2003 Porsche 911

Change Vehicle
2003 Porsche 911

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  2003 Porsche 911 2dr RWD Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$15,705–$50,677
Estimated MPG

15–18 city / 22–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

?? IMSB ??

by Jeph from Florida USA | December 16, 2013

"All recommended services are complete"??? What about the IMSB?? No description or account of a Porsche 911 made in this era can be taken as complete without a specific statement regarding the status of this specific car's Intermediate shaft bearing (IMSB). IMSB failure results in catastrophic engine disintegration for which the manufacturer, in its successful attempt to totally discredit itself, has refused to 'make good' on the design error. Used 911 buyers must: Know the car has not had IMSB damage to date; know the bearing has been replaced; have a warranty covering the IMSB "issue". Legit dealers will meet this requirement. AND STATE SO.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Finally an affordable deam car

by VAPOR from Washington ,DC | December 7, 2012

The 966 models are devalued by the perception . Being the first generation of liquid cooled motors there was a 1% catastrophic failure rate of the motor based on a simple $2K retrofit with an after market part. Build that into the negotiation and the cars are bullet proof . Daily drivers that can go right to the track.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Bargain of the century

by Neun-Elf Fan from Reno, NV | September 1, 2012

Porsche 996 Turbo X50.... Bargain of the century. If you're a follower of 911's then you'll already be aware that the older 1995-1998 Porsche 993's are holding their values much better than the newer 996 versions, and the 993 Turbo's even more so. Why? Multiple reasons, but a few of those reasons are this: Money no object build quality, last of the air-cooled dry-sump motors in the regular 911, reliability, and the flaired out style, and because the normal 996 was such a departure in all of these areas, to its demise, that it's helped bolster the value of the older better built cars. Now there's one exception to this...but unfortunately most Porschephiles are unaware. The 996 Turbo. It often gets overlooked because of it's shared "look" with the normal 996, but it's such a drastic difference from those cars that it should have been given it's own designator (this goes for the GT3 as well). It's engine is basically the 993 Turbo 2.0 version. It has the same engine that Porsche used in it's LeMan's winning GT1 race cars. Sort of a conglomeration of the 993 Turbo engine and the engine from the 959 (first water cooled heads). Its more aerodynamic, more stable at speed, better AWD system, better interior. It's actually fairly reliable, with the motor being almost bomb proof with many examples going into the 300,000 mile range and beyond. But because of its relation with the normal 996, it has gotten a bad rap. You can purchase an early example right now in the high 30's or low 40's...these were $120k plus cars new! A car with low 4 second 0-60 times and will hit 200 mph and can be driven daily. And you can even change your own oil on fairly easy. A ton of bang for the buck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


New Owner, Do your homework

by 911 Lover from Raleigh, NC | March 5, 2012

Since you can't take a 911 to the neighborhood garage do some careful upfront work on finding a good mechanic. Have he/she do a pre-purchase inspection, it can save you thousands. Make sure to ask about the intermediate shaft bearing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


911 Turbo- Best Bang for your Buck

by White trash With Cash from Santa Cruz, CA | September 20, 2011

I bought a used 911 turbo for 25% of its original sale price. The car had only 25,000 miles on it. Believe it or not, I was told I paid too much! But it is a beautiful car and has the performance of a Lamborghini with the maintenance costs of a Lexus. if you are looking for a good price on a sports car, pick a 911 turbo, you wont be sorry. BTW I also have car seats in the back for my kids.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


sweetest sports car I have ever driven

by groucho from KY | March 12, 2010

The 996 twin turbo is a magnificent car. Handling, fit and finish, ride, acceletation, layout, etc.,etc. are all what I have come to expect from reading reviews and talking to other owners. My car has an Evolution Motor Sports upgrade which is also nice but I have experienced some less than desireable communication with them when trying to resolve some minor issues

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


great ride

by jake from los angeles | April 14, 2009

Porsche seems to improve with every model. Love the older models for their original design. The newer models are insanely powerful and sharp.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2003 turbo X50

by chuck from raleigh N.C | January 17, 2009

I own this car as one one my street cars and absolutely love it....bought it used with Champion wheels, the aero package and, of course the X 50. Would suggest strongly that anyone looking do the same. Without these three, I think the regular turbo is a bit mundane. The car is plenty fast without flashing the ecu. It is reliable, but as with any car, if you flog it, maintenance issues will occur more often.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Porsche 911 -- the quintessential sports car

by 911 owner from Charlotte, NC | June 17, 2008

In my childhood I can remember seeing a Porsche 911 and thinking this must be a special car. Then as a young man I recall the Porsche TV ads that said, "Porsche, there is no substitute." Now that I'm in my 40's I decided to buy an '03 911 cabrio and find why the 911 has such a loyal following. Driving a 911 is, simply put, a fantastic driving experience. It is incredibly quick and responsive, like a P-51 Mustang on wheels. The engine and exhaust system make such a beautiful sound I usually keep the stereo turned off. It hugs the road and handles exceptionally well. Driving a 911 is truly an experience that's so much fun it sends a chill up my spine. This car practically begs you to drive fast, so watch your speed! If you want an outstanding sports car and can afford a 911, you owe it to yourself to drive one. You can experience why the Porsche 911 is a legendary sports car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Porsche 911

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.