2001 Saab 9-3

Change Vehicle

2001 Saab 9-3

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 7 styles:  2001 Saab 9-3 2dr Hatchback shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,079–$7,835

Estimated MPG

20–22 city / 29–31 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Best car I've owned

by careful driver from deleware | September 10, 2012

Bought used with 30K miles in 2006. Now has 88K miles. Only problem so far is power antenna; we just leave it up. I do oil changes at 5K, replaced spark plugs at 50K, tires at 60K and replaced battery before winter of 2011 (preventive maintenance). All else is original. Fun to drive, quick, 28 mpg local and 32+ travelling. This 2001 4 door 5 speed manual turbo moon roof hatchback is wonderful car. Too bad they stopped making them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Money pit

by 2 saab owner from chicago | August 5, 2012

I purchased a 2001 Saab 9-3 2 years ago for my kids with 96,000 miles. Now the car has 105,000 miles and has had the following issues; power steering hose leak, engine mount replaced, exhaust rehung, dead battery, electrical problems, ignition problems, digital dash lights out, puffs blue smoke when started, and has an oil leak. Some parts are very hard to find, even at dealers. Buyer beware.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Sporty, Fun & Reliable

by Saab Enthusiast from Sacramento, CA | September 9, 2010

I've now owned two 2001 9-3 SE convertibles, and they have both been solid, fun vehicles. They have both been comfortable on multi-day roadtrips, get better mileage (22/29 mpg) than the newer models and hold together very nicely. If I could purchase a NEW 2001 9-3 SE, I'd do it in a heartbeat!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Lots of Fun

by gene from long is, ny | July 24, 2010

The convertible is a great 2nd car. the trunk space and back seats are minimal, but with the top down, cruising on the hwy, it is a blast to drive. I have 125k and have had few problems - replaced the starter and some other wear & tear stuff. Parts are pricey but not crazy and if you find a mechanic who knows what he is doing, it is not that expensive to own. Oil changes, tune ups, tires and brakes are no more expensive than on my Ford. The styling is sharp on the outside, but cup holders and door buttons that are behind you are inconvenient and the cupholder on the dashboard is an accident waiting to happen. This car has been dependable and if you find one that was well maintained, it will last a long time. Make sure it has TWO KEYS!!!! Keys can only be made at the dealer and have to be programed to the car - about $300 each!!! I get about 20+ mpg and like the handling and the turbo charged acceleration. It is good to check out one of the SAAB sites b4 buying one. Make sure the prior owner maintained his car - do not get a fixer-upper. If this is your family's only car, get a Nissan or a Honda, don't take a chance. But for a 2nd weekend cruising car, for the $, it can't be beat!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Affordable performance

by NNY Driver from Northern New York | April 26, 2010

I have the SE model with manual transmission and it is truly an excellent car. It is very fun to drive, and very fast with the high pressure turbo. The 5 speed shifts very smoothly, and it is packed with features like heated seats, automatic headlights, etc. There is a LOT of space in this car. Very versatile hatchback, and the seats are very comfortable on long trips. I average about 24 MPG on mostly around town driving. It will do 30+ on the highway easily. One thing to watch out for with Saabs of this age is oil sludge. If synthetic oil has not been used and/or it has not been changed every 3000 miles, they are very prone to sludge buildup, which, if not taken care of, will kill the engine. I recently had to have the oil sump dropped on my car to have the gunk cleaned out, about a $600 job, so don't buy one of these without complete service records unless you don't mind having this procedure done after you buy the car. Also, be sure to use synthetic 0W-40 oil and Premium fuel (at least 91 octane in the base, 93 in the SE and Viggen) once you buy it. Saab reliability is directly correlated to maintenance. If you are willing to put the time and money into upkeep, a 9-3 may be the best car you've ever owned. If not maintained, though, they can be a nightmare.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I love my Saab!

by happy Saab owner from westfield, NJ | January 28, 2010

I love this car! Its fun to drive, comfortable, and very cool looking. The trunk is huge and the seats provide plenty of room. Ive only had it for 4 months so I cant say too much about the reliability but so far ive had no problems. As long as you do the routine work (brakes, oil change, etc) you will be fine. My only complaint is the radio. Some stations come in very fuzzy and the speakers are not very well. Don't expect to get great sound out of them. Also, there is only one cup holder and it's too tiny to accommodate most drinks. One thing to note is that it is very hard to see out the back window in the hatchback version and parking can be difficult. It's hard to determine how far away you are from the car in back of you. The heat and A/C also work very well. Overall it's a great car and I would DEFINITELY recommend it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Sporty, versatile, good car when treated well

by Pop from Boston | August 6, 2009

If you want a Honda do not buy a Saab. I bought the base 9-3 5 door with the manual transmission 4 years ago with 58k miles on it and now I am taking it in for the 90k service. There have been no serious mechanical problems and the car has been a pleasure to drive. The trunk is huge allowing us to avoid buying a wagon for now, and it gets over 30 mpg on highway driving. The vehicle requires synthetic oil (changed frequently if you do a lot of city driving) and premium gasoline. I am careful about who I let touch it. A good mechanic who knows Saabs is a necesity for this car if you do not want expensive trouble. The car is great in all weather (traction control) except for snow over 6 inches. I love the car and I hope to drive it for another 90k miles. The back seat is not huge, but is adequate for short to medium drives for an adult, our infant car seat fit behind the driver or passenger without trouble. The driver information screen gradually stopped working after 75k miles (don't spill drinks into the dash). The estimates to replace it varried from $800 to $200 with a lifetime replacement. My wife has expressed annoyance that the manual transmission is not as or pleasurable to shift as her old Honda Civic, but she has learned to enjoy the turbo whoosh on the highway and the strong acceleration when merging into busy traffic. Best features- Strong turbo engine, big trunk, good fuel economy, all weather capable. Worst features- Unforgiving maintainence schedule, easily can become expensive to maintain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Would by another in a heart beat!!

by Saablover from Lebanon, PA | June 30, 2009

I love my Saab. I have a 2001 9-3 SE fully loaded, leather, sunroof, heated seats, dual power seats, tcs, and on-star. Great features and awsome performance! Like i said I would buy another one in a heart beat! And F.Y.I. Saab is owned by GM not by Ford.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love Love Love my toy Saab 9-3 convertible

by Goucc55 from California, but formerly Wisconsin | July 30, 2008

I love this car. I know that's a strong word, and usually I am pretty utilitarian or pragmatic when it comes to cars. However, I did always want a convertible. This is great. granted there are oddities about the Swedish car that some don't like--not great stereo options, buttons in wierd places, bad cupholders (can't drink while driving in Sweden)--but get over it. It has more power and braking ability than any car I have had. Handling is superior. Try and beat me off the line when I am in sport mode--no can do. It has a great trunk for a convertible, and actually a nice and comfortable back seat. the top is triple insulated, and the car is designed to have great traction in snow. After all, it is built for the Swedes. This makes it one of the few convertibles that makes sense for northern climates. However, I always drive with the top down. You will LOVE it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


All kinds of problems

by Seattle Driver from Seattle, WA | December 19, 2007

The nitpicky things that go wrong with this car will drive you crazy: molding coming off, the little knobs on the AC vents breaking, short circuits on the electrical displays, sensors going bad, and leaky doors. But there's been plenty of big stuff too; most recently the transmission completely cratered at not quite 70k miles, before that the brake calipers went askew. Ford has taken this brand and basically ruined it. I would not buy another Saab.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this Saab 9-3

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.