1986 Porsche 944

Change Vehicle
Asking Price Range
Get Value
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

Turned heads then, turns heads now!

by Original 86 Turbo from Sacramento, CA | February 14, 2014

Took factory delivery in October 1985 of a white '86 951 (944 Turbo). Still have it...wonderful car to drive, performance, handling, looks. My plaything on the weekends and only $30K miles after all these years. Versatile with the hatch for a run to the store or an overnighter or for the golf clubs. Lopes along at 85mph in 5th gear, drop to 3rd and punch it, the turbo kicks in and your head snaps back. 220hp stock, can be chipped to 300+hp, relatively light car with unbelievable handling and you have a real winner. You are at $100K for anything close today. And...it's a PORSCHE!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Tell me a better car for less than $4,000

by VirginiaF1 from Richmond, VA | June 1, 2012

Few people can understand that my car has 250,000 miles and is 25 years old. Once you refresh the fluids, belts, bushings, bearings, rubber and clutch you will have one of history's top 5 handling cars... capable of running another 250k. Check the oil, brake and power steering fluid on a weekly basis and be sure that the fuel lines in the engine bay have had the Federal Recall done. Pull 3rd gear at 4,000 rpm's into a right-hand sweeper and watch your rear view mirror cars shrink.. IMHO, only a Corvette, Lotus Exige, Boxster/Cayman/GT3, most any recent Ferrari/Lambo, or an M3/M5 would handle as well as the antique 944. And none of those cars can be found running for $4,000 or less. Porsche - There is No Substitute.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


decent

by carbuyer from | July 7, 2011

THis car has a rebuilt title and you can really notice it once you drive teh vehicle. There is some road noise

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


The Best

by 951 fan from CT from Avon, CT | April 26, 2011

I've enjoyed my '86 951 for 25 years. Just turned 40K miles. I'm a member of PCA and I we get compliments at every event. I've handed my keys to 911 guys at Lime Rock and they come back from a few laps and say "that's it, I've got to have one." They are plenty quick, predicable, and the turbo can be chipped to a modest 300 hp rocket ship. Tons of un to toss around and they last forever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The one car i've loved since I was a kid

by Porsche Fan from New york, NY | October 22, 2010

Best handling car i've ever driven. There is no car on the road of this year with the handling capability that i've ever owned or driven.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


love it

by porsche 944 guy from bridgewater,nj | November 12, 2009

i love this car. i cant stop looking at mine in the garage. its like this one but gold. wish mine was in good shape.u might ask how many miles it has and its alot almost at 150K

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Performance Value Anywhere

by Porsche Fan from Chicago | June 15, 2009

What a great car. You get one of the best handling cars ever made with 22 MPG city, 30 MPG highway. They're quiet and are very docile when driven normally but when you put your foot in it or toss it in a corner, you can't believe how well it responds. It's a Porsche through and that's something no new or old Japanese car can ever match no matter how hard they try. Talk about "bang for the buck". They hold up well and are vitturally rust proof. At 100K miles they're just getting broken in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Porsche for the money

by Sportster from Brooklyn NY | July 24, 2006

Love driving this car and getting second and third looks. Looks just as modern as when it was designed. Looks like a vehicle many times its price, people stop and turn to look at this car. Smooth quick engine and great handling in turns. Economical gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


1986 porsche 944 is a very solid and robust car.

by 944 dude from Virginia | June 12, 2006

This car is one of the best handling cars i have ever owned and lasting quality and performance that keeps at its best. I like it so much that I bought another one after i sold first one. I have always loved its looks as well. So I think you will not be dissapointed with its handling but a little sad on its.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Porsche 944

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.