2006 Porsche Boxster

Change Vehicle

2006 Porsche Boxster

Available in 2 styles:  2006 Porsche Boxster 2dr RWD Convertible shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$18,150–$25,100

Est. MPG

19–20 city / 27–29 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

2006 Porsche Boxster

by KJ from | September 2, 2012

Excellent handling like you are riding on rails. I previously had a Mazda Miata - this Boxster is 10 times better. Great styling and excellent gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Sports Car that's livable Every Day

by Tommy D from Hamilton, NJ | June 11, 2012

I love the car and always wanted one. Bought from a top flight Porsche dealer Certified with 2 years of warranty, it's met all my expectations and is useable as daily driver. Granted, I only have to travel 1 day a week to work, but it is in center city Phila and the drive is more fun going to work then I've ever had. I put my golf clubs in, my wife and I take trips to the beach and all fit with some careful packing and somewhat smaller beach chairs, but it works and I get the best of both worlds. Top down motoring to the shore and a day at the beach. It's small inside and storage is limited, but it's a sports car and you learn to do things a certain way. My BMW 328i coupe I traded was more comfortable and user friendly with more features, space etc., but I never felt connected to the road and the driving experience, which is why I finally made the move. It's been worth it as i smile everytime I drive the car and look at in my garage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Incredible handling

by car nut from | May 20, 2012

I loved my 2006 Boxster. After the redesign in 2005 this car is completely worthy of the Porsche marque. Not as as much power as the S, but very strong acceleration. Lots of mid range torque. The handling is amazing, surpassing that of the 911. The mid-engine balance allows very high cornering limits. The car was the most reliable I ever owned. Tires are expensive, but the Michelin PS2 tires I used were the best I've ever used. I got 25K on rears and 50k on the fronts. This car makes a great daily driver. Gas mileage is surprisingly good, consistently besting my Miata.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Porsche 2006 - Exceeds expectations

by smkdrew from MA | November 15, 2011

This summer I bought the Boxter S. I debated this, vs. the Caymen, and an older 911. I am very glad I went with the Boxter S. For the money, extremely powerful, built very well, and it turns a lot of heads. I am amazed at the craftsmanship of this vehicle. The power top runs flawlessly, the doors, seals, and joints are all very tight and perfect. Performance is excellent. Surprisingly I find it a little noisier with the top up, vs. down. I drive with it down way more than I expected as the wind is very well displaced over the top. Awesome car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun for the Hill Country

by She She from Boerne, TX | August 21, 2011

Great fun and performance. Found a 2006 with just under 22K miles and in excellent condition. Had oil changed recenty and no issues so far. It's a weeked car so not putting any miles on it but sure looks good sittng in the garage. Too hot to drive with top down this summer but looking forward to driving in the Texas Hill Country when the weather cools.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Summer car

by YMe from Toronto, ontario, Canada | June 4, 2011

I purchase my first summer car this spring. Driving a Boxster S, is fun even considering that speeding is illegal. I am not saying that I do indulge in speeding, the fun is the acceleration you get with this mid engine vehicle. Driving it in city is even more fun, as one get to accelerate every corner! I realized that it is going to cost me on rubber shoes, but for the first summer at least I will indulge. No bad feeling anout anything yet, the boxster behave like a super charged go-cart, is is small, responsive to both accelerations and turn requests. I must say that I was a bit surprise at the stifness of the steering, but looking back, i think that it helps for a better control.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Boxster S - a small convertible pkg of PURE JOY!

by Dave T from Daphne, AL | March 9, 2011

I purchased my Boxster S with 14000 miles from our local Porsche dealer. It's cobalt blue with a grey top and that combination with 19" alloys and the red brake calipers...nice. I drove both the base version and the S model...there is just no comparison. The base model is under-powered and sluggish. Great if all you want is a roadster, but the S handles like a completely different automobile...like a sports car. There are certainly faster cars on the market, but the Boxster S is a lot of fun packed into a small convertible package!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Boxster S The Most Fun to Drive

by Boxster S Owner in Florida from Boynton Beach, FL | February 28, 2011

Super handling and ample power. Safe reliable performance in a great looking package. Mine is Guards Red with Tan leather.... mmmm good! I also have Carrera S wheels and Tiptronic, which is a great transmission and well matched to the power and torque curve of the 3.2 liter boxer engine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Best Of Best

by EuroVIP from Anaheim, CA | October 7, 2010

Best car I've seen so far!!! Best car for the price and Best car to enjoy!! Top of the same class vehicles!!! Highly recommended!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Pure and Simple.....the BEST

by Sandbox from Columbia, Maryland | September 24, 2010

Have owned 3 Porsches and this Boxster S (Basalt Black/Sand) is simply the best....performs like a champ, looks like every design decision was spot on, interior feels like I wish all my furniture looked and felt, economical, flip top in an instant with lots of visual appeal in the process, and did I say....fast!!! This is the car I could live with indefinitely. It just does everything right and looks so good doing it. Thanks Porsche!!! Sandbox

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Porsche Boxster

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.