1998 Porsche Boxster

Change Vehicle
1998 Porsche Boxster
Available in 1 styles:  Boxster 2dr Convertible shown
Asking Price Range
$5,451–$17,499
Estimated MPG

19 city / 26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

1999 Boxster 37K miles - No substitute!

by RWB from St. George, Utah | June 4, 2014

This car is great fun to drive. Performance and handling are excellent as this card hugs the road at any speed. Has many safety and maintenance features as you can check oil etc. from the dash. Not for taller people. About 6'2" is it for comfort. Also expect some sticker shock for repairs/oil changes, etc. Reading the owners manual is a must as there are features that are not obvious and controls do not work exactly as most american cars. Only negative on this purchase experience was the usual sales 101 pitch and info from the salesman that we consumers have come to expect. I purchased from another state and had it delivered. I was told they did a "thorough" xxx point inspection so I could purchase with confidence and the car was in "excellent" shape. It cost $4500 to bring it to excellent shape. Bottom line is now I have an excellent, fun to drive, convertible - it just cost me more than I expected.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


FUTURE BUYER BEWARE

by Mechanic Trust from New York | February 25, 2014

I recently test drove this 1998 Porsche Boxster in the past 80 or something days. All though it looks awesome, it is a future Money Pit and Lemon. At first I thought it was the roads which were making the interior noise, when I realized it was the gears. The entire time the dealer was rushing me through the test drive and was very evasive and vague when I asked him questions. Pulling over I looked under the hood with the engine idling, what I heard was a slight noise in the engine. The dealer kept reassuring me that everything was okay. The person/employee who took me for the test drive was polite, however not very knowledgeable in Porsches. I have owned two Porsches in my life, and I am a certified mechanic working in upstate New York for the past 30 years. BEWARE OF THIS VEHICLE...Give it two months tops, and then open your wallet, and be prepared to shell out cash for a new engine and gear box. Why else do you think it has been sitting so long?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Awesome Experience

by FRANK THE REALTOR from Queen Creek az | December 17, 2013

So far so good. Great Team and Great job. They let me test drive it and take it home. It was a 2004 jeep wrangler limited with a lift kit.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Fun Car!

by Weekend driver from Cookeville TN | November 28, 2013

The Boxster with 73k miles is fun to drive. It sticks to curves like glue. It is definitely a 2-person car with very little storage in interior. I'm sure that it has an engine, but I have not yet seen it, although I have seen the place to add oil, if that ever becomes necessary.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Porsche Maintenance

by Maaspro from Canada | November 14, 2013

If buying used make sure the intermediate shaft bearing is updated if not invest the $2,500 or face catastrophic engine failure at a cost of $10-$18,000

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


As Promised

by Porsche Want To Be from Dalton, MA | August 13, 2013

Car was exactly as promised and expected. Make sure you get the ISB replaced upon purchase so that you do not have a bigger issue later on. That is what I did and have comfort the engine will last for years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


good fun weekend car

by car lover from California | June 5, 2013

I'm a Chevy power person but I was impressed whit the power my bosxter have I like it so much it has come to be my replacement for my muscle car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Red Porsche

by Red Porsche from knoxville,TN | October 2, 2012

Just purchased this vehicle but so far extremely happy with it. Has plenty opf power once RPM's are up and handles great. Bought for weekend use only....fun car...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


advanced road machine

by fourcylinder from Santa Fe, NM | November 14, 2011

Plenty of pep and styling make this car an experience of being completely in touch with the road, acceleration, and the enviroment. Never had a car respond like this one to a drivers demands.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


boxter heaven

by C-180 pilot from nothern minnesota | February 6, 2011

number one- pay a little more and buy low miles, you get what you pay for. Other than that these cars are great! you cannot beat a mid engine sports car, handling is unmatched for the price. It looks better than a 911 cabrio , every where it is parked I catch by- standers looking at it. It's fast ,feels very solid,wonderful brakes, shifts great, feels like it's on rails, the engine starts to sing at about 5000 rpm it is hard not to floor it every time, it is the sound of music. love this car but it is not for every one, it is best used as a second car

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Porsche Boxster

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.