2003 Porsche Boxster

Change Vehicle
2003 Porsche Boxster
Available in 2 styles:  Boxter 2dr RWD Convertible Base shown
Asking Price Range
$8,048–$25,004
Estimated MPG

18–20 city / 26–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

2003 Porsche Boxster

by Boxster first timer from Fresno, CA | September 3, 2012

This is an awesome, fun, reliable car. Don't wait till your old . Have fun and live a little while you can. I just thought about how awesome it would be to drive to and from work everyday. I pinch myself every morning

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Permagrin

by Alimar from Central CT | August 18, 2012

This is the best bang for the buck. With the right tires this thing is on rails. It's quick enough and I can't get enough of it. I love driving this car and my smile (known as "permagrin") never fades. I've had it for 2 years and have had zero issues with it. Indeed there are a few things to beware of but if you are really into it like I am you'll research the heck out of it and find that "IF" the problems present themselves the problems are reasonably mitigated. I believe that overall this is probably one of the most reliable cars on the market. And at this price point it's really tough to go wrong. Try one, you'll like it. And if you're a tinkerer, this is an easy car to tinker with. Suprisingly easy.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Boxster S fun

by Frog from Frisco, TX | June 18, 2012

There is nothing like german engineering. The Boxster S has great power, while mantaining reasonable fuel economy. The Corvette may have more speed off the line, but the Boxster is going to take it in the tunrs, any day of the week.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best deal in the Universe

by molecules from Cheshire,CT | May 28, 2012

For the price of a used Civic, you can have nearly as much fun as anything in life. And you can drive it everyday.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


2003 Boxster S - lots of bang for the buck

by Ed from Mid Hudson Valley, NY | July 21, 2011

Had an'83 911SC cabriolet and sold it to buy the '03 Boxster S cabrio. After beibng a 911 purist, I couldn't be happier with a car. Great styling,classic Porcshe handling, and after spending about $1000 for an ecu remap, this baby puts out about 275 horses, and is extremely quick, and powerful through all 6 gears. A really fun car that gets lots of positive attention...even from the guys/gals in the Porsche club.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great value Porsche

by BooBoo from Acworth, GA | April 28, 2011

The S model is a blast and not much more than the base model when buying used. It is the way to go. This car is built for the driver. It sticks to the road as if it were on rails and gets you up to 60 mph in 5 seconds. Buying this car used gives you a great sports car for the money. I have found it to be reliable. Have fun with it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


faulty engine IMS failure

by flowerBoxster from florida | March 31, 2011

engine basically blew up at 20k and out of warranty and would cost 15k to 20k to fix. Car is going to be used as a Flower Boxster. I would not recommendt buying this or any Porsche product. Do your homework first. Be afraid , be very afraid.....you will get burned by Porsche!!!!!!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Wow!!! German Quality

by 986 Boxster from Port Charlotte,FL | March 24, 2011

This Porsche is really nice...Quick, and on the light side but ironically very solid feeling...these cars are "head turners"...waaayyy more class than a corvette... Very happy with this exciting roadster!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun to drive!

by Grey Seal from LA, Ca. | February 25, 2011

I love this car, it's stylish, a convertable, smooth shifting 5 speed and handles like a dream. I look foward to driving because of this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Most fun sports car I have owned

by Steven from Crowley, TX | October 12, 2010

After driving all kinds of different sports cars through the years, I have chosen to own 2 Honda S2000s and now this Boxster S. This car is just one large step beyond the already very enjoyable and capable S2000. Although the price difference of the 2 cars new is very wide, the used car market is closing the gap. Making the Boxster S a better buy even at a couple grand more. The cars handle very well. I have used the car on a road course type track plus as a daily commuter. It is the most enjoyable car I have ever owned. My few negatives are; that it is more expensive to work on, although it has been very reliable, and not very do it your self friendly.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Porsche Boxster

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.