1999 Saab 9-5

Change Vehicle
1999 Saab 9-5

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  9-5 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$10–$6,078
Estimated MPG

21 city / 30 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

1999 4 door sedan 9-5 in Cayenne - nicely loaded

by Cruisin' in Rhode Island from Rhode Island | May 20, 2013

Bought the car used with 46K on it. Now have 242K on it and it purrs like a kitten! Every year I can count on an $800-$1500 repair bill to keep her going. Still loads cheaper than a new car payment, higher insurance rates and luxury/car tax in the state of Rhode Island. Still has original transmission and engine. Very happy with this purchase and plan on taking it to 400K.With proper maintenance and religiously scheduled oil changes who knows where how far she'll go!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best used car for the money

by menoname from Chicago,Il | June 30, 2011

I recently purchased this car,used, and for the price I paid, I couldnt have made a better choice. The styling is exceptional, interior appointments are on the luxury level, performance and braking are far better than any other car Ive own, and MPGs are consistently in the low 30s, I was shopping for a Nissan,Toyota, Honda market, and all the cars interiors in my price range were plastic, and the mileage on them, in my price range, were 170,xxx, that doesnt matter much with those cars, but the creature comforts that came with my Saab 9-5 sold me, and it also had 110,000 miles on it. Check these out, they are a quality built machine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best car ever for me.

by I love my SAAB from tulsa, ok. | October 22, 2010

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned. Have had little trouble with car and have been oh so pleased with the car overall. Will purchase another when and if this one passes on.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Totally awesome car

by Maine_Chick from Lincoln,ME | October 12, 2010

This is a great car. This car is worth buying. It's got a great reputation and ti comes in a whole bunch of colors.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


This car may look nice, but you'd regret buying it

by Nick Rose 234 from Richmond, Rhode Island | October 11, 2010

My brother bought his Saab in 2007, Yeah, It looked nice, and it was nice, then after 2 years of driving it, everything went wrong. The transmission blew like 3 times, and everything started to break! Then winter of 2009, He tried to stop, but his brand new brakes didn't work, and he backed into a friggin tree. He definately regrets paying 5000 for this car. It was nice for the first 100,000 miles, and then it ALL goes down hill. I noticed, they use sucky material for this car. It dents very easily, and the alarm is trigger too easy. In style and nice looks, I would rate it a 5 but when it comes to realiability I would rate it a 0

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Unique and Fun

by Top City Snaab from Topeka, KS | May 6, 2010

I bought my 9-5 used from the original owner. It's in prisitne condition, well-maintianed and enjoyable to drive. I was aware of the service issues with the car. Especially when you live in a town where no one services them and the nearest dealer is 60 miles away. I looked at an Audi A4, really wanted one but the cost was a little much. This car has lots of great features and was affordable to purchase. Good thing I know a good mechanic.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Cool Hot Saab Lover

by Cool Hot Saab Lover from Matthews, N.C | February 20, 2010

My Saab has 194000 miles on the odometer. Each time there is a mechanical problem with the car, I spend $150. On it and it keeps on running, so I cant get rid of it. Every time that I decide to sell it and buy another car, I wash it, change the oil and keep rollin'. The paint has held up the interior is great and it still gives me 26-28 mpg. I now live in N.C. and drive it back to Connecticut (80-90 mph),about 4 times per year. For repairs the dealer rips you off expensively, so if you plan to own a Saab, find a small garage with former Saab mechanics working there. I love my SAAB.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Cheapman's Beamer

by Golfnut from Wisconsin | September 30, 2009

About 6 years ago, being a dedicated Honda man but wanting a better ride and unwilling to pay the price for a used BMW, I bought a used 9-5 with about 99k on it. I had the some major issues right away with the tubo going out and other things. For a car with 99k on it, I had expected that. But I bought the car for the way it rode and the low up front price. I probably put half the cost of the car in repairing the vehicle to where I wanted it to be for a daily ride. For the first couple of years of ownership, the 9-5 was in the shop on pretty much a bi-monthly basis that the repair shop had me on speed dial and I got on their Christmas card list. (Just kidding about the last two things.) Right now the car has over 200k on it and running great. I love it. I plan on running it to 300k. I recommend buying the car because you can usually buy them cheap but (always a "but") plan on putting a few bucks (initially) into car to keep it (or get it) running good. And make sure you get a good mechanic that is practical and understands what you want. My 9-5 maxims are: Sometimes used parts are better than new, don't let anyone else (especially teenagers) drive your car and the occasional repair bill is better than a regular car payment.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


A clunker in disguise

by Colorado Backpacker from Littleton, CO | August 22, 2009

My wife bought this nice silver sedan in 2007 with only 70,000 miles on it. Driving it was a pleasure, but the Engine Oil Pressure light caught us by surprise on a recent trip to Yellowstone. It turns out that Saab recalled the vehicle due to an engine oil sludge problem that is caused by a faulty engine design!!! Buyer beware (do your research before buying). Our mechanic told us we needed a new engine> $5K for a used one or $8K for a new one...we didn't even pay $8K to begin with. We ended up selling it to a local mechanic for parts. What a shame!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


VERY NICE CAR FOR THE MONEY

by worm from NEW YORK | July 18, 2009

I HAD MY 9-5 FOR OVER A YEAR AND I LOVE IT. I HAD THE 9-3 BUT I NEEDED A BIGGER CAR ONLY CHOICE WAS A SAAB FOR ME.I AM A BIG GUY 6'2 AND I HAVE PLENTY OF ROOM.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Saab 9-5

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.