2001 Porsche Boxster

Change Vehicle
2001 Porsche Boxster

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  Boxster 2dr Convertible Base shown
Asking Price Range
$6,855–$19,915
Estimated MPG

18–19 city / 26–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

Forewarned is Forearmed

by BlazerBoy from Boston, MA | June 16, 2014

My buddy talked me into buying his 2001 Boxster with manual trans and 49.0k miles. So I sold my 2001 Saab 9.3 convertible - a total pocket rocket - with about the same mileage. Granted, there's no comparison and the Boxster is by far the faster, more fun, better handling, and cooler looking car. So now I've put 5.0k more miles on it and except for a few bulbs it's been a perfect drive. The trouble is, and an earlier reviewer here mentioned it, there's a time bomb ticking in the boot - the engine - that at some point will render itself a total and unrepairable piece of junk, and will probably do bad things to the transmission and other mechanical parts when it finally goes. So now along with the exhilaration I feel every time I drive the car, I live in fear this could be its last trip. The one and only solution is to be proactive and replace the IMS bearing...to the tune of $3,500. Yep, that much. Forewarned is forearmed and I post this not to dampen your enthusiasm, but to help balance your brain with your heart, and go into the deal with eyes wide open.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


01 boxster

by scotty from Ocala, FL | June 3, 2013

nice car at a good price with low miles--dealership was indifferent--yada yada yada yada xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


GREAT CAR

by JB RTP from Research Triangle Park NC | April 23, 2013

SHOPPED FOR A BOXTER FOR 4 MONTHS. PURCHASED PRIVATELY THROUGH LISTING ON CARS DOT COM. A lot of fun. Careful shopping online allows you to purchase worn interior items - i.e. armrests etc. My car is a manual - if there is a slight incline, I pull away from a stop in 2nd gear because 1st is a fast stump puller gear. Brakes are very strong. Previous owner had replaced convertible top - purchased a book from amazon that talked about boxster chop to extend life of rear window in the car. Better fuel economy than I expected and car does great on midgrade rather than premium. Clutch is heavy so be prepared.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Backroad Rocket

by Second Childhood from Louisville, KY | December 19, 2012

My Porsche Boxter S is an absolute hoot in the twisties, with handling unmatched by anything I've owned -- and I've had a few of them. The car has less wind noise in a convertable I've ever seen, although you do get a bit of road noise and engine noise. Your sitting right in front of the motor, but it still is remarkably quiet and comfortable. The ride is taught and controlled, the brakes are fantastic and the car sticks to the road like flypaper. It could use a little more legroom for my overweight frame and I'm getting a little old for getting in and out gracefully, but that's a small price to pay for such a wonderful toy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Boxster S

by Porsche newbie from Fort Myers, FL | September 2, 2012

I'm 64 and have always wanted a Porsche, so I bought this Boxster S over the Internet. The car is as new and it is more than I expected as a driving experience. Two caveats- Google IMS failures and you will find out about a hidden time bomb that resides in every one of these cars. Motor can literally self destruct without any notice. There is a fix but it costs about $2,0000, but then the motor is bulletproof. this is one that Porsche has swept under the rug. Porsche dealers charge outrageous rates so be prepared. Not a car for someone on a budget. Try to find a good Porsche mechanic and your rates will drop by more than half. If you can live with the above, I recommend this car with no hesitation. find a winding road and you'll know what all the magazines rave about.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Driving is fun again

by Boxster Fun from California | September 2, 2012

Most fun I've had driving a car in years. It handles exceptionally well. There is nothing like driving down the California coast with the top down!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun little car

by Autotuningstore from Oakley, CA | June 11, 2012

I purchased this 01 Boxster S to replace my old but true 89 325i vert. It has earned its rest with quarter million miles. I have never owned a Porsche but always wanted to. The Boxster was not my original choice, that being the 911 but I knew I couldn't afford that. I have been pleasantly surprised at the performance of the car. It has plenty of go and I find myself speeding all the time which doesn't help my gas mileage. I am using the car as my daily driver and so far, knock on wood, have had nothing but good times.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The One-Two Punch Boxster

by Swiss DNA from Great Falls VA USA | July 21, 2011

If you can, find a "garage queen"...they ARE out there. Many buyers baby there first Porsche and never drive it...then, the big bonus from the executive job kicks in and...there it is...a pristine vehicle in a time warp. This happened to me just last week. I was fortunate to find a 2001 Boxster with just 5,300 miles on it! Perfect condition, all service up to date and all records. Paid a bit more for this, but, I basically got a new vehicle. Be patient, there are more waiting to be found..and ENJOYED! The Boxster is a four wheeled sport bike (600cc class)..not the fastest on the road, but place her in the twisties, and you know that you spent your money right! My days of Corvettes are over..especially the trips to the dealerships. Porsche will treat you with respect and they get the job completed the first time, on time! A bit of a shock when the bill comes, but, hey, you are now in the big-boy's club. Keep in mind that some (less than 5%) have serious issues with bearings and output shafts...IF this or these issues have been corrected, you are good to go. Don't let this scare you away from an awesome machine. My Corvette Z06 sits and gathers dust just waiting for a new owner, the Ducati 999R gets it exercise now only on cool, comfortable days...the Boxster is now the vehicle of choice for me. NOTE: it's JUST a Boxster, not even an "S". Happy motoring.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Bargan sports car.

by Bowstrike from Iowa | May 30, 2011

I bought a 2001 (April 2010)from a dealer with 98,000 miles on it for $9200 (brand new it was $42000). The car had a few my squawks, ie, turn signals would not cancel after turn, rattle in exhaust system. I now have 104,000 miles on it. I fixed the signal and exhaust problems myself for $300. The car leaks and burns NO oil. I can change the oil myself for about $60. It's the funest car I have ever driven. I rarely drive it with the top up. Handles like a dream. This car is a bargan for the caliber car it is.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Car - with an asterik

by Passion for Cars from Michigan | October 28, 2010

2001 Porsche Boxster Base - Automatic The Good: Timeless styling. Can get with Automatic or manual transmission. Superb brakes, as close to perfect as they come. Razor sharp handling. Very good acceleration. Could always be faster. Certainly quick enough. Good ride on crummy Northern roads with standard suspension, considering this is a 2 seat Sports Car. "S" Model suspension can be trying. Two trunks. Top down motoring at its best. It's a Porsche! The Bad: Maintenance is expensive if taken to the Dealer. Secret is to use an Independent Porsche mechanic. Buy parts online. Be religious about maintenance. Do what your Indie says, not what Porsche recommends. The asterik: Potential for engine failure (1997-2008) due to intermediate shaft bearing breakdown, with no regard to mileage or use. Engine failure is bad and very expensive. New engine is likely. Precaution is to have bearing and seals changed with better bearing and seals, and do this every 50,000 miles. Also, change oil and filter every 3-5,000 miles. Bottom Line: The above potential problem does not stop people from buying these cars, because they are awesome to drive and enjoy. Used Boxsters are a great used car value and should always be considered when shopping for a used Sports Car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

Featured Services for this Porsche Boxster

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.