2005 Saab 9-2X

Change Vehicle
2005 Saab 9-2X
Available in 2 styles:  2005 Saab 9-2X 4dr Hatchback shown
Asking Price Range
$3,731–$11,767
Estimated MPG

20–22 city / 26–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Best AWD sedan value in USA

by zuke from Wisconsin | January 29, 2014

This car is a secret that will save you a forutne for a hig perfromance, gas saving AWD sedan. The car was a high priced sleeper that no one bought, and no one knows how great they are. the caris really a legacy, totally, completely. Warning- only buy models with the automatic transmission, 2.5L NON turbo engine. these cars will run 300,000 miles if you change the oil and anitfreeze regularly. Do not buy manual tranmission or turbo models, they are all beaten, unless you can buy one for dirt cheap and have the ability to replace the engine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


fun,little wagon

by nenerikan from orlando,fl | October 23, 2013

luv my saabaru,other them regular oil change and brake job is been very reliable i have the car or 2 year now and is been trouble free.mpgs are not all that,but them again is all wheel drive and it has a big 4 cilinder engine.and the best thing i love about the car is that is something different,not like the 3 billion civics and corollas out there, that bring a smile to my face.i have a linear worry about gas go for the linear, want a litte more fun go for the aero. but either way u can go wrong.awd a plus in the rain,great handling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Saab 92X Aero

by Renn90 from PA | May 7, 2012

Essentially a rebadged Subaru WRX with an STI steering rack offering very strong performance in the Aero model and standard all wheel drive. Produced by Subaru in Japan. 92X includes limited body parts specific to the 92x including front fenders, hood, headlights and taillights, front grill and bumper cover, and rear bumper cover; as well as license plate area of rear hatch. Slightly better than the WRX due to additional options and STI steering.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


saab 92x

by alex from | January 2, 2012

great car, 4 wheel drive works great. Not too spacious at all, or comfortable on 2hr+ drives, but very dependable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Utilitarian Go-Kart with Umph

by Middle aged enthusiast dude from AZ | November 14, 2011

I bought an Aero version with the 5MT with 55K mi and have had it for 4 months now. Car is totally stock with cold weather, moonroof, and 17 in wheels. The Aero handles like it is on rails and transmits excellent steering feel through the steering wheel. It is fine for everyday driving, but really excels in the twisties where it installs a perma-grin on my face. It is a fun car. It does have some punch, but only when the tach is over 3K and the turbo kicks in. This is my first experience with turbo-lag, and while it takes some getting used to, the learning curve is manageable. There is a noticeable kick when the turbo spins up and engages. I try to keep it up in RPMs generally, which has not led to any tickets yet, but the potential is there. The 5MT is good, but not great. Feel is positive, but not quite as crisp as a Mazda or Honda. I would love to have a 6th gear for freeway cruising. The interior is decent, but to be really nice I would have preferred to have the leather. Even then it is not luxury car level. It is very solid, functional and sporty. I do like the moonroof. The marriage of subaru guts and saab tuning and styling is pure fun. I highly recommend.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great alternative to Subaru Impreza

by Saabaru 2.5i Driver from Northern New Jersey | March 11, 2011

I bought this car brand new in 2005. Back then I was looking at the Impreza, but Saab had employee pricing with tons of rebates so I couldn't go wrong. For the same price as the Subaru ended up getting the same car with: Leather, heated seat/mirrors/windshield, Xenon Headlights, Sunroof, all of which are things that were not even offered on the trim I was looking at. Now, to the reviews... Comfort: The seats are really firm. They provide plenty of lateral hip and back support, but they're not all that comfortable. You start to notice them quickly on long trips. The overall layout is very nice though. Performance: All wheel drive is great. 165hp is enough to get you around, nothing special. Gas mileage is pretty weak for a 4 cylinder, I average 26 mpg. Exterior Styling: I like it, especially for a wagon. Interior Styling: I LOVE the way the interior looks, absolutely LOVE it. The dash is real nice too, not the super cheap hard plastic you get these days with Mazda and Chevrolet. It's actually plush to the touch. The center bezel is plastic, but it flows nicely and looks like it belongs. The seats in the back are cramped, would not recommend for adults. Amazing how much stuff you can fit into a wagon, especially with the seats down. Value for the money: If you're looking for an Impreza, consider this instead, if you can find one for sale. Reliability: I'm currently at 90K miles. Had to replace a wheel bearing at 60K (common occurrence) and the valve cover seals at 80K (another common occurrence). Outside of that and regular maintenance, in 5.5 years the car never left me stranded and nothing else needed to be replaced. Overall Ratings: I would buy it again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


At 67K my turbo is toast. $1700 for a rebuild.

by Walt from Texas | September 8, 2008

I have the 17 inch low profile tires by bridgestone recommended for my car and have been through no less than 10 tires. the car is loud and has alot of wind noise. the all wheel drive handling and strong motor were the only thing keeping me from trading it in, but now with the turbo on it's last leg Who Knows??????

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


A stealth hot rod for Seniors.

by Larry Z from Cortlandt Manor, NY | May 28, 2008

The Saab Aero 92x is just the thing for senior citizens who want to recapture their youthful love affair with high performance automobiles yet not flaunt their second childhood in front of their neighbors. Encased in an attractive, upscale yet conservative, body lies the mechanicals of the firebreathing Subaru WRX. This implies wonderfully responsive AWD handling, breathtaking midrange acceleration, near felony range top speed, and good reliability. And when you park the car you go back to being a responsible member of society. The only giveaway is the turbo scoop on the hood. There are few downsides except the requirement for premium gas. This is the penalty for the adventure. Favorite Features: Good looks, very high build quality, excellent performance, unexcelled AWD handling, service at Subaru, Saab and GM dealers. Suggested Improvements: Could use a few practical accessories as stock items. These include driver's arm rest, better cupholders, cargo bay rubber mat, additional 12 v. outlet. All are featured on comparable Subaru models. Low end torque needs improvement to decrease initial acceleration turbo lag.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


A WAGON WITH A STYLE...

by COOL92X from ROCKVILLE | February 18, 2008

IT IS THE PERFECT COMBINATION OF A FAMILY AND SPORTS CAR. THE HANDLING IS SUPERB AND RELIABLE. THE ACCELERATION, THANKS TO THE TURBO IS LIKE A MOTORCYCLE.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


My Linear is Fun to Drive, Reliable & Great on Gas

by Car Geek from Virginia | April 11, 2007

This is such a fun car to drive. I especially like having the All Wheel Drive to get me to the slopes! I have driven many subarus and although my 9-2X Linear is a rebadge job of the Impreza, it's no subaru (except in the reliability category). Although the Linear is a non-turbo it has a noticeably peppy engine (great for the commuter) and the suspension is way better than the WRX that my buddy drives. The WRX has a "buggy" kind of feeling, almost jeep-like. My stock 9-2X has a well-tuned suspension that softens the ride without compromising cornering and overall handling. The fuel economy that the Linear has over the WRX and Aero models makes the Linear an even more attractive model, especially since you HAVE TO USE PREMIUM FUEL IN THE TURBO MODELS...now almost $3.00 a gallon in Virginia! Ouch! I remember asking myself when I first bought the car, why didn't I just get the Aero or the WRX? When my friend with the WRX said he wished he had bought a Linear over his WRX, it was clear I made the right decision.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Saab 9-2X

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.