2002 Lexus SC 430

Change Vehicle

2002 Lexus SC 430

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2002 Lexus SC 430 2dr Convertible shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$9,414–$27,254

Estimated MPG

18 city / 23 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

I love to drive again

by Sexy cil from Granite Bay, California | April 17, 2013

I love to drive again, just to get in and go to work is a treat. My husband bought it for me. He is the best! We went on a few road trips down the road, and I would just drive when I needed a pick up...... :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


04 550 SPYDER ANNIVERSARY EDITION

by 04 BOXSTER SE from New Jersey | December 18, 2012

Awesome car. The special edition has all Boxster has to offer for 2004. What great styling, and details... Right down to the painted special edition wheels, and the GT Silver paint. Great performance from the special tuned exhaust makes this the fastest Boxster to date. If you can find one of these, it will make you feel special......Love the special interior accents and full leather, in cocoa brown. Wish I would have known about this vehicle earlier.... Born to drive!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Porsche Yet

by RobInBayVillage from Bay Village, Ohio | September 10, 2012

This is my third Porsche. Nearly 90,000 miles on the odo now. Great track and street car. My wife's flight bag fits the front trunk, leaving room for six bottles of wine. My flight bag fits neatly in the rear trunk allowing room for our Bose portable player, my computer bag and laundry. Gr8 fuel mileage and tons of power. I owned the 911 and 914 in the past. This is my fav by far. Trips to NJ, PA, IN, MO and FL this year alone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Good value compared to competition

by BoxsterGuy from Central Florida | June 11, 2012

We bought our Boxster S with 41,000 miles and ten months left on a bumper-to-bumper warranty. It has the Tiptronic transmission. We enjoy the Tiptronic because the car is often driven in city traffic. Besides, we also have a Lotus to drive when we want to do our own shifting. The car has been generally reliable, although there have been a surprising number of non-critical issue that had to be addressed, particularly considering that we had a full pre-purchase inspection done by a Porsche dealer prior to purchase. In the past four months the alternator has been replaced, a transmission valve was replaced, and O2 sensor went bad and a leaking emissions seal had to be replaced. None except the alternator were critical to operation of the vehicle but we did have them all fixed. Parts were very expensive. Total repairs cost was $3600, with the warranty covering all but about $800. Regardless, we love the car. Handling is great, fuel economy is OK for this car class, and the car has excellent storage in both the boot and the trunk for weekend trips.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


The most fun car to drive I have ever owned

by Porsche Guy from Charlotte, NC | June 29, 2011

Great car, fun to drive. What more do I need to say, it's a Porsche!!!! You are never too old to enjoy one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Most reliable and best performance car i have ever

by PeaM from florida | January 10, 2011

excellent braking system-has saved my life several times. excellent acceleration-best buy for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


A Rocket On Wheels

by Porsche Enthusiast from California to Colorado | November 13, 2010

The 2004 Porsche Boxster "S" model engine has a very deep growl and has boosted horse power (258 HP) vs. the non-S model. With the variable camshaft control (dual cam) you can feel the surge of power most noticeable in 2nd and/or 3rd gears on the model that I drove. From a stop, you have a quick shift to 2nd and staying in 2nd, you are at 60mph in just over 5 seconds without red-lining. It's a 6 speed vehicle, so top speed of 168mph is understandable and fun to imagine, but you would want to take it to a track or other controlled site to test that high speed. Traction and stability is excellent with proper tires. Michelin Pilot "Sport" tires came with this car from the factory in Stuttgart.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Sports car I have ever owned.

by Shan from Southern MI | July 11, 2010

I have owned four other well known foreign and domestic sportscar models. By far, this has been my favorite. A true eye-catcher with the top down. Handling is great, stops on a dime. Its comfort competes with other sports cars and I have taken it on long distance trips. Very good gas mileage and reasonable insurance rates. No comlaints, great car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Intoxicating performance

by Piedmont from Edgewood MD | March 26, 2010

In late January of this year, I purshced a 2004 Carrera White Boxster with only 30k miiles on it. At just under $21k, this car was a steal and a Porsche lovers gem. It is so much fun to drive it's intoxicating. Sure, there are other roadsters with less prestigous badges that have more power, features, etc... but none provide the overall driving experience that a Porsche Boxster provides. From the head turning exterior styling, (especially with the top dropped), to the intoxicating exhaust note when it revs, this car will provide a lot of fun & satisfaction for most sports car lovers. The interior is a bit uncomfortable with the basic seats and upgrades/options tend to be costly. However, this IS a true sports car after all... not a luxury sedan... and it feels like a sports car throughout. The steering is tight, the handling and braking are exceptional, as is the overall build quality. The flat 6 Boxer engine provides plenty of horsepower while still obtaining 29mpg on the highway. The ride is a bit rough due to the low profile tires & stiff sports car suspension, but road noise is tolerable for a convertible. Because of its mid-engine layout and front & rear "trunks", storage is surprisingly adequate for a roadster. We have used ours to go grocery shopping a few times already! Mine has the tiptronic S transmission and I love it. It just cruises along at low RPMs in "D" and it is much less cumbersome in bad traffic, (which I deal with daily), than the standard 5 speed manual transmission. This allows for great fuel economy during every day driving, yet provides a very satisfying sports car experience when you want to let it out. Just put the car in manual shift mode and have at it! Wind the gears out until the tach reaches its 7,000RPM redline and you are sure to get a thrill out of the acceleration and that intoxicating exhaust note. The car is geared so low, that when left in "D", it starts out in 2nd gear. Shift into manual mode, tap it down into 1st, stomp the gas and listen to it sing. With the top up, you get to enjoy the sound of that horizontally opposed 6 cylinder boxer engine behind you as it rockets you to 62mph in 7 seconds. Put the top down & you are treated to the symphony of the H6 & the sports tuned exhaust system singing together in unison. Beautiful music to a car lover's ears! Overall, I love this car. It's the perfect car for Porsche lovers like myself that still aren't quite able to afford the 911 they have always dreamed of. There is nothing more satisfying than driving down the road and seeing that Porsche crest on the steering wheel and knowing you are behind the wheel of one of the most finely engineered automobiles in the world. While I do still plan to "graduate" up to owning a 911 someday, this car is plenty capable of satisfying that Porsche sports car desire in the interim. I highly recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best sports car I've Owned

by Jack from Davidson, NC | January 29, 2009

Handles great and a joy to drive. It has been very reliable, when in for service for the first time last week, and that was for the key remote.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Lexus SC 430

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.