again Google 911 RMS failure. Either get proof these repairs have been made or move on. A new Porsche supplied engine doe NOT fix the problem it will happen again. The engine needs an aftermarket custom bearing. You will learn who the suppliers are when you do the search. This is a gr4eat car but take care in your purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


so far so good

by rossandbeth from Lyons, Colorado | May 14, 2010

An '01 with 62k, everything working as expected. Note the requirement is to run 93 octane, which is not cheap, but will accept 91 as engine has anti knock electronics. Some carbon fiber trim is de-lam but looks to be repairable. Stock handling is jaw dropping un-believable. Living in mountains the AWD for me is a must, with good snow tires I crossed continental divide in snow storm and I was passing just about everybody on I70, didn't expect that. The real question to ask yourself is why didn't I buy one earlier.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Be wary!

by Mike from Durham, NC | February 16, 2010

The 996 model has a common issue known as "Intermediate Shaft Failure" (ISF). The bearing(s) inside the intermediate shaft commonly fail(s) at as little as 10k miles, and in my case, at 65k miles. It requires that the entire engine to be replaced ($30k from the dealer) IT IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM!! I advise anyone who wants to purchase this car to research this problem before buying. This problem is not limited to the turbo model, as many carreras/carrera 4's etc have this problem also.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Porsche 911

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.