2004 Porsche Cayenne

Change Vehicle
2004 Porsche Cayenne

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2004 Porsche Cayenne 4dr AWD shown
Asking Price Range
$9,211–$22,171
Estimated MPG

13–15 city / 18–19 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 24 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 24 reviews

worth every penny

by porsche gal from Denver, Colorado | April 10, 2014

We bought used both 2004 Cayenne S and Cayenne (V6) (his and hers, have had both for 4 yeas). Have never had a problem with either and both have 95k miles. Best vehicles we have ever owned. The Cayenne Base (V6) averages 20-21 miles per gallon and the S averages 18-19 miles per gallon.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2004 V6 Cayenne

by Car Nut from Falmouth, MA | March 13, 2014

A very solid safe reliable German SUV. The V6 is more fuel efficient than the V8 but lacks the engine performance. Nonetheless, the V6 is perfectly adequate for the vast majority of SUV drivers and I have never had a problem accelerating and passing with ease. I have maintained my Cayenne religiously every 7500 miles using synthetic oil and rotating the tires. Try to find a high end independent car mechanic and avoid the Porsche dealers like the plague as the parts and labor will kill you. But they are no worse than VW, Volvo or Audi. At just over 10 years (other than replacing pads and rotors in the normal course) - I have only had only two problems. I had to replace all the engine coils at around 63k. The coils were only about $55 a piece so not too bad. Then the rear hatch would not stay up in cold weather unless you held it up with a hand ( a common issue for all SUV's) - its an easy fix. The best thing about the 2004 Cayenne is its handling in the snow. Its nearly flawless. I have had other SUV's and they were not nearly as stable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Junk

by Studd from Kokomo | February 7, 2014

Overpriced junk. Get a true SUV...4Runner. The Cayenne will need massive repairs at least once a week.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does not recommend this car


bring your wallet

by dr from Massachusetts | January 31, 2014

I love my Cayenne although it is painful to own. With 120,000 miles now it's had the following: Failed coolant pipes - 2300 dollars Failed fuel pump - 600 dollars Failed drived shaft 1500 dollars Failed front differential - 3300 dollars. Failed climate control sensor -300 dollars Rusting rear passenger door. Failed coil packs the list goes on and on..... Great driving cars (I've had 3 Porsche's), but quality and life expectancy of parts is substandard. Save your money and buy a Toyota or Nissan. Forget German engineering. It's over priced and over rated these days.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


The Green Hornet is a Beast

by Scubatahiti from Phoenix, Arizona | December 10, 2013

I own a 2004 Touareg V8 with 125 K miles on it and it still is very powerful. I just purchased a 2004 Cayenne turbo however is an entirely different ball game. This car is a beast. the Porsche engineers have created. A monster SUV that no one can even come close to. Fantastic Ride. Great comfort and engineering to the T.... If you can get one with low miles <60K and in decent shape, I say go for it. the difference in price between this and a TESLA Model S is a boat load of Gas money LOL

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


the best you can get

by al from florida | November 20, 2013

for the price you will not be let down... much better than BMW and Benz SUV... all wheel drive is great... find a good one and you will love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Reality Motors

by Ojohnson from | November 3, 2013

When arrived the car didn't even nor did it look anything in the dealers picture the drive was a waist of time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best car I have ever owned

by Cayenne Austin from Austin, TX | August 19, 2013

This car has the best value for the money. I now own a Cayenne for 1 month and still everyday I find new things and features this car has: self levelling headlights, side beams, audio/visual proximity sensors for parking, PSM, Tiptronic, multiple power outlets, Bose speakers,... the list keeps on going. Acceleration is tremendous and the MPG is very good: 19mpg in city. It looks amazing outside and inside. In short, buying this car was the best car purchase I ever made.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


HAD SECOND THOUGHTS

by SEANHIBA from CHARLESTON SC | April 20, 2013

I HAVE OWNED AN RACED MANY PORSCHE MODELS. WHEN I FOUND OUT IN 2002 PORSCHE WAS MAKING A SUV I HAD MIXED EMOTIONS. I HAVE HAD A FEW SUVS IN THE LAST 10 YEARS JEEP, HUMMER, MERCEDES ML I WAS IN THE MARKET FOR AN SUV AND TEST DROVE A CAYENNE. PORSCHE HAS DONE IT AGAIN WHAT A PHENOMENAL CAR I STARTED LOOKING AROUND, DRIVING AN PRICING CAYENNES. DROVE 250 MILES THEN BACK TO GET MY CAYENNE S LOVE THIS SUV. I WILL NEVER OWN ANYTHING BUT A PORSCHE.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by Rick from Chicago | December 23, 2012

First Porsche I have owned and am very pleased with overall build quality and performance. Nice very well built car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 24 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2004 Porsche Cayenne.


Featured Services for this Porsche Cayenne

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.